We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Montreal to your Saves list
Sofitel Montreal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went down for the night to catch a Montreal Canadian game.
Staff was amazing.
Clean rooms.
Close to everything.
We did not have a view from room.
Booked thru Hotwire.
Was a great place for a one or two night stay. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Bonjour OttawaCelina,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Best regards,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    304
    72
    20
    16
See reviews for
162
430
88
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

my husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was extremely expensive. They charged 2.00 per phone call, 35.00 day for parking. All totalled, it was 140.00 night just for taxes and parking! For 500.00 per night we could have stayed in lovely old Montreal. It would have been cheaper and would have included breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Bonjour Jude D,

We are truly disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We have taken note of your comments but the taxation level is determined by the government.

We value your business and appreciate your comments. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
 
Sincerely,
 
Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sofitel in Montreal, Quebec for our 40th wedding anniversary. All I can say is that the stay was fantastic. From the valet who took care of our care, to the Renoir restaurant, we had absolutely no complaints. Without hesitation, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the Montreal downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Bonjour Tsichlas,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.
Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future again at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Stéphanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed a few times at the Sofitel in Montréal and visited again recently after having tried a few other hotels in the downtown area over the past few years. The service was impeccable as usual, and the room and amenities were still up to par. One of the nicest things about this hotel is the comfort of the bedding, I've never had anything but a great rest there. The staff were extremely professional and courteous as usual. All in all an extremely pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Bonjour eek9,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff. On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I and friend spent a night here before getting on a cruise ship. Excellent property
and only about 10 minute cab ride to cruise ship pier. Nice little restaurant and lounge.
Nicely located property in downtown Montreal. We would definitely stay her again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Bonjour tombob7,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Sofitel Montréal Golden Mile. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Stéphanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked the Sofitel Hotel because of the location & good Tripadvisor reviews. When we arrived we were met by the valet parking people who whisked our car away, & we were then taken into the hotel to check in. All the staff we extremely welcoming & very polite. When we walked into the room, we couldn't have been more pleased. It was beautiful. Extremely clean, modern & had all the amenities needed for a relaxing stay (a coffee machine in the room would have made it perfect).The bathroom was fabulous with a huge shower unit & luxurious toiletries.
In the evening we decided to have pre-dinner cocktails in the bar/lounge area. This was again a beautifully decorated room & the cocktails & nibbles were great - but please note - they are quite expensive. The only downside we felt was that the car parking at the hotel was extortionate. However, would be stay again - definitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Bonjour kazlar1,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff. On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon.

Best regards,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel for three nights and highly recommend it. Our room was a bit small, but nicely decorated. The bed is unbelievably comfortable and there is a nice turndown service in the evening. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and well trained, and the valet had our car ready at a moment's notice.

The best part of the Sofitel is the location: right by McGill, near metro stops, within walking distance of all of the rest of the city.

We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Bonjour ElMasMacho,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip.

Best regards.

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered among the best downtown Montreal hotels, Sofitel Montreal Le Carre Dore is located in the heart of the historic Golden Square Mile, at the corner of Stanley and Sherbrooke Streets. Near this downtown Montreal Canada hotel, you'll find the renowned McGill University, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, and art galleries and luxurious shopping venues. With works of contemporary art, intimate lighting, and expansive glass windows, our Sofitel Montreal hotel celebrates the French art de vivre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.