We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Montreal Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Montreal

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Montreal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #11 of 164 hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch Montreal Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sofitel in Montreal, Quebec for our 40th wedding anniversary. All I can say is that the stay was fantastic. From the valet who took care of our care, to the Renoir restaurant, we had absolutely no complaints. Without hesitation, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the Montreal downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Bonjour Tsichlas,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.
Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future again at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Stéphanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    622
    277
    59
    20
    15
See reviews for
153
391
82
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed a few times at the Sofitel in Montréal and visited again recently after having tried a few other hotels in the downtown area over the past few years. The service was impeccable as usual, and the room and amenities were still up to par. One of the nicest things about this hotel is the comfort of the bedding, I've never had anything but a great rest there. The staff were extremely professional and courteous as usual. All in all an extremely pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Bonjour eek9,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff. On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I and friend spent a night here before getting on a cruise ship. Excellent property
and only about 10 minute cab ride to cruise ship pier. Nice little restaurant and lounge.
Nicely located property in downtown Montreal. We would definitely stay her again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Bonjour tombob7,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Sofitel Montréal Golden Mile. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Stéphanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked the Sofitel Hotel because of the location & good Tripadvisor reviews. When we arrived we were met by the valet parking people who whisked our car away, & we were then taken into the hotel to check in. All the staff we extremely welcoming & very polite. When we walked into the room, we couldn't have been more pleased. It was beautiful. Extremely clean, modern & had all the amenities needed for a relaxing stay (a coffee machine in the room would have made it perfect).The bathroom was fabulous with a huge shower unit & luxurious toiletries.
In the evening we decided to have pre-dinner cocktails in the bar/lounge area. This was again a beautifully decorated room & the cocktails & nibbles were great - but please note - they are quite expensive. The only downside we felt was that the car parking at the hotel was extortionate. However, would be stay again - definitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Bonjour kazlar1,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff. On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon.

Best regards,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel for three nights and highly recommend it. Our room was a bit small, but nicely decorated. The bed is unbelievably comfortable and there is a nice turndown service in the evening. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and well trained, and the valet had our car ready at a moment's notice.

The best part of the Sofitel is the location: right by McGill, near metro stops, within walking distance of all of the rest of the city.

We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Bonjour ElMasMacho,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip.

Best regards.

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I booked into the Sofitel for three nights in Montreal. Unfortunately, the check in was a bit of a mess because my card would not process but my husband used his card in the end. Staff were very patient and friendly to us even when I was getting exasperated. The receptionist finally led us to the elevator. I think she wanted to be rid of us. Our room card was used to operate the elevator.

The lobby was bright and clean, with a lounge area. We did not make use of any of the facilities on offer in the hotel.

Our room on the 16th floor was quite impressive. We had a corner room with windows on two sides. One side faced Mt Royal and the other Sherbrooke Street. The furniture was light and bright. There was a desk in the middle of the room and a small table near the back with a complimentary bottle of water. We were glad of the luggage stand and the small bench to put our cases on instead of the floor or bed which is so unhygienic.

There was a safe in the room which worked well although we had to get someone to unlock it one time as my husband did not set it correctly. The maintenance service was prompt. The safe was large enough to fit two 15” laptops and a camera.

The hand held hairdryer was in a bag in the wardrobe and it was quite powerful. Unfortunately, there was no tea or coffee provided in the room but there was a mini bar which we did not use. Housekeeping brought us two small bottles of water every day, which was much appreciated. We had a turndown service which was nice. A friendly welcome touch was that the housekeeper turned on the bedside radio to a classical music station. This was playing when we returned from a day out. Lovely.

On the downside our bathroom only had a shower. There was a rain shower which we disabled and just used the normal shower which was very powerful. The toiletries and towels were replaced daily. The housekeeper changed the bathmat daily or twice daily if she did the turndown service. The room and bathroom were well cared for and clean. The toiletries were replaced daily when required but we were not given full bottles at first and the toiletries were only replaced when empty or nearly empty which we did not have a problem with. There were bathroom scales in the bathroom which would be handy for someone going to the airport and having to watch the luggage allowance.

Our free Wifi worked well. Air conditioning was used as we could not open the windows on the 16th floor for safety reasons. They were floor to ceiling windows.

The location was excellent for a lot of the museums and shopping and the view of Mt Royal behind the hotel was spectacular, especially when we were there in September.

Staff were very polite and friendly but we felt they were overly attentive, perhaps for tips, which they appeared to expect?

Breakfast was an experience. We were given a menu and chose our breakfast from it. As we had breakfast included we could only choose the American menu which included 3 eggs any style, breakfast food, fruit, toast and pastries as well as juice and a hot drink. The first morning we were not given the vouchers so had to pay for our breakfast. The food was delicious and worth it. We were waited on by the staff.

We had a drink in the bar one afternoon and the staff were very slow that day. The second time a little better and we had received vouchers for a glass of champagne as my husband has an Accor card. We ordered a pot of tea one afternoon and it was very good in the bar too and the service was good. We ordered dinner from room service one evening as we were too tired to go out. At the appointed time we received our dinner on a tray which the server placed on our table. As well as the food we had ordered there were glasses of iced water and a tiny bowl with a flower in it. It looked very nice and tasted good too. Well done.

We would like to return if we could get a room with bath and coffee/tea making facilities.

Check out went very smoothly. We left our luggage and returned later. Staff were helpful in getting us a taxi across town.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with great views - high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Bonjour Wilma S,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Sofitel. The room is large, the furniture "type Ikea Chic" is agreable, the bathroom large with the shower separeted from the tub, could have the smells also separeted to be perfect. The bed very confortable, but the free internet could be faster. The service excellent, and the restaurant very good for the breakfast and also for the dinner. The location of the Sofitel is excellent to visit Montreal. The Sofitel at Montreal is an excellent choice and we recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Bonjour elica49,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was so glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer. We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered among the best downtown Montreal hotels, Sofitel Montreal Le Carre Dore is located in the heart of the historic Golden Square Mile, at the corner of Stanley and Sherbrooke Streets. Near this downtown Montreal Canada hotel, you'll find the renowned McGill University, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, and art galleries and luxurious shopping venues. With works of contemporary art, intimate lighting, and expansive glass windows, our Sofitel Montreal hotel celebrates the French art de vivre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;