We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #11 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

So impressed by this hotel. It is in an ideal location at the tip of Old Montreal, yet adjacent to city centre. Easily accessible to metro. And next to the spectacular Notre Dame cathedral. The staff is excellent and highly responsive attending quickly to every request. Our room was a junior suite with a balcony. Perfect. Well appointed, with modern features and an enormous bathroom. Food is great. From here, access to old Montreal and the river is easy. Even though we are here in the cold of January it is a perfect location to enjoy the entire city. Recommend for this time of year the Town Car guided tour of the city set up by the concierge. 3 hrs and we saw everything with a well spoken guide who drove us through the city while stopping at the sites and walking us through them. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    719
    258
    71
    29
    14
See reviews for
116
526
52
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I only write reviews if I believe the location is exceptional. Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites is one of those places. From the gentlemen greeting us at the door to the wonderful ladies at reception, our experience began with friendliness and helpfulness. It did not seem rehearsed or a hotel standard- it felt genuine.
We stayed in the 3rd tower. The rooms were clean, comfortable and beautiful.
The hotel was perfectly located in the heart of old Montreal. Steps away from the stunning cathedral- I am not a church-goer but this one was even more beautiful than many I have seen in Europe.
All-in-all. This trip to Montreal was exceptional. Thank you Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites.
Shaam

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our first time to Montreal. Spent six nights at his hotel. Boy, are we glad we choose it! We took advantage of the Autumn special offer (second night at half price) and went for the Junior Suite. It was great. The location is excellent, in old Montreal, near all the attractions and restaurants, and two blocks from the Metro and the Underground City entrance. Very very convenient. The staff was extremely friendly and professional. Concierges very helpful (we are vegetarians and they were incredibly accommodating trying to find us the best places in town).
We enjoyed the bar (Suite 701). Great atmosphere and really good Martinis. Our room was on the 6th floor, not really huge but extremely comfortable. Beds really nice and firm, Loved the bathroom!...Nice Jacuzzi, and great "rain" shower. You control the temperature in your room. Nice TV with good choice of cable channels, a DVD player and surround sound system. The complementary WiFi internet works flawlessly!...We used it a lot and there is no limit of users (we had our laptop, Ipads and Iphones and were able to use them all at the same time). We didn't use the Spa, but met a few people on the elevator who were going there and everyone loved it. Suggestion: If you have a small electric portable kettle, you may want to take it with you. We had one and brought instant chocolate and coffee with us. Trust me, it iwas really convenient. In general we highly recommend this Hotel. The city is beautiful and everyone is so friendly, but sometimes a Hotel stay can ruin that experience for you. That will not be the case with Place d'Armes. You will feel at home and will be glad you are staying there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I celebrated my wedding at the hotel restaurant and it was wonderful.
My guests loved the food and the service was great. The walcolme was so warm and they were availavle since the early days o the organization to the Big Day !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Been to this wonderful hotel at least 20 times. Always well greeted, staff always nice. Rooms are tremendous nice. Bathrooms spacious, modern. Beds very comfortable. Fireplace brings a nice touch. Some rooms have brick walls which brings out history of the building. One of my favorite hotels.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We travelled to Montreal from the UK with our 2 small children and found this place on trip advisor. The suite was big enough for a family and really nicely done. The hotel is conveniently located for shopping in the centre and for wandering around the old town. Also found the hotel staff very helpful. Definitely recommend. Thrifty car hire also just around the corner which was helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Such a nice homey and chic place to stay . The beds are so comfortable the staff very nice friendly and professional . Quiet but also lively in the bar if you need unwinding having a free glass of wine with your stay . I will go back

Room Tip: No pool can't seem to take the green spot away 😒 all rooms seems as good I like it quiet so as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Old Montreal, Place d’Armes Hôtel & Suites welcomes you in a well-known neighborhood where historic architecture and modern luxury blend harmoniously. Place d’Armes Hôtel offers 133 rooms, including suites and penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.