We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location but . . .” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #80 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good location but . . .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had used holiday inns before with little or no issues. We checked in on a Wed around 3:30. We had to wait 20 min because they did not have a room ready. Once the room was "ready" we went in and it smelled of paint but not strong smell. Got unpacked and settled in. Went to use the table for the computer and the table felt wet. In fact the table had been touched up with paint or stain. At least it washed up with water. When we asked for another room we were told nothing available. So I used the in room paper towels and wiped it all off. Turns out the desk, tables and chair backs had been touched up.

Aside from that, the bed was most uncomfortable and heating/cooling seemed inconsistent.

The included breakfast was ok. Step up from MacDonalds but not a big step.

Not recommended.

Room Tip: Try the Days Inn half a block down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Mr. Barry E.
Thank you for contacting the Trip advisor web site regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apoligise for any inconvenience you may have experience due to the room being touched up before your arrival. This room should have been put out of order to let the furniture dry out. This was a major communication mis-hap on our part.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guest , like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreaciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again , we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose the Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    200
    135
    60
    34
See reviews for
113
134
50
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed in two suite rooms on two different nights. Both TV’s needed a channel guide. One TV needed service and was attended to promptly by the front desk. Place was clean and tidy. Second room had HVAC unit unplugged from wall. Refrigerator in one room was turned off and warm.

Location area was close to Chinatown and within walking of Old City on the other side of that. Gay Village and clubs were right around the corner.

Breakfast was good and part of the room rate (Scrambled eggs, beacon, cereal, juices, coffee, English muffins, cinnamon roll, yogurt and bananas

There could be better direction to the entrance to the garage. Signage of where to park in the garage and how to get to the elevators is not adequate.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express through Trip advisor regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologies for any inconvenience you may have experience due to the rooms and parking.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We are please to inform you that we have recently finished re-painting all our singing in the parking area and the waiting area for the elevator is completely decorated and welcoming.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I like the location but was very dissatisfied with the room. The carpet was very old and look dirty and the entire hotel needed a good cleaning. The hotel look very different from the pictures on website, the hotel is very old. Not bad if you are on a budget. I personally will not stay there again. The bed was aweful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Allo1000,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the quality and service level we aim for. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will be shared to the rest of our team for review.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have the honor of hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is located really close to the city centre. Its only a few minutes to the cathedral, to the center, chinese quarter (if anyone want ot visit it) and of course to the port. Hotel room was clean and reception stuff really friendly. Breakfast are different day to day with acceptable meal choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Z590,

Thank you for you comments on Trip Advisor. We gratly appreciate any comments to better service our guests and in your case, appreciate the great comments on our hotel.

Sincerely,
Natasha Lalonde J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Notified Holiday Inn via their website of problems on night 1. Got an automated response that my message was received. Stayed 4 nights. Never heard anything more and problems never got fixed. I won't stay in a place that has no interest in customer service. The problems that were reported:

Bag of trash and pile of cigarette butts on my balcony the entire time, never cleaned up.

Bathroom floor very sticky. Mopped it myself second night. Used their white towels :-)

Alarm clock plugged into switched socket, turning off lights also turned off the alarm clock.

Bathroom off main lobby (behind locked doors and accessible only to guests) had a toilet seat so loosely attached that I almost fell off.

Other things that left a strong impression:
The free breakfast is worth exactly what we paid for it. Eggs were refrig-cold, prepared food was barely edible.
All of the hotel - including lobby and rooms - looks like it had not been painted in a decade. Lobby is cold and barren.
Shower head had so much water deposit built up on it that it sprayed on everything except me.

What's nice: not too expensive, location has easy access to Chinatown, rooms have a full kitchen.

Room Tip: In order to get a good room, you'll probably want to try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Clif n Kathy T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am so glad you liked the great location of our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apology for the experience you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience may have caused you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details regarding your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Maine, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

When we made reservations no one told us the hotel staff was on strike ( and they were at that time). When we finished signing in, that's when they told us that we would have to call down every day if we wanted fresh towels, the beds would not be made, the rooms would not be cleaned and there would only be a breakfast buffet for $15.95 each day. The breakfast eggs were cold two of the three days we were there. When we went to check out we asked what form of compensation we would be getting and they said "Nothing". I wrote to Holiday Inn and several days later got an e-mail that as they valued us as customers they would send my complaint to the hotel. It's been a week and haven't heard a word. Guess I won't be staying at a Holiday Inn again. I always stay at Holiday Inn's if I can find them and hold their Priority Club card....guess that means nothing to them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Jane C,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Centre-Ville, Quebec, Canada.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here three days. This hotel is located in the Chinatown quarter of Montreal, bounded east-west by Rue Viger and north-south by Rue St. Urbain. While it is conveniently near to Vieux Montreal attractions, its immediate neighborhood is littered, tawdry and unsightly. Inside, it is showing its age. Hard to believe that Holiday Inn has its name on this hotel. We moved to another hotel as soon as we could.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear dadlad,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased that our location was suitable enough for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology if your stay was negatively affected by the neighboring surroundings of the hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville

Address: 155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pour de l'information en Francais, visitez: Holiday Inn Express All Suite Montreal Hotel. Montreal hotel offers comfort & convenience. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Montreal Centre-Ville, you're sure to enjoy your stay, as our lodging offers the comfort of a daily hot breakfast bar and the convenience of a location near numerous corporations and attractions in Montreal. Perfect for those staying on business, our hotel in Montreal offers a well-equipped business centre, high-speed Internet and close proximity to Montreal Convention Center, Bombardier, CBC, Deloitte and Touche, Hydro Quebec, KPMG, SNC Lavalin, Complexe Desjardins and Guy Favreau, Place des Arts, UQAM & McGill University. Because we have a better location than most hotels, our Montreal, Canada lodging is the perfect place for families to stay during their vacation. We're situated near historic Old Montreal, Chinatown, Six Flags A La Ronde amusement park, Bell Centre, Grand Prix Du Canada, the Casino and many of Montreal's finest restaurants, museums and shopping. If you're looking for quality Montreal hotels & convenient services, then look no further. The Holiday Inn Express is the perfect place to stay during your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Holiday Inn Montreal
Montreal Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.