We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to sights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Faubourg Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Faubourg Montreal to your Saves list
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville) (Quartier des Spectacles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #83 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Convenient to sights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel within walking distance of eateries on rue Ste. Catherine and a nice stroll to Old Town.
Pleasantly surprised by a two room suite with kitchenette and balcony. Draw backs were that there was no silverware, dishes, nor cups. Not sure how one was to use the kitchenette. Also balcony didn't have any chairs. Room was a bit dated/wore but clean. WiFi was excellent, bed comfortable, and breakfast filling. All-in-all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest ,

Thank you for your positive comments; we take all feedback to heart to better ourselves.

For the cutlery in the rooms, for hygenique reasons we no longer have any in our rooms but they are always available on demand and or at the front desk.


Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    207
    144
    63
    37
See reviews for
118
136
52
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Right price, decent location within walking distance to downtown, chinatown and Old Montreal.
stay was comfortable enough with a good room service and amazing value for the price paid in this neighborhood compared to other hotels in vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the main road. a great view on Town Hall in the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments about our property. We greatly appreciate all feedback as we strive to perfection.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

China town hotels are not notoriously the best. Okay, the Manderin in Hong Kong is pretty awesome, but expectations were low. And met. First the desk staff was helpful and couldn't have been better and the room was spacious and comfortable. The spa looked good but we didn't try it. Things we did not like: the $54 plus tax parking in the underground parking was frankly a little steep and the wall paper in the bathroom was peeling off (room 508) in the bathroom. The pillows were more like small cushions and the porcelain in the bathroom had seen a little too much wear. But what do you expect for a downtown Montreal hotel room within spitting distance of the Intercontinental which would be happy to clip for three times the price? I'd stay there again only just because I liked the staff but I would leave my car a block over where its only $15 for 24 hrs.

Room Tip: Go see it before you part with coin
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share with use your experience during your stay in Montreal.

Unfortunatly, I do not believe that you stayed with use at the Holiday Inn Express & Suite Montreal as we are not located in Chinatown, we do not have a spa and our parking fee is 23$ not 54$.

I believe you are referring to the Holiday Inn Select in Chinatown in Montreal.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Yes, as others have pointed out, the rooms are a little dated and could use some refurbishing. BUT....they are huge and unbelievably inexpensive for downtown Montreal. We had 2 suites - one with a king bed and one with 2 doubles. The bedrooms are large, and the living room / kitchenette area is huge. Full-size fridge, microwave, kettle & coffeemaker and 3 stools at the counter in the kitchen means you can easily eat in. Three-seater couch + armchair means you can easily hang around watching a movie on the brand new 42" TV (also one of those in the bedroom). There is also a desk & chair if you have to get some work done. The bathrooms could use some work, but the shower is hot & strong and that's all I really care about.

The front desk staff were very accommodating - got us in early and let us leave late, which helped with our travel plans. All in all, I would highly recommend for the value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. Your comments will be shared with our staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express a leader in excellence. We are also pleased to inform our guest that we will be renovating our hotel rooms in the end of 2013 and continuing in 2014.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chose this Hotel for its Location, 10min walk to Old Montreal, 10 min walk to Downtown center and 20 min walk to Peel street. The hotel room was very disappointing, in desperate need of updating. We found garbage under the bed (old bottle of soda and a bottle cap), Peeling paint, mildew in the bathroom, cracked tiles. The day we arrived the 5th floor hallway was being repainted and we were not warned that the door to our room was just painted and as we were leaving our room, my wife brushed up against the door and got paint on her sweater and her very expensive handbag. We spent 30 minutes frantically cleaning the paint off the bag, luckily we got the paint off. The painter apologized about not warning us, how nice of him. Breakfast was included but DO NOT choose this hotel just for the breakfast. It's not worth it, we were disappointed in the breakfast. Only Ham and egg omelets on the first day, no plain omelets, Crepe machine was not working on the first day. The front desk staff were nice and spoke english. Parking is under the hotel for $20/night +tax. Free wifi is included and gave decent speeds. Kitchen area has a Microwave, Fridge, and Coffee maker. Flat screen TV in both rooms of the suite. If you are not going to spend much time in the room and don't care for room condition then I would say go for it because the location and price are good, but if your picky then this is not the hotel for you. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your positive feedback and constructive comments. We are happy to announce that we will be renovating our hotel rooms by the end of 2013 continuing in 2014.

I do apologies for any inconvenience you had to endure during your stay.

Once again, we appreciate your comments and will use them to make sure they will be fixed.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The room was spacious - but: the bathroom smelled like the floor wasn't cleaned. The fixtures in the bathroom were loose. Even the remote control for the TV was broken! It was indicated that the garage (not free parking!) was not the safest place to leave things - so they told us to even bring our bikes into our room! The breakfast was disappointing too. I asked about information of what to see, where to go, where to eat, highlights of the city - and their lobby had nothing and they didn't even offer any suggestions. For our first time in the city - it wasn't a good way to start out after a long trip. They did do a better job cleaning after we complained.
There were also no dishes, soap or dish towel available - so using/having the spacious cabinets didn't make sense.

And another thing - I made a big mistake not checking TripAdvisor - we went through another online hotel 'deal' site - Don't worry - I won't be using them - they are just a 'hotmess'!

Room Tip: We had our windows open the entire time to avoid the noise of the a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear lces m,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at Holiday Inn Express for 3 nights. We selected this hotel because they accept small pets with an extra 50 dollars fee per stay.

The building looks like a long term stay apart hotel more than a regular hotel. Location is great, just 3 mins away from the city centre and the Old City. They charge 20 dollars for parking per day, you could make unlimited times of in and out.

The breakfast is very basic, such as a hostel type, a lot of people didn't like it during our stay.

We asked a 1 bedroom suit and saw that its a good decision. The room was big enough and pretty clean. The room had a regular kitchen, with fridge, stove and microwave but there was no dishes and cutlery.

Overall the hotel met our exceptations, and we didn't have problems during our stay. I recommend this hotel for pet owners.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are better. You don't hear the noise of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel property and also greatly appreciate all the positive feed back. Unfortunately, we no longer offer cutleries in the rooms for hygiene purpose but still offer to bring the up to the room or we have them handy at the front desk 24/7.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Faubourg Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faubourg Montreal

Address: 155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Faubourg Montreal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pour de l'information en Francais, visitez: Holiday Inn Express All Suite Montreal Hotel. Montreal hotel offers comfort & convenience. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Montreal Centre-Ville, you're sure to enjoy your stay, as our lodging offers the comfort of a daily hot breakfast bar and the convenience of a location near numerous corporations and attractions in Montreal. Perfect for those staying on business, our hotel in Montreal offers a well-equipped business centre, high-speed Internet and close proximity to Montreal Convention Center, Bombardier, CBC, Deloitte and Touche, Hydro Quebec, KPMG, SNC Lavalin, Complexe Desjardins and Guy Favreau, Place des Arts, UQAM & McGill University. Because we have a better location than most hotels, our Montreal, Canada lodging is the perfect place for families to stay during their vacation. We're situated near historic Old Montreal, Chinatown, Six Flags A La Ronde amusement park, Bell Centre, Grand Prix Du Canada, the Casino and many of Montreal's finest restaurants, museums and shopping. If you're looking for quality Montreal hotels & convenient services, then look no further. The Holiday Inn Express is the perfect place to stay during your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Faubourg Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Holiday Inn Montreal
Montreal Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Faubourg Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.