We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #9 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Unforgettable wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had the pleasure of working with Marie-Michèle and the Place D’Armes team for our June 2013 wedding and have nothing but fantastic things to say about them! From our very first meeting, Marie-Michèle was wonderful! She was always very helpful and accommodating and had some great suggestions on how to organize and plan our day. The days leading up to the wedding and the wedding day itself, the staff was always so kind and helpful, and our day went off without a hitch thanks to the whole Place D’Armes team. The food was delicious, the service was perfect and all of our wedding events were coordinated perfectly. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, and our guests loved the atmosphere of Old Montreal in the summer. The night of our wedding, we had a beautiful suite free of charge complete with sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries. We honestly couldn’t have imagined a better place, coordinator or staff for our wedding day. Thanks to them, our wedding was a completely unforgettable experience- our family and friends can’t stop talking about it! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    760
    274
    72
    29
    14
See reviews for
135
555
54
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great Location....fabulous room with King bed and a very spacious bathroom! Staff and service friendly and gave lots of good tips for best breakfast cafes and best dinner places. We loved it and would highly recommend this quaint and very comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: The area is a bit noisy on a Saturday night but after all, this is Summer and everyone enjoying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear JohnNelsonBay,

Thank you for experssing your love and gratitude towards Le Place D'armes Hotel et Suites. We are glad we made your trip memorable and hope to accomodate you again soon.

regards,

Mathieu Larochelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Place d'Armes in Montreal in the Junior Suites. It was a busy weekend in Old Montreal - 4 weddings in one day at the Notre Dame, two of which held receptions at our hotel. We arrived in the morning and our rooms were not ready, so we grabbed lunch in the neighborhood and came back. Rooms weren't ready until 4:00, which wasn't great considering we had been traveling all morning and just wanted to rest for a bit. The workout room is small, but very clean and well kept. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but enjoyed the rooftop bar a few times, which boasts stunning views of the city/surrounding area. Well worth a trip up, and make sure you notice your "free drink" card that they slip in your welcome envelope. Unfortunately you can only use this in the bar downstairs, but hey, it's a free drink.
The suites are spacious, clean, and well-maintained. We enjoyed the rain shower, too. Some other reviewers noted that the rooms are very dark and there are lots of different light switches, so just get used to wandering around looking for the matching switches and lights.
The concierge, Jose, was fantastic. I frequently bombarded him with questions and requests for reservations and he was really knowledgeable and nice.
Overall, a good stay. Nice location, clean and convenient.

Room Tip: DO NOT get a room on the 8th floor by the rooftop bar, unless you're planning on coming home at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Amyn,

We are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. We will share your comments and appreciation with Jose and the rest of our staff. You are welcome back any time, just let us know and we will book your next accomodations. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Regards,

Mathieu Larochelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had a three day stay for business at this hotel, it was a lovely stay. The hotel is beautifully situated very close to the Palace de Congress (convention centre) and in the heart of the old city of Montreal with wonderful shops, restaurants and sights to within walking distance. It is perfectly situated for business or for vacationing. It has a boutique-type feel to it... very warm and welcoming.

The hotel itself is charming, done in old exposed brick and beam style but with contemporary furnishings and all the modern conveniences you would expect in a top quality hotel. The bed and linens are top rate, the amenities were also well stocked and good quality.

Breakfast was included in my package as was parking. It was worth the small surcharge. The main restaurant is called Suite 701 and the food is very good; creative and reasonably priced.
There is a roof top bar/patio which is wonderful on a sunny day, but I found it a bit pricey.

The staff is very professional and willing to help, even with unusual requests.

The hotel is reasonably priced at around $200 for the basic room with a double bed; good value for a well situated downtown hotel with high quality furnishings. On my next visit however, I will pay the small upgrade for the larger king room. I stayed in a “double” room and it was a bit tight. I was alone on business and was able to manage, but if you’re traveling as a couple I think the King room will be a better experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is high-end hotel, located in the historic area of Montreal.
It is luxurious to certain extent.
Front desk staff members very supportive and helpful.
The concierge (Jose Martinez) was very kind, good tips, patience and supportive.
Rooms are very comfortable and clean; elegant and warm.
Restaurant could improve a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear LuisS,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our Hotel . We would like to thank you for mentionning the kind services you received by Jose and the concierge team. We will share your appreciation with our staff. We are thrilled to hear about your overall experience with us.

regards,

Mathieu Larochelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were a family of 10 (5 adults and 5 kids) staying in montreal for 4 nights. We could not have stayed at a better place. The concierge (Rene) was just a delight. He gave us many good restaurant recommendations and just made our stay so very pleasant. I would describe the hotel as a boutique type hotel, modern with some old world charm. The rooms were very clean and the maid service every day was great....came back to a clean smelling room. A few days later, we stayed at a chain hotel in another city and the difference was immediately apparent...the level of service and attention to detail in a hotel like Le Place D'Armes is amazing.

The location of the hotel is great. It is literally steps away from Notre Dame, a few blocks from China town, an easy walk into the city, and just a few blocks from the water front. When I return to Montreal, I will definitely stay here again. As an fyi, if you get the kids package, make sure to ask for the kids' lunch each day. We didn't on the first day assuming they would deliver it to us and when we realized it the next day, they told us we needed to request it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear ItalyFanNJ,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your comments about your experience at Le Place D'Armes Hotel et Suites. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the Kids in the City package. We will share your comments and appreciation of your experience with Rene and our staff.

Regards,

Mathieu Larochelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here one night during our recent visit to Montreal. The room was huge, the bed was very big, and the bathroom was enormous!. The room and the bathroom were very well appointed: nice toiletries, good hair dryer, and a rain shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I loved the exposed brick in the room and the huge windows. The reasons I am not giving this hotel 5 stars are the slightly tired towels and the overly soft mattress.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#9 Business Hotel in Montreal
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.