We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montreal getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada (Quartier International)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Montreal getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We chose Le Place d'Armes based on Trip advisor. We chose a penthouse suite. Price was reasonable and it was my wife's birthday, you live once. Spent 4 nights 5 days. The hotel staff are excellent, the room was big, 2 bathrooms, 1 large 1 small, large living room, 2 tv's,fireplace (electric) very high ceiling, well appointed, a bit more classic of a look that I prefer, but no complaints.
Location is spot on. Close to everything . Suite 701 and AIX (the restaurants within the hotel are great places to chill, drink, eat, and get a really good idea of places to go and whats hot. A very special thanks to Bruce in Suite 701, and Pascal at AIX. these gentlemen take their profession to the next level. This is soooooooo important to a hotels success. Kudos to management for recognizing talent and keeping that talent. O by the way, the menus are truly unique, whoever heads the kitchen there (same kitchen for both restaurants,almost the same menu) is a true artist/chef.
Everyone their was so nice, so polite, I cant say enough.
My 1 gripe is on the 7th floor which we stayed on has an elevator that once it opens up, you are staring at what seems to be the hotel office? Does wide open, papers every ware. I didn't get that.If that's the most you can complain about than you know you did well. I would recommened Le Place d'Armes to to anyone

Room Tip: Always get the biggest room for an extended stay and book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    338
    86
    36
    15
See reviews for
169
723
64
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a three day stay in this beautiful hotel. Location is great for sightseers, next to Old Montreal and across from Notre Dame Cathedral. Best to have car parked at hotel (a fee) and enjoy walking the area with shopping and museums. There currently is a 'sweet deal' package well worth looking into. Room is upgraded and includes a coupon book of many values. Continental breakfast is included for 10.00 pp., a very good value for numerous breakfast items including fresh made croussants, fruits, and waffles with real maple syrup. The complimentary drink at the bar is a nice touch after a long trip. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Call hotel to make your reservation. Get the Cathedral view, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

restaurant 1st night so good went 2 nd night, on 1 st wait staff team of pascal & nicolas extremely helpful in walking me thru choices both wine and food -knowledgable assistence in diabetic choices. Duck was prepared excellent ~ presentation part of enjoyment
will go back on next trip

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, in a restored building close to Old Montreal but also to newer part of city. The room was as described with the balcony affording views of the surrounding area. Internet access was OK but speed was a problem at times which makes it difficult for business. My only concern was service - a degree of aloofness of some staff, especially in comparison to stay prior to this at L'Hermitage in Vancouver. I waited for over 20 minutes to get served in the bar when there was only 3 other tables (all of whom had been served) while 2 staff chatted behind the bar. It is pricey, but room was worth it and would be even more so with improved service.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We got married this summer at Hotel Place d'Armes and had a wonderful experience. The event coordinator onsite was really nice and helpful before, during and after the wedding. The staff was polite and nice as well and the food was just delicious, perfectly cooked, event for 113 guests! We still can't believe those 113 steaks came out all medium rare all at the same time, wow!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Québec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I just got married in this hotel. We had a wonderfull experience! The staff, the location, the services, the food, the reception, we have nothing to complain about: it was simply : perfect! We recommend that Hotel for wedding reception! With the help pf their coordinator, it is really easy and it would be a fabulous time for you and all your guests!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Le Place d'Armes the second weekend of November. We booked a Tourism Montreal 'sweet deal' and decided to go all out and stay in the penthouse in building two. We were in room 2705..it was simply one of the top three rooms we've ever stayed in.
Perfection. We don't have a single complaint with this hotel. After reading reviews here, we steered away from rooms over the '701' bar. It was very noisey when we returned to the hotel one night, but we did not hear a thing in our room. The building is full of history and the location is great. We walked all along rue St. Paul, and ate there a couple of times, and even made the walk downtown with no difficulty.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise from the bar, get a room in building two or three. These are not out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,470 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.