We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Welsh, Louisiana
1 review
“Wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is not only lovely and in a great location, but unlike the post before me, the service was great! Everyone from the front desk, the Concierge, to the cleaning service were helpful and eager to please. Upon arrival we asked to extend our stay by a couple of days and were pleasantly surprised with a complimentary upgrade on our room. This was our first trip to Montreal and it certainly will not be our last. Le Place d" Armes is right in the center of Old Montreal making sight seeing very easy. The staff was so helpful with directions, suggestions, and booking tours for us that we found our way without any trouble. The hotel is quaint but modern at the same time which fit us quite nicely. We would certainly recommend it and will not stay anywhere else on our return to beautiful Old Montreal!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Grandi66,

Thank you for posting your comments and sharing your ecxperience with fellow travellers. We will most definitely share your comments with our staff, we are sure they will be delighted to hear your stay was wonderful!

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    280
    72
    29
    14
See reviews for
138
571
54
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Huge room and bathroom, shower and bath are apart, what I find great. Great location, right next to the Notre Dame Church. Many beverages and snacks in the room. No coffee, though. Anyway, there’s coffee available at the lobby. The hotel is great , we had a very pleasant stay. The breakfast is not bad, but needs improvement. As always, I’ve missed a place where we could sit our second suitcase.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a location hotel all the way. Rooms were so-so and the furnishings and fixtures throughout the property weren't exactly lux. It's actually three buildings joined together, and the first floor is a wedding venue, so it has a somewhat disjointed feel inside and you might have to walk through someone's event or photoshoot on the way up to your room. Our first room was on the second floor facing the street, and had an arch window that didn't have curtains, so a streetlight streamed in. That, in conjunction with the proximity to the noisy club in the plaza-facing corner of the building was enough to require a room change. We got a 7th floor room instead and were much happier. Also, they make a big deal about fireplaces in the rooms but they're not real, just those artificial fireplaces built into the television cabinet. Overall a bit underwhelming, especially considering the elegance claimed by the advertising.

Room Tip: Get as high a room as you can. The ground floor corner featured in all the photos (St Urbain & S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Philk,

Thank you for sharing feedback. We are glad we were able to find you a room that best suited your needs. We are terribly sorry if you felt that the wedding we were hosting overtook the main lobby, do rest assured they do have seperate spaces and banquet halls as thier main reception areas. We hope that when returning to montreal you can consider us once again.

sincerely,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is lovely and in a great location, but the service provided by the staff is terrible. The room was wonderful, but beware of one of the worst breakfast buffets that I have ever experienced.

Unusually, I don't mean staff is rude or unhelpful, they are just oblivious.

Despite having the Do Not Disturb sign on the door, the man checking the mini bar came into the room. He was very apologetic, but It was awkward. Despite having arranged and confirmed a late checkout, my room key was deactivated while I was at the spa and they insisted that I come to the front desk to have it reset. Nothing like standing in a line at the front of a hotel in a bathrobe after a spa treatment to cause embarrassment. The Spa treatment caused a chemical burn on my skin. Again, the staff was apologetic, apparently this happens on a regular basis and they forgot to give me the oil that neutralizes the chemical that causes the burn on some people. The morning coffee in the lobby was cold and there was no milk or cream. When you come to the lobby at 6:00 am, cold coffee and no milk is a significant disappointment.

The breakfast deserves particular note. The buffet was store bought pastries, stale cereal, and a collection of cheese that actually was dried out and curled around the edges. But the worst was the server with a cold who kept coughing. He coughed on food and coughed in his hand and when I asked for a knife to cut my bagel, he took the bagel and cut it for me with his bare hands. Yuck.

Again, the property is lovely, the staff where nice, but the experience was definitely unpleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Toronto1010,

Thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers. We are truly sorry that your experience was not a reflection of our usual standards. We will address the issues you have mentionned. Again thank you for your comments, we do take them seriously.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

First trip to Montreal and what a superb find. In the most wonderful location, right by Le Place d'Armes square and Notre Dame. It was a short walk from Old Montreal - a great place to explore.

All the staff were really pleasant and helpful - even helping to sort out taxi drivers when we had booked one taxi and two turned up!

We ate in the restaurant the first night, which was delicious, and found the wonderful bar on the roof garden terrace overlooking Place d'Armes. Wine O'Clock in the afternoons was great and we were in the sun too!

If arriving from the airport, Place d'Armes station has no lift, so better to get the 747 bus with a walk through Chinatown to the hotel or just get a taxi.

Would thoroughly recommend and would definitely use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A splurge for us but well worth it. Great central location to grab a taxi or wander in the heart of the city. Staff was extremely courteous. The room was spacious with high ceilings and the minibar was well stocked. We didn't hear anything but a little outside noise during our 2 night stay. The lounge was very cool - a pool table, comfy couches and beautiful coffee table books. It felt like staying in a wealthy friend's very posh apartment. The elevator was a bit tedious but by no means cause for complaint. We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: I was unable to book through the hotel's website but did find "the last room left" thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Roxdragon,

We are thrilled to read such a nice review! We are glad that you appreciated the decor of the hotel, and your visit! We will share your feedback and comments with our staff, we are sure they will be happy to hear their gestures made a difference.

Warm Regards,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This place is in a great location. Overall look and facilities are good. The room was little cold but other than that it was good experience. There was valet parking but across the street there is also full day parking which is cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#10 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.