We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Le Place d'Armes the second weekend of November. We booked a Tourism Montreal 'sweet deal' and decided to go all out and stay in the penthouse in building two. We were in room 2705..it was simply one of the top three rooms we've ever stayed in.
Perfection. We don't have a single complaint with this hotel. After reading reviews here, we steered away from rooms over the '701' bar. It was very noisey when we returned to the hotel one night, but we did not hear a thing in our room. The building is full of history and the location is great. We walked all along rue St. Paul, and ate there a couple of times, and even made the walk downtown with no difficulty.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise from the bar, get a room in building two or three. These are not out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    299
    75
    31
    14
See reviews for
140
616
53
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My partner and I have stayed here before and wanted to return because of the friendly staff and pleasant environment. We were not disappointed.

It was as enjoyable as we remembered and more. The staff were consistently knowledgeable and helpful. The spa massage was a delight. The complimentary drink much appreciated.

We can not wait to return to Montreal and to make this hotel part of our vacation plans.

Room Tip: Sebastien, the doorman, functions as a unofficial and knowledgeable concierge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, GA
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife & I stayed at the Place d'Armes for 2 nights 10/17-19. We were generally pleased with a hotel that we expect will continue to improve.

The staff in all respects was wonderful, whether at the front door, the bar, or the restaurant. In particular, the concierge, Ms. Magil Tétreault, was exceptional; she helped us for several weeks via emails before we arrived & was then warm, gracious, & additionally helpful when we arrived.

We elected to stay in the old section of the hotel - recently renovated - where we upgraded to a room with a loft that was a bit awkward in its layout, but charming. The biggest problem was a day when the elevator failed & we were left climbing 7 flights of stairs!

The hotel's location in old Montreal is outstanding, especially its access on the square to the stunning Notre Dame Basilica (reviewed elsewhere on TA).

The hotel's bar is a popular after-work meeting place with blaring, off-putting music (?), but the drinks were excellent & the beet salad was exceptional.

The hotel's Aix restaurant was pleasant for dinner with excellent service, but fell short in its execution of their ambitious menu (reviewed elsewhere on TA).

Room Tip: Ask about room renovations in the old section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I took our first vacation as a family with our new baby to wintery Canada and we had a great time. The hotel itself is gorgeous and in an excellent location. As travelers we realize there are plenty of places that offer this, what makes this place stand out is the level of service their staff provides. From the moment you walk through the door everyone is helpful, freindly, and seem geniuinely happy to be of service. One employee stood above them all, Bruce the bartender/server at Suite 701 (the restaurant in the lobby) was cordial, informative, and well versed in his craft. The bar has a nice selection of whiskey, but the mixed drinks are the shining star, all ingredients are fresh and served with style. Merci Beaucoup Bruce

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I took my husband here for his birthday weekend getaway in August and we had a fantastic stay. The hotel was beautiful and our King Suite guest room was huge. My favorite parts about the room were the exposed brick in the bedroom along with the oversized jacuzzi tub, and rain shower. What a great value for the price. The staff were all very professional and helpful in planning dining options. For the summer months, the hotel has a roof terrace and for the winter months, the rooms have fireplaces. The hotel is right next to the basilica in Old Montreal which is completely lined with cobble stone streets. I would highly recommend staying here. Make sure to walk over to Olive Gourmando for breakfast - their breakfast panini is to die for. For dinner you can also walk to Barroco or L'Original.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We only spent one night @ Le Place d'Armes, before meeting up with friends for a week long 'home stay', but would happily recommend it as a great hotel in a great location.

A boutique hotel, yet not small and pokey, our room was a great surprise when we walked through the door. It was HUGE !

Well appointed and very very spacious we could have easily stay for the week. Our room was on the front corner of the building that shows in all the photos of the Hotel. It looked out across the cobblestone square, to Notre Dame and was a spectacular sight at night.

Very comfy King bed, and a great bathroom - it was a fantastic first night in Montreal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights recently and it was one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed at in a downtown setting of a large city. And, we travel frequently. The rooms are spacious and the lobby area and sitting areas are really nice. There is lots of space to enjoy a glass of wine, there's a pool table, etc. I also went to the spa there, Rainspa and had an a really nice facial there. I also had a mani/pedi which were just okay. I ordered room service and have to say that it was very reasonably priced. What I most liked about this hotel is that all the "extras" that you usually get nickel and dimed for at some hotels in a downtown core were all included in the room rate - no charge for internet, free bottles of water/choc's at turndown service each night, no charge for use of fitness facility, room service delivery fee was just $3.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#10 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.