We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service & attention, world-renowned art!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LHotel

Save Saved
You added LHotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LHotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional service & attention, world-renowned art!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A colleague and I stayed at the amazing L Hotel in May/June 2012. We were there for a few days on a business trip. From the moment we checked in through our departure, Manager Nicholas and his team at L Hotel provided us with first class, professional service and attention!! Where else can you be treated to freshly-based, mouth-watering, toe-curling pain au chocolate, a huge sumptuous hotel room with loft-like ceilings and a multi-million dollar art collection that rivals the collections of most museums!! We learned L Hotel's owner is the co-founder of the saucy, sexy clothing line Guess and Guess Marciano. The hotel decor reflects a style that combines modern with sumptuous Paris bistro, with little touches of Elton John glam! It's beautiful, warm, spacious, fun, and comfortably elegant. A visual treat with spaces that showcase an eclectic collection of coveted classical and modern paintings, sculptures, and installations from Chagall, Warhol, Miro, and Robert Indiana. We found the hotel within easy walking distance of great restaurants and Old Montreal. Loved it!! Will stay there again without a doubt!! Thanks Nicholas for making us feel special!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    181
    48
    11
    5
See reviews for
110
305
34
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

II stayed here on business for four nights in November, the ruins are large and well appointed, the art in the girl is probably worth as much as the hotel. Staff are friendly and the bar its open till 3 am :-)

Very close to the old town and the Cathedral.

Breakfast seems fairly basic and there is no room service to speak of, mainly a cheese lure fruit platter, but to be great there are great restaurants all around. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in September. The stay was nice and the hotel is well looked after and close to most attractions. However, it would be lovely to only be charged for our stay once and not three times. We prepaid our room and were asked for a credit card for accidentals. On our return to Australia, we received our bill and there was a charge from the hotel for $600 odd dollars. I contacted the hotel to be advised that they are unsure what happened but it appears there was another guest with the same name as me and they must have put our details against their file. Please note my name is not a common name and seems a little far fetched that there would be someone with the same full name as me at the same time. The hotel was good about apologising for the inconvenience and refunded the money immediately,. You would think that would be the end of it.. well no my credit card bill came in the mail today and once again I have another charge for my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_taillon, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Bonjour ,

I unfortunately became aware of this situation while reading your comment on Tripadvisor. I am deeply sorry for all of this confusion and I personally take responsibility for this issue. We have corrected the problem this morning hopefully to your convenience.

There are no excuses for what happened with your account and once again, please accept our apologies with a full refund for your stay with us.

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went to Montreal for a weekend getaway. Found a good deal through Booking.com, checked some reviews on TripAdvisor and decided to book it and we were glad we did! Staff was very friendly. Rooms were quite large, beds were comfy with lots of pillows and there was beautiful artwork throughout the hotel. Hotel was in a great area. Very close to Old Port and just a few minutes walk to Crescent and St. Catherine. Only negative thing I could possibly say about LHotel is that there is no place in the bathroom to put your toiletries.......but that is a very minor complaint. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 204. Superior Queen. Very Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights the staff are friendly and were always willing to assist. I was travelling with my sister and when we checked in they offered us joining rooms which was great as we had been travelling for a while and were able to spread out. The rooms were well laid out and the furniture was in good condition it would have been good to have a bar fridge in the room but overall this hotel has a great atmosphere and good location

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This a great boutique hotel. Extremely charming. It hosts a full art collection from the designer of GUESS. It is very comfortable, with an outstanding service. Its previledged location allows easy walking access eihter in the "vieux ville" or the underground city.If you want to enjoy the nice atmosphere of Montreal, this is the place to stay. It is ideal for a romantic stay...

Room Tip: try special suites on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived quite late and were a bit nervous because of good rate we had managed with Booking.com so assumed the room would be quite small. What a lovely surprise. Very large room with lovely decore and big bathroom. The staff was extrememly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Very nice breakfast which was extra naturally. Hotel in great position in old town of Montreal within walking distance to restaurants and great shops and galleries in Rue St. Paul. We stayed 2 nights and would definitely not consider staying anywhere else when we hopefully return one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#27 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LHotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 59 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montréal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.