We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Message” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Montreal to your Saves list
Sofitel Montreal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed 4 nights, last september. First time in Montreal.Great City!! Wonderful hotel. Maintaining the brand standards, what we found particularly great was its staff. Very nice and warm people, always with a smile and ready to help you. Very nice location, easy access to restaurants and shops.Room well maintained and very clean as usual in Sofitel hotels. Had breakfast one morning, and was really good: yoghurt and pastries , jelly and coffee...really fresh and tasty. Hotel very close to take the tours to other cities . Next time in Montreal, would definitely come back.

Room Tip: If possible try a room in a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robteix2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Bonjour robteix2012,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was so glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer.

We hope to see you in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel, wonderful service and great location. Rooms are classy and beautifully laid out. the restaurant in the lobby is no everyday hotel restaurant.....Try the egg white omelette for breakfast.... A must!

Room Tip: Room sizes vary greatly..... So see if you can get a swap esp if you are there for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Bonjour paulmac44,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Sofitel with my family. The Sofitel is ideally located as it is next to McGill University, close to shops and restaurants and the Arts Museum. Rooms are quite large and some rooms could easily accommodate a family of 4. I appreciate the luxury of that hotel, the beds and the overall comfort. staff was usually very nice and helpful, except at the restaurant/bar where I found hat some of the waitresses were a bit rude and seemingly not very happy to be there.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JV636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Bonjour J V,

Thank you very much! We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montréal and Sofitel Golden Mile again soon.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

After having stayed at several Sofitel properties on a recent trip to Vietnam and Cambodia, our expectations were high. And we weren't disappointed.
The hotel is perfectly located between McGill and the Ritz and St Catherine St and the mountain. The building itself is beautifully designed. And with their Christmas decorations it was stunning.
The lobby is compact and inviting. A friend came to visit. We sat in the lobby. It felt like our own living room with the sun streaming in.
The rooms are modern and well appointed with an ample work space. The beds were very comfortable with a thick mattress top. The bathroom is compact but adequate. The vanity is a modern bowl sitting on the countertop. The only drawback is that this design reduces useable counter space. Their basic rooms come with a large shower stall with hand and overhead shower. We prefer a shower stall because we find it safer and less slippery. If you need a bathtub, reserve the room category above standard.
Breakfast in their amazing dining room, Renoir, was a treat. Service was excellent and the food - presentation and quality - was wonderful. My only complaint was that when breakfast is prepaid, there was confusion over exactly what this included. The dining room staff gave one story, the front desk another. Nowhere was it clearly explained - in writing.
Overall I would say this is one the finest hotels in Montreal. There is a level of service and standard of accommodation which are outstanding.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have interesting layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boundary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Bonjour boundary,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I was glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile so that we may have the opportunity once again to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent 4 nights here and there were no disappointments. Although we were looking for some nightlife and that is lacking at that hotel. There are plenty of places that are very close walking distance. We ended up at the W hotel one night. I am glad I stayed at the sofitel instead. I think the W might be noisier but I don't know for sure how well the rooms are soundproofed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m5clt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Bonjour m5clt,

Love to hear that we have a new Sofitel fan - so glad that you enjoyed your experiences in Montréal! We hope to have the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to the area! 

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Ritz-Carlton Montreal
Ritz-Carlton Montreal
#1 of 162 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#3 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#23 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Square Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Montreal hotel accommodations, minutes away from Sainte-Catherine Street and Sherbrooke Street's luxurious shopping venues, The Museum of Fine Arts and the slopes of beautiful Mount Royal. This 17-floor contemporary glass structure was designed by famous Montreal Architect David Azrieli and blends its historic legacy from the Van Horne Mansion located in the heart of Golden Square Mile. Savour the distinctive and delicious cuisine at the Renoir restaurant, and feel the Sofitel's luxurious feather top and duvet sleep system, as an elegant French art-de-vivre experience and unparalleled comfort await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing