We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible is a nice word for this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #80 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Terrible is a nice word for this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

i have never been in such terrible hotel.
the room was big, but poor appearance, catastrophic maintenance and staff not professionals. try to stay somewhere else.
also no recognition to elite members.


Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Bonjour Meir M!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us! We are terribly sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations!

Both our Maintenance and Housekeeping departments take pride in the investment they have in improving the standards of the accommodation we offer, and all constructive comments will be passed along, as we always seek improvement. All of our staff works very hard to ensure our guests satisfaction, and we are very sorry to see that your stay was not satisfactory.

In order for you to help us improve, would it be possible for you to get in touch with us directly?

Next time you plan a future visit in Montréal, please contact me directly, I will ensure that everyone goes the extra mile to ensure that everything is perfect with your stay!

Kind Regards,
Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    200
    135
    60
    34
See reviews for
113
134
50
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, On
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is by far the smallest "suite" I've ever stayed in. Our room had two double beds, that were satisfactory in comfort. The kitchen would have been great except there was absolutely no cutlery, utensils, etc. The bathroom, like the rest of the room, was clean although showing its age. The saving grace of this hotel was the staff. We arrived from out of town very late and the girl at the front desk was very helpful, as were all the other front desk attendants throughout the stay.

The breakfast on Friday was really good, there were hot eggs, sausage, and pancakes as well as a variety of breads, fruits and yogurt. On Saturday the breakfast area was so packed there was nowhere to sit and the hot food was gone almost immediately after being brought out. Perhaps some better organization/planning could improve this but overall the food was pretty good so I would say it was worth the hassle.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage ask for a room close to the elevator Go down for breakfast early on we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Bonjour Sheena B!

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your stay with us!

Both our housekeeping and maintenance department work very hard to offer the best suitable accommodation, improve and maintain its quality, they will definitely hear (and appreciate !) your comments.

It is true that we do not put cutlery in our rooms, but it is available anytime upon request to the front desk, and can be brought up to your room in a timely manner. When the hotel gets very occupied, we do have a very busy breakfast. During summer time especially, the early hours of breakfast service are usually quieter indeed, your suggestions will definitely be passed along to the rest of the Management !

Again, Sheena B, we are very happy to see that our team made you fell welcome and at home. When planning your next visit to our wonderful city, please let us know, we would be happy to assist you making your reservation and ensure that everything is perfect with your stay!

Warm Regards,
Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a suite, but had to change rooms just after checking due to an unpleasant odor in the bathroom. The next room was adequate. The hotel provided a limited buffet breakfast that wasn't too bad. Free wifi was provided throughout the hotel although it went down for a couple of hours the second morning. Cable TV in room provided some hi-def channels. Underground parking was available for $22 per day.

Location was well within walking distance to the old town and port.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Bonjour Alaska_Galles_Family!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are sorry we did not completely meet your expectations! Both our Housekeeping and Maintenance department work very hard to improve and maintain the quality of our accommodation, and rest assured that all helpful and constructive comments will be passed along.

We are glad to see that the small inconvenience you went through was solved rapidly by changing you rooms!

Next time you plan to visit Montreal, please contact us directly, it will be our pleasure to ensure that your next stay with us is perfect!

Kind Regards,

Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed there 2 nights for a business trip.
My room was really big, with a kitchen area (fridge, cupboards, microwave, but no stove), a living room with a big couch and chairs, large flat screen, and then the bedroom also had a large flat screen TV.
Bathroom was nice as well, very clean, and the bed was comfortable.
Breakfast is included and is not completely continental since it also includes eggs and bacon/sausage, which is nice.
Underground parking is 22$/night, and the location is central, so it is nice if you want to visit the city. You don't need a car in Montréal anyway. Berri-UQAM which is a central subway station is 10min away, Old Montréal is 10 min away as well (by foot).

