We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Montreal to your Saves list
Sofitel Montreal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #15 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. We checked in a little earlier, and while our room wasn't ready, the lady at the front desk couldn't have been any sweeter and more apologetic. The room itself was incredibly comfortable - the beds were amazing and they have great products in the bathroom. We were right by the elevator and it was also incredibly quiet. The hotel is in a great location - right by the train station and Mont Royal. I also appreciated the nightly turn-down service and the complimentary water they give you every day with the turn-down service. The free Wi-Fi was also appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Bonjour HBS_18,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Montreal. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is exceedingly important as it helps us to continually improve upon our service and provides a memorable experience to our valued guests.

We are working very hard to ensure that our guests are completely satisfied. I am delighted that you left our hotel with pleasant memories.

Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance. We are looking forward to your next stay with us at the Sofitel.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    343
    83
    23
    16
See reviews for
191
472
94
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Sofitel was not my first choice for my stay in Montreal. The location wasn't ideal for me (and I only speak for myself in that regard; I'm not knocking a point off for that reason), though it is prime for visiting downtown, art museums, and universities. The staff were pros: they take their jobs very seriously, and I would consider them highly skilled craftsmen and craftswomen. They were helpful, polite, and courteous.

The downside was the internet service. They have a free option, which is... well... throttled. You're not going to get into your company's citrix server with any degree of usability. There is a paid option for higher bandwidth, but the one day I used it it wasn't much better than the free option (tested via speedtest). So, sorry Sofitel. In this day and time the business traveller needs adequate broadband, and you just didn't have it for me. Otherwise, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Bonjour JW-xplore,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Montreal. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provides a memorable experience to our valued guests.

While we do provide free Internet access in our guest rooms, I am sorry that our internet service did not meet your expectations and I apologize for this inconvenience.

Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance to us. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to better serve you soon.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sofitel Montreal for three nights. You can walk from the train station or from the metro station, very convinient location. Rooms are small but with loveky views and very comfortable. Staff is also really helpfull. You have plenty of cafes around to have breakfast. If back in Montreal, I will stay again, for sure.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Bonjour Latrun,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in July, and were not disappointed. We'd surely stay here again. While the location is great, and the room and bed very comfortable, we'd have to say that the service and positive attitude of the staff stood out. They were extremely helpful and friendly. I left something in my car, and the valet went down to the garage to get it. Raining outside - they give you an umbrella. Bellman ensure there is always a taxi waiting in the driveway. Rooms were very clean. And quiet. Bose radio present to soothing music was a nice touch. We ate in the restaurant most days. At first the price seemed quite high. However note that most items come with a very nice basket of pastries, as well as a nice fruit cup. Breakfast items were well prepared, and served promptly. Bottles of water were provided in our guestroom, however it would have been nice if it was accompanied by a filled ice bucket. One annoyance - every evening at turn down, housekeeping would leave on our bed a catalog of items for sale. No matter where I stowed it in the room, it turned up again the next evening. It was a clear sales pitch, and one evening would have been enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Bonjour Stevkap,

Thank you very much for the kind words and compliments about our hotel and staff. We hope to see you again in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Sofitel. Aside from the wonderful room and location, I was very impressed with the well trained staff. Everyone was very helpful, courteous, energetic, and professional. They were one of the many reasons I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Bonjour WESTMICHMOM,

Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out In The Country
Level Contributor
161 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Staff was extremely helpful and appeared to have a passion for the work that they do. Checking in and out was easy. Rooms [including bathrooms] are clean and beds are comfortable. Location provides easy access to downtown and a great starting off point for travel to any part of the city.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Bonjour MSLADE,

Thank you very much for the recommendation. I am pleased that you had a pleasurable experience with us and that the team was able to make your stay so comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Ritz-Carlton Montreal
Ritz-Carlton Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#25 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Montreal
#9 Business Hotel in Montreal
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#12 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Square Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Montreal hotel accommodations, minutes away from Sainte-Catherine Street and Sherbrooke Street's luxurious shopping venues, The Museum of Fine Arts and the slopes of beautiful Mount Royal. This 17-floor contemporary glass structure was designed by famous Montreal Architect David Azrieli and blends its historic legacy from the Van Horne Mansion located in the heart of Golden Square Mile. Savour the distinctive and delicious cuisine at the Renoir restaurant, and feel the Sofitel's luxurious feather top and duvet sleep system, as an elegant French art-de-vivre experience and unparalleled comfort await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.