We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutique hotel in Old Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #6 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel in Old Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is nicely renovated, but keeps the old charm as well. It is well situated, with Notre Dame across the street. While the basic internet was less than desirable, the amenities of the hotel in general are high quality.

Room Tip: Only around 8 rooms per floor, but corner rooms have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    284
    72
    29
    14
See reviews for
138
582
53
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is sister to Nelligans where we spent our first night in Montreal. Like Nelligans it is a great hotel. Our room was a good size and bed was very comfortable. The staff were very courteous and the coffees provided near reception each day was very much appreciated. It is situated crack in the middle of all the action only fifty metres from the main square. We spent three nights there and rate it highly.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We drove from Quebec city and our gps struggled once we arrived in Montreal but upon finding the hotel everything went smoothly. We had reserved a superior king room and upon check in were offered a junior suite for an additional $25 a night. It would have been nice to have a free upgrade but the offer was too good to pass up after the traffic on a holiday weekend, I couldn't pass up the spa tub option and used it both days during our stay ! The concierge was very helpful in making suggestions for restaurants and reservations and the staff could not have been more helpful. I enjoyed hearing the church bells throughout our stay and the turn down service was a nice touch. We ordered two cafe au lait's from Room service which were a total of $12 but were the equivalent of 2 cups each and great quality so actually a bargain. They have a pool table in one of the lobby area's which was a lot of fun with some people we met while having our complimentary welcome cocktails in restaurant 701. The bath products are very nice and the mattress was the best we slept on the entire trip. They have several properties in their family within a few blocks in the old Montreal area and from the outside they all looked of the same quality.

Room Tip: We were in 3502 and it was lovely. 5th floor but not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bonjour nancy a,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience at Le Place d’Armes Hotel & Suites with fellow travellers.

We are very happy to read that the upgraded suite was to your satisfaction and that you were able to relax and enjoy the jetted tub.

We hope to get the chance of welcoming you again in a near future.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is perfect. Joseph, at the Front Desk is so friendly and accommodating. He treated us like Royalty!
Eric Carl, bartender at Bar 701 was the BEST bartender, great conversationalist , full of info and knowledge, everywhere he recommended we visited and were so pleased!

I cant wait to return to this lovely Hotel and we loved Montreal. Our second visit was as wonderful as the first visit.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bonjour Donnamvny,

We are delighted to read that your stay with us was perfect. Thank you for your great review and your very kind words in regards to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel combines 3 old buildings to create one hotel space, in a very central position. The first room we are given has a very odd smell in the bathroom, but later in the evening they move us to another room. The staff were very accommodating. We ended up in room 3407. The room was very large and the bathroom was also spacious and the décor was very nicely done, leaving some of the old parts of the building visible. The main and major problem was that the windows are not sound proofed, so our sleep quality was not good. The hotels bar and restaurant were very good.

Room Tip: Maybe check if other parts of the hotel have better windows, re the noise issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bonjour PerthJulie,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Le Place d’Armes Hotel & Suites with the trip advisor community.

We do apologize as your stay with us does not appear to have been to your full satisfaction. When travelling to Montreal next, we invite you to contact us directly and we will assist gladly in finding a room that fully suits your needs.

We hope to be welcoming you again soon.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is cozy yet chic with amazing staff!!! The bathrooms are georgous and a spa treatment themselves. The fireplace in the room topped of fthe experience. Great local resteraunts and close to Notre Dame and the galleries.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bonjour Sherri K,

We are delighted to read you had an amazing stay with. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at La Place d’Armes Hotel & Suites with fellow travellers, it is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel and the staff was pleasant and helpful. I was there for 5 nights for conference and was very comfortable. It is so close to so many great restaurants and a few blocks from the water.
The breakfasts were lovely and I enjoyed sitting in front of the window every morning and watching Montreal wake up. I ate one night at Suite 701 and really enjoyed the black bass.
Will definitely go back if given the opportunity

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bonjour cindylou,

Thank you for your great review and your very kind words in regards to our staff. We will gladly share with the entire Le Place d’Armes Hotel & Suites team.

We hope to be welcoming you once again in a near future.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.