We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LHotel

Save Saved
You added LHotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LHotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Portland, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very unique hotel with great service! The front desk helped make us a great reservation at a near by Bistro which was a great choice. Thehotel is located in the perfect part of town, very close to attractions, the water, and some historic streets. Very cool art and rooms are interesting, something you wont see again! We had a fat man and a horse painting above our bed- hahah.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    181
    48
    11
    5
See reviews for
110
305
34
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I booked this hotel for my boyfriend's birthday.
The room was clean, but a little small.
We loved the complimentary breakfast, lots of choice.
The location is very good, if you want to visit the old Montreal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I loved the lobby and the hallways - not only the art but the colorful carpets, large windows, and light-colored walls, but the room was disappointing. It was large but a bit dark; the walls painted dark green and the floor covered with mirky brown carpets. The room was so big, it could easily accommodate a king-size bed, but only had a queen-size. The furnishings were also dark and a bit gloomy. The bathroom was small, with no counter space and a tiny hairdryer attached to the wall. I don't understand why the owner of all this art would not splurge on better hairdryers! The toiletries were also not of the top quality.
This is really a 3.5 star hotel, not a four-star. I would have rated this hotel 3, not 4, were it not for the beautiful lobby and the art in the hallways. If you stay here, make sure you visit all the floors and check out the art.
A big plus for this place is that it is located very close to the wonderful Olive and Gourmando bakery; a big minus is that the front desk staff was not very helpful and that they do not have a concierge. The first night we arrived in Montreal, we stayed at another 4-star hotel up the street, and LHotel does not measure up to that one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We wanted to visit Montreal because we had heard that it felt like Europe. In order to get this full experience, we made sure to book a hotel in Old Montreal, which is the area with the lovely architecture. This area has been featured in many movies posing as somewhere in Europe rather than Canada. Our favorite is the Benji/Chevy Chase movie, "Oh Heavenly Dog", and we were able to find many of the locations used in the movie by walking around the Old Montreal area. In searching websites, we found L Hotel, and booked it as it had good reviews. A lot of reviewers commented about how they loved the art on the walls. I really don't care that much about art, but it was at least interesting to walk down the halls. I care about having a nicely decorated, visually appealing, immaculate and comfortable room.

We drove up from Brooklyn to Montreal on Canada Day, which was a bad idea. The border was packed and due to a few detours in our drive up from Brooklyn, we did not make it to the hotel until close to midnight. But we were able to check in quickly, as the front desk already had been expecting us, which was a nice touch since by that time we just wanted to get to our room. We had them valet park the car and when I asked "what we should do with the car?", the smart-aleck front desk person replied, "put some gas in it and drive it around sometimes." Being that it was midnight, we accepted the $22 a day parking, although others on the hotel review site have said there are cheaper options close by. So if you arrive at a reasonable time, that is something you should look into finding.

The room we booked was a nice sized room with 2 queen beds, a desk and a lounge chair. It was comfortable for the three of us, with the exception that they only had towels, cups and bottled water for 2 people. The TV in the room was a bit small for the size of the room. There was a fridge in the room, which was convenient to have, but it made a lot of popping noises. The air conditioner was also loud when it came on. So bring some earplugs if you are a light sleeper like me. The shower water pressure was weak and controlling the temperature was difficult at first. The beds were very comfortable, and the air conditioner worked well, which was essential in the hot temperatures we experienced during our stay.

The next day, we asked the front desk for extra towels and they made sure that we got them. But it seems like the front desk should have realized that there were three of us, and ordered three of everything else. But I suppose we also could have told them and they would have provided three of everything. But we had no foresight to ask on that day, but at least on the last day we put a note (in what I think was probably incorrect French) for the maid service and apparently they understood as the maids left us three cups and three bottles of water as well as more towels. So thankfully their maids are very attentive.

The hotel was close to a lot of tourist attractions and nice bakeries. We enjoyed the breakfast pastries from Olive et Gourmando best. Using the subway (closest to orange line, Victoria Square) was easy and convenient to get out to locations like Plateau Mont-Royal. All in all, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The hubby and I stayed one night at the L while visiting old Montreal. Big room, yellow walls with red oriental accents and wood furnishings. High ceilings, tall window with street view. Requested a single queen but we got a room with 2 queen beds. Room has Keurig, mini fridge, air conditioning, free wifi, flat screen tv; bathroom is small but has a nice jetted tub. Lack of place to put toiletries was a pain. Beds / pillows were very comfy and the room was quiet. Hotel is decorated throughout with art and prints from well known artists. There is also a small fitness center and a nice bar area. You can purchase breakfast at the hotel or get breakfast nearby. The food is expensive everywhere so you won't save a lot by going outside the hotel; if you are in a hurry, the hotel if fine and convenient.

Location is great and everything is within walking distance. If you drive, it seems easiest to just pay the $24/ day to have the valet park your car. You get in/out privileges but will probably not need a car at all for the old town area. There was a public parking ramp just down the street with a $16 per day rate. Not sure if its safe or if you get in/out but might be worth looking into.

While in old Montreal, check out the maple syrup stand a bit past the square near the market. It's a family farm and the syrup has a unique and delicious oaky flavor. Good prices and options; great souvenirs!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the L’Hotel, Rue St. Jaques. Montreal from the 18th to 22nd June 2013 in the Liechtenstein Suite. There was no view from the Suite window but the actual décor and spaciousness within the Suite was excellent. The Bedroom and the lounge were beautifully decorated from the great flowing curtains to the very comfortable bedroom. The furniture was classical and well looked after. Both Televisions were large modern flat screens. The Valet Service parking was efficient and reasonably priced. (on a couple of mornings there were 3 Ferraris and a Rolls Royce parked outside the Hotel)

The breakfast was Continental Style with no cooked element. There were plenty of Cold Cuts, Cereal, Yoghurt and Fruit available. The Breakfast room itself was a very stunning room, exquisitely decorated with matching chairs and chandeliers hanging from very high ceilings.

The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful in every respect. They were all polite and helpful with a wealth of local knowledge both of Montreal and the surrounding area which they are only to willing to share with you.

With their help we found the Olympic Park and the Botanical Gardens (Via the easy to use Metro from Victoria Square Cost $11CAD for two people return)
The Olympic Park was well worth the visit and the view from the top of the Tower is Spectacular. The Topiary trees are spectacular in the Botanical Gardens. There are so many. My special favourite was the ‘Grand Piano’ which was shaped like a Grand Piano but about the size of a bus!! Breath taking!!

The Hotel also helped us find the ‘Underground City’ which stretches underneath a number of city blocks. It can be difficult to find but is well worth the effort. We found the easiest entrance for us was the Corner of McGill and Katherine streets or the McGill Metro station, Cathedral Entrance. You can also enter via The Baie store. Notre Dame Cathedral is about 100 yards from the hotel.

We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently stayed at L'Hotel for business and highly recommend it.

The room I stayed in was lovely and very comfortable. The hotel is like an art gallery with original pieces of work on the walls.

Location is great for the Palais de congress and Old Port.

Staff was amazing and very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#27 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LHotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 59 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montréal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.