We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding at Hotel Place d'Armes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada (Quartier International)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Our wedding at Hotel Place d'Armes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We got married this summer at Hotel Place d'Armes and had a wonderful experience. The event coordinator onsite was really nice and helpful before, during and after the wedding. The staff was polite and nice as well and the food was just delicious, perfectly cooked, event for 113 guests! We still can't believe those 113 steaks came out all medium rare all at the same time, wow!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    327
    85
    36
    15
See reviews for
161
700
62
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaSalle, Québec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I just got married in this hotel. We had a wonderfull experience! The staff, the location, the services, the food, the reception, we have nothing to complain about: it was simply : perfect! We recommend that Hotel for wedding reception! With the help pf their coordinator, it is really easy and it would be a fabulous time for you and all your guests!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Le Place d'Armes the second weekend of November. We booked a Tourism Montreal 'sweet deal' and decided to go all out and stay in the penthouse in building two. We were in room 2705..it was simply one of the top three rooms we've ever stayed in.
Perfection. We don't have a single complaint with this hotel. After reading reviews here, we steered away from rooms over the '701' bar. It was very noisey when we returned to the hotel one night, but we did not hear a thing in our room. The building is full of history and the location is great. We walked all along rue St. Paul, and ate there a couple of times, and even made the walk downtown with no difficulty.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise from the bar, get a room in building two or three. These are not out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My partner and I have stayed here before and wanted to return because of the friendly staff and pleasant environment. We were not disappointed.

It was as enjoyable as we remembered and more. The staff were consistently knowledgeable and helpful. The spa massage was a delight. The complimentary drink much appreciated.

We can not wait to return to Montreal and to make this hotel part of our vacation plans.

Room Tip: Sebastien, the doorman, functions as a unofficial and knowledgeable concierge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, GA
Level Contributor
397 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife & I stayed at the Place d'Armes for 2 nights 10/17-19. We were generally pleased with a hotel that we expect will continue to improve.

The staff in all respects was wonderful, whether at the front door, the bar, or the restaurant. In particular, the concierge, Ms. Magil Tétreault, was exceptional; she helped us for several weeks via emails before we arrived & was then warm, gracious, & additionally helpful when we arrived.

We elected to stay in the old section of the hotel - recently renovated - where we upgraded to a room with a loft that was a bit awkward in its layout, but charming. The biggest problem was a day when the elevator failed & we were left climbing 7 flights of stairs!

The hotel's location in old Montreal is outstanding, especially its access on the square to the stunning Notre Dame Basilica (reviewed elsewhere on TA).

The hotel's bar is a popular after-work meeting place with blaring, off-putting music (?), but the drinks were excellent & the beet salad was exceptional.

The hotel's Aix restaurant was pleasant for dinner with excellent service, but fell short in its execution of their ambitious menu (reviewed elsewhere on TA).

Room Tip: Ask about room renovations in the old section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I took our first vacation as a family with our new baby to wintery Canada and we had a great time. The hotel itself is gorgeous and in an excellent location. As travelers we realize there are plenty of places that offer this, what makes this place stand out is the level of service their staff provides. From the moment you walk through the door everyone is helpful, freindly, and seem geniuinely happy to be of service. One employee stood above them all, Bruce the bartender/server at Suite 701 (the restaurant in the lobby) was cordial, informative, and well versed in his craft. The bar has a nice selection of whiskey, but the mixed drinks are the shining star, all ingredients are fresh and served with style. Merci Beaucoup Bruce

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I took my husband here for his birthday weekend getaway in August and we had a fantastic stay. The hotel was beautiful and our King Suite guest room was huge. My favorite parts about the room were the exposed brick in the bedroom along with the oversized jacuzzi tub, and rain shower. What a great value for the price. The staff were all very professional and helpful in planning dining options. For the summer months, the hotel has a roof terrace and for the winter months, the rooms have fireplaces. The hotel is right next to the basilica in Old Montreal which is completely lined with cobble stone streets. I would highly recommend staying here. Make sure to walk over to Olive Gourmando for breakfast - their breakfast panini is to die for. For dinner you can also walk to Barroco or L'Original.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.