We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Exceptional Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada (Quartier International)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
1 review
“Very Exceptional Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over a holidayweekend. All staff smile and engage with you always trying to accommodate any of your needs. Rene at the front desk/concerige is remarkable as are all of the staff. The room we stayed in was incredibly with unique, 13 foot ceilings, original brick, modern amenities with a rain shower that is a real pleasure, Breakfast staff are very attentive and friendly. Roof top 8th floor lounge was the only place we foind not as hospitable and red wine is chilled. This is one of the great hotels anywhere !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the old hotel rennovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Stephen R,

We are so happy to read such a review. We will definitely share your feelings with our staff. We will also look into the Rooftop Service you experienced and make sure that the overall service throughout the hotel is consistent.

Hoping to see you again soon!

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    336
    86
    36
    15
See reviews for
167
719
64
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Modern, clean property in old Montreal. Comfortable, nice sized rooms with modern amenities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient location to explore the old city. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We are still here, but I am so impressed with the establishment I decided to write my review before we have left the hotel. We are here for our first anniversary. The hotel is gorgeous and our suite is spectacular. It is like a small apartment. We even have two lavatories, so those bathing can be undisturbed by nature. The staff has been kind and helpful too. We have not ventured up to the terrace, but it is above our suite and we plan to have drinks there after dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Place d'Armes for three nights in August 2013 as a guest of an event so did not pay for my stay (and I do not know the nightly rate). I got upgraded to a Junior Suite upson checkin. The room, on the third floor, was large (I estimate around 50 sq. m.) and the bed very large and good. The bathroom was very large and well equiped, with a jaccuzi and a large shower. There were two large windows looking onto St Jacques street, which is a relatively quiet street. Nonetheless the window's glass is very thin and one could hear street noise very clearly, even pedestrians talking. Passing street cleaning machines and buses are very loud. Also, there are only venetian blinds to block the light which are not very effective.
The air conditioning unit is relatively quiet; my room was cool even on warm days so I switched it off. There is an additional ventilation system, apparently a centrally controlled, which is not very noisy.

Room Tip: Higher floor for reduced street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear UkLouLou,

We appreciate that you have taken the time and provided feeback about your recent stay. We are glad that overall you appreciated your stay with us. We are however dissappointed to hear that the sleep quality was not at its best. We hope that if you do return to montreal and stay with us again that the stay will be nothing less then perfect.

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel has a great location within the old port. It is within easy walking distance of many restaurants and shops. The rooms are well appointed and the service friendly. If you select a package, the breakfast is a very standard continental breakfast and does not vary from day to day. All around highly recommend staying here if you want comfortable accommodations in a great locations.

Room Tip: If you are on a high floor in building three - you can hear noise from the rooftop bar. You might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel only for one night. Love the Suite we had. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Bathrooms was large and quite nice. The "welcome drink" was excellent. Love the roof top patio at night. It was really busy and had great drinks. The concierge was excellent at helping book our excellent dinner at Le Locale prior to our arrival.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. Rooms can be uneven (mine was amazing this time). Location is outstanding. Price is in line with similar hotels. Restaurant and bar are beautiful, in fact the entire hotel is. A great option.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
dear Davedrew,

It is a pleasure to read your review. We are glad that your stays with us are up to your standards. You are always welcome at Le Place D'Armes Hotel et suites.

Hoping to have you back again soon.

Regards,

Mathieu Larochelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,462 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.