We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best destination in Montreal for our wedding anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best destination in Montreal for our wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Beautiful architecture and design in common areas and room (including jacuzzi, chimney, etc.), attention to details, friendly staff, generosity, great location in old Montreal, and trendy restaurant / lounge just a few floors beneath. We couldn't ask for more for our snowy wedding anniversary escapade in Montreal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    301
    75
    31
    14
See reviews for
141
617
53
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My family stayed here on the "kids in the city" package which was a great value. Convenient location, comfortable room and wonderful service all around. Complimentary continental breakfast, milk and cookies turn down service and free Wifi made for a very comfortable stay.
The location allowed for easy walking to Notre Dame, the Archaeology Museum, shops and restaurants despite it being the middle of March when we stayed. Service was top notch and very welcoming; returning from our adventures around the city and beyond always made us feel like we were coming home.
Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had bad experience here several years ago with ongoing constructions noise and lack of concern from hotel management. Went back this year on business trip with husband and guess what – construction noise again – but this time we did get a fruit tray from management. All that did was prove to us the lack of detail and care that seems to plague our visits to this hotel. The fruit had clearly been out for some time and actually smelled bad. I’ve never seen strawberry leaves as brown as the ones on the tray – how long would that take? How many staff saw that and allowed it to be delivered? Did the manager sending it not check it first? So many things this visit – from dirty toilet (probably due to housekeepers who are on the cell phone while cleaning the bathroom), no clock radio, no coffee for coffee maker you have to request,to the handling (literally) of food by staff at the breakfast buffet that I am surprised they manage such a high rating on this site. Shame.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Avalonbliss,

We truly appreciate your review as it allows us to better our services, as we strive to offer the highest level of quality. We are truly saddened to hear that on both occasions we were not able to meet your expectations. The comments made in your review have been taken seriously and addressed with our staff, for what you have mentionned does not reflect our level of service nor our standards.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was the best from food, to the people, to the room, etc. We loved every minute of our stay there and can't wait to go back. Perfect location as well! Our fireplace was malfunctioning when we arrived and they had someone up in 10 mins and he replaced it {as it is electric}. Just amaziiiiiiiiiiiing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in a suite style room (it was huge!) last weekend and it was a very nice weekend getaway. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were amazing (I want to buy some), the fireplace was a nice touch (it could have been in front of bed instead of couch but oh well), and the amenities (bar, pool table, lobby, etc.) were very well done. Front staff were extremely nice and pleasant to deal with. Bathroom was amazing - huge, large shower, nice jacuzzi against brick wall. The room faced the street which was VERY loud but we were up early anyway so it didn't bother us too much. I loved the huge windows/curtains.

The section of hotel we were staying in only had one elevator that was used by maintenance and cleaning staff - in many instances the elevator door would open and we wouldn't be able to go in because it was full with a cart (not a huge deal, I'm just commenting on all details). We'd then have to wait for it to go up slowly, them to unload, and come back down to get us.

The ONLY complaint we have is the maid service at this hotel. Two parts to this. In the welcome book in the room it states there will be turn down service but it did not occur (it never mentioned that it was by request only so we didn't ask and assumed it would be done when we got back at the end of the night). Obviously we were fine without it, but seeing that it was advertised we did hope for it.

The other part to the maid service was the daily cleaning. I do not think she really cleaned the room or checked on anything (yes, we got fresh towels which is most important) but there was a water bottle cap (that was not mine) that was left on the bed side table (which was not there when we left)...and the main issue: the empty box of Kleenex on the bathroom counter (which was empty from the beginning of our trip). It was never replenished - although we did find extra boxes underneath the sink - It's pretty standard to check and refill things like this (just like the soaps, shampoos, etc). Not a deal breaker - just mentioning both the good and bad.

Old Montreal is great. This hotel is great and the location is amazing. Very close to all the restaurants/shops on St.Denis and very close to Place D'Armes subway station which gets you about anywhere you need to go!

I would definitely recommend this hotel. We may stay here again when we come back in the summer.

Room Tip: I'm not sure which rooms are quieter, but you may want to request this since where I stayed faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked through hotel website. super weekend offer of $129 per night for a king size room with jacuzzi tub plus separate rain shower. the hotel is composed of three historic buildings joined together. Lots of character! Room was very spacious with a view onto Place d'Armes. comfy bed with 5 oversize down filled pillows. Very comfy sitting area. Wifi worked well. Location is ideal - 2 blocks to orange line metro, 4 blocks to the port and 2 blocks to a broad variety of great restaurants. We also ate breakfast and one table d'hote dinner at the hotel. Food quality was excellent and the price was extremely competitive. Bottom line - At the price point that we paid, you will not find a better hotel in Montreal. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: stayed in room 2402 and thoroughly enjoyed it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for three nights in February over Presidents Day weekend. The journey from the airport to the hotel was C$40 plus tip, which was reasonable and I believe a standard charge.

We arrived a few hours early and were found a great room straight away. Huge bed, high ceilings, very quiet, large bathroom with a deep bathtub, plus a large and expensive mini bar. There are a lot of different options and they bottle sizes were half a standard bottle. As a result, the drinks were very expensive (C$55 for a half bottle of Grey Goose vodka). Other than liquor, the room also had a C$44 bottle of red wine and $7 bottle of water.

Wifi service was fine, although the TV was pretty substandard for a 4 star hotel.

We were given a complimentary cocktail in the main hotel bar, which was very pleasant. We paid for a drink on another night and noticed a trend of how hard it was to order a drink and then to get a check, even when there were only a handful of people in the bar.

The gym was fine for a jog on a treadmill, but nothing to write home about.

Location is wonderful; right on the Place d'Armes, which is a square bordered by Notre-Dame Basilica on the opposite side.

Struggled to find a wide selection of decent bars within a 10-min walk of the hotel, which I think is a symptom of being in old Montreal.

Overall, really enjoyed the hotel and will return there the next time I'm in Montreal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.