We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are a bit cheap but is an Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel Montreal to your Saves list
Sofitel Montreal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #12 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They are a bit cheap but is an Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I did not like that they charge me an additional charge for wanting a room with a bath (I know! with this cold weather in Quebec should be mandatory to have a bath!!), so I paid for an upgrade and the room was not as executive, not much change that the normal even w upgrade.

My advice : If you are going to pay 200 for a nice hotel u might as well pay 280-300 for a bigger nicer room

My negatives:
- Room size doesn't really change much even with upgrade
- SErvice could be better - I luv when staff want to please the costumer and make all necessary to make sure you get the best possible.
- a bit disappointed to be one of the luxury hotels in MTL

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Bonjour Anilu77,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback. We are very sorry that we did not meet all your expectations on this occasion, and are looking into the issues you raised. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    288
    65
    20
    16
See reviews for
157
413
86
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights Dec 16-19. We came to Montreal to celebrate her birthday and we were amazed by the Sofitel. The room was spacious and immaculate, the bathroom was big and had a shower and a bathtub, and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Everyone in Montreal treated us so well. This hotel is in the perfect location. It is close to St. Catherine street for shopping and Crescent street for bars. Joey the concierge drew us a map and gave great recommendations for places to eat and shop. Melisande (the restaurant manager) was such an amazing presence in the hotel. We had a great time talking with her while enjoying delicious drinks at Renoir (lobby bar) and she even gave us some tips on places to visit. I will return here again my next visit to Montreal. I love to travel and this is one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Bonjour Monsieur, Madame,

Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your visit to Montréal!

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stay in Montreal approx 30 nights per year - always at Sofitel. Wouldn't stay there unless they get everything right. Even the drinks are served with a compliment of appetizers by people trained to know what good service is and thus do not need confirmation by asking you every 30 seconds "if everything is OK". Price value is unbeatable if you want a luxury hotel without the luxury price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lautoka, Fiji
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed here with a group and was very impressed. The rooms are delightful and staff could not have been more helpful. My appalling French was no handicap as staff were happy to humour me and then break into English when it was clear that I was struggling! I was also impressed that the front desk staff and the concierges addressed me by name within a couple of hours of my arrival.

The hotel claims that there is a business centre but it is only three PCs in a corner of the lobby with a printer. That said, printing is free so I guess I shouldn't complain as I printed off a to of documents!

My one moan would be that there is a mandatory charge for baggage handling when making a group booking, which I understand is part of an union arrangement, but, on our arrival, no one helped with luggage and all my group had to carry their own bags in and up to their rooms. If the unions insist on such a provision, then I feel that they should honour their side of the deal!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you very much! We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montréal and Sofitel Golden Mile again soon.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I've stayed at the Sofitel Montreal a few times now and the experience is always good, although I've experienced a few problems.
I stayed there in April and I was granted a late check-put at 06.00pm but upon checking
out the front desk attempted to charge me an extra because the late check-out was
"too late"! I must admit that after presenting my case the whole thing got resolved quickly.
My last stay was just a few days ago and, despite being an A-Club Platinum member, I wasn't
granted any upgrade, unlike in the past.
This said, the hotel is lovely and so are the people who work there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Bonjour Henry,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have passed on your feedback to our Front Office Manager. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience, we hope to see you again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The Sofitel was a nice place to stay during our visit to Montreal. Its location was very convenient and its decor is both modern and welcoming. We arrived late, tired, hungry and rumpled, but from the moment we pulled up in our car, the staff at every turn made us comfortable, which was much appreciated. Our corner room was well appointed but quite small, fine for our brief stay. Our view in one direction was of Mount Royal and the other right into the windows of the apartments across the street so we kept the drapes on that side closed. The bed (king) and linens were the most comfortable of any place we have stayed (and in this day of luxury hotel beds and sleep concierges, that is meant to say a lot). The bathroom was elegant in its design, but did not provide a place for both a shaving kit and makeup case. As one who wakes up early and likes coffee right away, I was disappointed that there was no in-room coffee maker as I find that more convenient than room service. Parking was complimentary but internet access was not. The food in the restaurant and drinks in the bar were very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Bonjour AnjVW,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

If you can afford this - BOOK it now!
The Sofitel Montreal is a thorough luxury hotel with great service. The staff were helpful (especially the concierges!), let us postpone check-out with two hours without an extra fee, and gave us a lot of tips.
The hotel features an okay fitness-centre with sauna and free bottles of water.
The rooms were spacious, with GREAT luxury beds with down-filled duvets, and in our bathroom we had both a hot tub and shower. The floor-to-ceiling-windows were nice, too. But the included internet was extremely slow, thats the only downside.
The hotel is situated close to the McGill University and the shopping streets, with the Mont Royal in walking distance.
All in all, we enjoyed our time at the Sofitel, and you will too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Bonjour Martin,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.
Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff.

We hope to see you in the near future again at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered among the best downtown Montreal hotels, Sofitel Montreal Le Carre Dore is located in the heart of the historic Golden Square Mile, at the corner of Stanley and Sherbrooke Streets. Near this downtown Montreal Canada hotel, you'll find the renowned McGill University, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, and art galleries and luxurious shopping venues. With works of contemporary art, intimate lighting, and expansive glass windows, our Sofitel Montreal hotel celebrates the French art de vivre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.