We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great bet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #11 of 168 hotels in Montreal
NY/NJ
Top Contributor
389 reviews 389 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Always a great bet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Every year there are a few things i look forward to, and as simple as it sounds, ending vacation in Montreal at the Place d'Armes and having a cold beer on the roof top terrace is one of those . Overlooking the old city and Chinatown, it's a wonderfully secluded spot. As far as the hotel, the staff are amazing. The concierge, Magil, helped us snag a hard to get reservation at Garde Manger, which was a wonderful way to ned our vacation. She also got us a reservation at Pintxo, a must stop for tapas in Montreal as well as making reservations for us on the Little Italy Montreal Foodie tour. the only reason I gave this a 4 vs a 5 was that for the first time, we were in building #1, which we felt had smaller rooms, giving you less space to move around, especially when you have luggage from a 10 day vacation trip with you. But overall, a great hotel and we'll be back.

Room Tip: We felt building #1, the oldest building had smaller rooms than building #2, which is where we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    719
    258
    71
    29
    14
See reviews for
116
526
52
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights in August as a base to explore some of Montreal. The location is excellent, a short walk to rue St-Paul, the Metro station, and a reasonable stroll to rue St-Catherine and downtown. Old Montreal was very busy while we were there but the hotel was always calm and the room quiet - no issues as all with noise. The junior suite was very spacious and comfortable. The large stand-alone tub and shower were appreciated after travelling.

Definitely worth a repeat visit when we return to the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I had the chance to stay at the Place d'Armes hotel. The location was great- within walking distance of all major attractions in Old Montreal. There are great restaurants nearby as well. The closest metro station is only 3 minutes away by foot. The bedroom was awesome- nice modern decoration but the biggest star of the night was the bed. It was incredibly comfortable and you are guaranteed a good night of sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent several days here and it was extremely comfortable and quiet. A lovely retreat on the edge of the old town and in a perfect location to access any part of Montreal. Terrific roof-top terrace with delicious sangria! Cucumber water available in the lobby a nice touch. Many different sitting areas in the lobby area - great to have the option of sitting to read somewhere that's not your hotel room. Even a free pool table! Room was immaculate and service fantastic. Washroom amenities excellent and shower had a rainforest shower which was terrific to try! Have already recommended hotel to others and will definitely be back. A very charming set of buildings and close to many restaurants if one wants to dine outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

excellent architecture, rooms tasteful, large enough and all different and unique.
location is perfect in the summer for that's going on in old montreal, but perhaps a little desolate in the winter when things get quieter.
rooftop terrace among the very best in the city.
restaurant / lounge has great food and is popular with the locals.
hint: montreal has self serve bike rentals, there is one right around the corner, way better than taxi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were a little frantic when we arrived in our rental car at Place d’Armes at around 9 p.m.

Before we entered Canada, we had downloaded the directions to the hotel from the hotel’s website. These directions were confusing. We couldn’t find the exit or the streets they referenced. Traffic was heavy. Deciding to brave the high out-of- country fees, we turned on our cell phones and used an online map app. With the app’s help, we quickly found the hotel. Despite our harried arrival, the hotel’s gracious, helpful atmosphere instantly soothed us.

The valet immediately came to help with our car. The bellman helped unload our bags; as a family of five, we had a lot of them. A friendly front desk clerk checked us in and gave us a coupon for a complimentary drink in the bar. Everyone gave us tips about where to eat. The valet told us about a festival and said that there was a must see firework display by the waterfront at ten.

We had reserved a deluxe room/suite for our family. The room was probably the nicest room in which we’ve stayed. It was enormous. There was a mock fireplace, flame alit, in the main area and in the bathroom, a huge jetted tub with a separate shower. The single bedroom was separated from the living area and sofa bed by a sliding door. Within minutes of our request, a rollaway bed and additional towels were brought to the room. The beds were extremely comfortable.

The hotel is steps away from the waterfront and from the old part of the city, so once you get there it’s easy to get around.

After one night there, we regretted our decision to limit our Montreal visit to one day. I highly recommend this hotel with one caveat; don’t use the directions on their web site.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at le place d'armes last week for the osheaga music festival. From the moment I arrived I was impressed by service, they let us check in early and took bags up to room for us. The room itself was beautiful with large bathroom and fireplace in main room. The hotel was perfectly located to metro station and serval different cafes in the area. Throughout the stay all the staff at the hotel very polite and courteous, and a especial thanks to Kat Moaven , who helped our entire group throughout the trip. All in all I can't wait to go back, and the roof top patio is definitely a must see.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Old Montreal, Place d’Armes Hôtel & Suites welcomes you in a well-known neighborhood where historic architecture and modern luxury blend harmoniously. Place d’Armes Hôtel offers 133 rooms, including suites and penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.