We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxury but not horrible- know your limits.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quartier Latin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Quartier Latin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quartier Latin Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1763 St. Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K4, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not luxury but not horrible- know your limits.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our stay at the Quartier Latin Hotel. As previously mentioned, it is a no frills establishment.
The gentlemen at the desk were delightful and gave us a no hassle check in/out. They were more than helpful with directions and their English is great. The air conditioning is amazing in the hall- not so much in our room though- it is controlled at the desk but we opened our window at night and had a wonderful breeze. I should also mention that our room faced the back of the building so we had little to no street noise- room 409. The room photos posted here are accurate- our room was quite small, we had 1 queen size bed (fairly comfortable) clean white linens and a slightly dated quilt, a flat screen TV, 1 small table with 2 chairs and a bar fridge- which we were grateful to have as it kept our water and beer cold. The bathroom had a tub shower and the towels were not super soft but they did what they were suppose to do. I don't think that they have daily room maintenance- as our room was not made up for the 2 days we were there. If you spend a lot of time in your room on vacation, this is not the place for you. We only used the room to rest from walking the city and to sleep.
The location of this hotel could not be better. You are surrounded by patios, cute little boutique shops and endless hours of people watching. The night life is amazing! You can walk in any direction and find something to do. The Metro (subway) is literally a block away and super easy to use as everything is colour coded. We chose this hotel because we were able to stay for 2 nights for what it would have cost to stay for 1 in a regular hotel. We would rather spend money on experiencing things not a place to sleep. It was clean and convenient and we had no issues with noise although, there is a "gentleman's club" beside the hotel so the possibility for noise is definitely there.
Before you book here, know what your limits are. If you are a little high maintenance and enjoy the finer things, you might want to reconsider. The hotel served our purposes nicely and you can't beat the price....Just remember, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the back of the hotel to avoid street noise. The hotel has 4 floors and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    29
    15
    30
See reviews for
7
21
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Only one good thing about this hotel: location if you are into a lively and young neighborhood. The hotel itself is run down, staff desinterested, rooms are dirty and the breakfast isn't really a breakfast, luke warm instant coffee and a nuked croissant.

But then it all comes down to this: You only get what you pay for. Since this hotel is even cheaper then a Motel 6 don't expect too much.....

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are rather quiet, traffic to the front can be quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Not exactly a 5-star hotel, but it gets the job done. The location is perfect for the nightlife, although if you are not use to urban street noise, you may have difficulty sleeping. There are no in-room climate controls, however they do offer a mini-fridge, television, and complimentary wifi. Plan to stay here if you are the type who is only in their room to sleep, but otherwise out on the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

That place was very cheap, clean and central. Other than that it was too hot and smelled like cigarette. The staff was not very friendly and breakfast consisted of a huge costco muffin or a disgusting croissant. It's perfect if you are looking for someplace cheap to put your head down... More of a student or family hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I just returned from a soccer weekend in Montreal and stayed 2 nights at this hotel! I booked through Expedia and got a good deal on the room, I think some people should keep this in mind when they book here, if you want a 5 star hotel and all that comes with it, pay the price and go somewhere else! My room was fine, it was clean, had a flatscreen tv and bar fridge! I was on the 3rd floor so if you don't like climbing stairs you may want to keep this in mind! I didn't have any problems with noise at night although I was up rather late myself so it wasn't an issue, mornings were a little noisy but that's to be expected! This is a fabulous part of town with every kind of restaurant and bar imaginable right there at your doorstep! The Metro is just a couple of blocks away and I purchased an unlimited weekend pass for $12, well worth it! The staff were quite nice to me, the people serving the Continental breakfast in the morning were delightful! I will return to this hotel on my next visit to Montreal! carl

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I Just stayed at this hotel in January for 10 nights. The price was right at $35 a night tax included and the locations is great being on st Denis. The rooms are clean but small. The TV is OK but high up on the wall. You get CNN and other cable channels.

My main complaint is that I have stayed at this hotel for four of the last five winters and some of the staff are very rude. They act like you are bothering them when you ask them a question and when they serve you breakfast are acting like they are doing you a favor.

OK, I have never left them a tip. Maybe that is why. But if they provided good service I would leave them a tip. I dont think I will stay at this hotel again. Also the owner is very abrupt and not friendly. They are in a service business and should try to be nicer to the customers. I have stayed here 4 times, 10 days each time. I think when I go to Montreal again I should spend a little more money and stay in an appreciative place.

Room Tip: Try to get a bigger room than the average sized room . The rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were doing a short weekend get away to Montreal. What we didn't expect is to be sleepless nights in the 2 nights we stayed there. Nowhere in the hotel description when we booked the hotel said it was right above a bar/club where music played until 3 a.m. in the morning. we could feel the vibration from the music blasted below our room. We politely asked the receptionist to change our room. They were not helpful. We had to go thru a lengthy argument in order to get a room change. It was better, but still one could hear the noise!

Room Tip: there is none!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quartier Latin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quartier Latin Hotel

Address: 1763 St. Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quartier Latin Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quartier Latin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quartier Latin
Quartier Latin Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quartier Latin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.