We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis in montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Montreal

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Montreal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #11 of 164 hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“oasis in montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Loved my brief stay here, and would certainly come back.

Pros:
Quiet and well appointed rooms
Amazingly comfortable beds and linens
Accommodating staff
Well located
Nice, large bar area to hang out and have a drink at night

Cons:
Can't think of anything big...room was on the small side if you are there with a family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Bonjour cj_minneapolis,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.
Thank you for the kind words and compliments. We hope to see you in the near future again at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Montreal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    635
    279
    61
    20
    15
See reviews for
154
397
84
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed for business a few nights in the Montreal Sofitel. The location was very convenient, either for shopping and restaurants, as for our business appointments during the day, as we could do all transport day and night by feet! The hotelroom was nice decorated, contemporary and spacious. The beds were extreme comfortable. The hotel has good and free WIFI, not unimportant if you also want to work. They serve a very nice breakfast with as speciality all kinds of Eggs Benedict.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, as they are much quiter then on the streetside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bonjour amigo42,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip!

Best regards.

Jean-Christopge Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012


I stay here each time I visit Montreal and each time I visit, there is the same highly satisfactory, gratifying and friendly service, especially by the hardworking wait staff.

I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Bonjour mhseaman,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.
Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you again in the near futureat Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Sofitel Montreal is a great, fairly standard 5* hotel. The location is convenient (close to shops, Mount Royal, bars, restaurants etc), rooms are extremely comfortable (if a little small) with nice views of the city. As with just about every other Accor Group hotel I've stayed in, you can be fairly sure you'll know what you're getting and it'll be good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Bonjour itrapnell,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was my third stay at the Sofitel in Montreal, all on business. Location is convenient in downtown. The hotel is just right, and could not find any fault to it. As in previous visits, the staff was friendly and efficient, room was just right and food at the restaurant (and even from room service) was very good. A perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Bonjour HYNsDad,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed 3 nights in Sofitel. The concierge are friendly and helpful. The room service is great too. They came twice a day. In the evening when you return to the room the classic music is flowing in the suite and the bed sheet is changed to the sleeping pattern, and the curtain is shut down for you to have a good resting. I like their bathroom, very nice decent decor and they use L'occitane products which is my favourite scent. After they emailed me a survey to let them know how they can improve their service, so they care what the customer's feeling. The downside is that the room is a bit small and there is no boiling cattle in the room. I felt inconvenience when I wanted to have a cup of tea in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Bonjour KCchen,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed such a special time with us and we took note of your feedback concerning the cattle in the room. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sofitel Montreal is firstly located on amazing location- just app 8 minutes of walk from St Catherine's street and all other streets with amazing restaurants.
Staff is so professional and polite, they were always so responsive. Food is restaurant is tasty, the only thing is that is big more expensive than in other places downtown.

And rooms...with beautiful view and THE MOST COMFORTABLE BEDS EVER. Simply love it.All my stars go to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Bonjour MA2402,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile!

Sincerely,

Jean-Christophe Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montreal
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered among the best downtown Montreal hotels, Sofitel Montreal Le Carre Dore is located in the heart of the historic Golden Square Mile, at the corner of Stanley and Sherbrooke Streets. Near this downtown Montreal Canada hotel, you'll find the renowned McGill University, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, and art galleries and luxurious shopping venues. With works of contemporary art, intimate lighting, and expansive glass windows, our Sofitel Montreal hotel celebrates the French art de vivre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, ACCOR, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.