I would recommend this hotel anytime!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Bonjour!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on our property! We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! Rest assured that your comments will be shared with the rest of the team!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked this hotel for my husband's retirement weekend with a Candiens game as well. The suite we had was a HUGE one bedroom apartment with two flat screens and kitchen facilities. The service here was second to none and the hot complimentary breakfast did not disappoint. I don't know what people expect for their money but this is the best deal in Montreal. Upon our return, I discovered my jacket was left behind. I notified the hotel four days later and yes, they had it and fedexed it back to me within two days. On the down side, there were party animals on our floor who were relentless. Due to the large suites, I assume this is why they congregate here. We phoned the front desk both nights and the people were sent back to their rooms. When you check in, make sure you get a quiet area. I will return for another vivist. The subway was close by!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Bonjour Valerie H!!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us! We are glad to read that you did receive your jacket!
Indeed, we have a Security service that is very proactive at night, your sleep is important to us and we are glad to read that these unusual situations were dealt with efficiently!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards,
Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at this property last weekend, chosen because of the large 2-bedroom suites offered, which are perfect for a traveling family. The hotel did not disappoint, with a massive suite complete with large bathroom and kitchen. It did fall down, however, on some basics.

The pull-out sofa's mattress was literally a blob of thinly covered springs. The window AC units rattled unmercifully. The lamps barely worked and one was flat-out broken. The toilet overflowed. This said, maintenance was quick to fix everything we brought to their attention.

There are some oddities. Like the kitchen, which is a full-sized kitchen but has no dishes, silverware, glasses. The room access cards that lost their code several times a day. The egg-like serving at breakfast.

It's a decent hotel for the price near to (but not in) some nice areas. Just don't go expecting much. If you're looking for a large place to stay in a great city, this is it. But it's not modern nor particularly well kept up.

It is what it is.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Bonjour JBDBOttawa!

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our property, we are happy that you were satisfied with the size of our location! Rest assured that your comments are taken very seriously and will help us improve the level of service we offer. Both our Maintenance and Housekeeping departments are working very hard to improve and maintain the quality of the accommodations we offer, thank you, for bringing these points to our attention.
It is true that dishes or cutlery are not placed in the rooms prior to arrival, but they are available anytime upon request, simply by calling our front desk team!
Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Adeline Le Cornec,
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here with 14 guys on a bachelor trip Mar 25th and 26th three per room. We picked this one cause of the price(alot cheaper than others in same area) and location is amazing!

I stayed in Rm# 403 and it must of been over 700sq ft. Full fize kitchen with fridge/freezer and tons of cupboard and counter space. A bit overkill if you ask me but whatever it works!

Office is massive with looks to be a 46" Samsung TV seating and a pullout couch. Not too many english channels available but that didn't matter much. Also same TV beside the two double beds which were comfy and clean white sheets. None of us had issues sleeping.

DOWNSIDES. Okay this hotel is a little outdated especially the bathrooms which have grungy tiles, fixtures and bathtubs but everything worked and didn't bother us much. Maybe if you have high standards this might be an issue.
Carpet was not very clean in rooms either and kitchen area is also outdated.
The hotel could use a small store to purchase items but there is a couche-tard just around the corner approx 4min walk away that is 24hrs.

Would i stay here again? Absolutely! I highly recommend this place for large groups. We were able to all hang out in one hotel room before dinners and had no shortage of room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Monopoly83,

We would like first to thank you for posting a nice review about the hotel. We are happy that your bachelor party went well and that the hotel exceed your expectations.
We will be happy to welcome you back for your next stay in Montreal,
Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville

Address: 155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pour de l'information en Francais, visitez: Holiday Inn Express All Suite Montreal Hotel. Montreal hotel offers comfort & convenience. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Montreal Centre-Ville, you're sure to enjoy your stay, as our lodging offers the comfort of a daily hot breakfast bar and the convenience of a location near numerous corporations and attractions in Montreal. Perfect for those staying on business, our hotel in Montreal offers a well-equipped business centre, high-speed Internet and close proximity to Montreal Convention Center, Bombardier, CBC, Deloitte and Touche, Hydro Quebec, KPMG, SNC Lavalin, Complexe Desjardins and Guy Favreau, Place des Arts, UQAM & McGill University. Because we have a better location than most hotels, our Montreal, Canada lodging is the perfect place for families to stay during their vacation. We're situated near historic Old Montreal, Chinatown, Six Flags A La Ronde amusement park, Bell Centre, Grand Prix Du Canada, the Casino and many of Montreal's finest restaurants, museums and shopping. If you're looking for quality Montreal hotels & convenient services, then look no further. The Holiday Inn Express is the perfect place to stay during your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Holiday Inn Montreal
Montreal Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.