We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added LHotel to your Saves list
LHotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
-15% Off B&B Rate
Ranked #16 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

When we travelled to Montreal we first chose this hotel before our trip to Quebec city. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room had a very high ceiling and was cold and the heating system did not work as efficiently. The mattress were not that comfortable. We did not like the bathroom. It was very small and old styled and did not have a place to place your toiletries. The service was not bad and the hotel is situated in the old town walking distance to all sightseeing places in old Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    217
    55
    12
    7
See reviews for
120
372
38
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AUSTIN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed one night at LHotel in Montreal. It is in an excellent location in Old Montreal, just park in front and valet will take the car. The staff was EXTREMELY helpful and pleasant. We wanted tea in the late evening and the staff went out of the way to send it up to our room with no extra charge. The valet/assistant was very personable and apologized for keeping us waiting an extra minute. We did not opt to have breakfast (it was not an option when we booked) but free coffee was available in the lobby area which was very attractive. We would definitely stay again and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor--very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel in heart of old Montreal. Owned by a gentleman who is generous enough to share his unbelievable contemporary and pop art collection with us. The room we stayed in was large and beautiful. The staff is young and helpful. We were more than pleased with everything and the price was extremely reasonable for what we got. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What sets this hotel apart is the huge collection of modern art adorning the lobby, hallways and hotel rooms.

My room was just a single room, not a suite but it was spacious and beautifully decorated - very warm and inviting.

The location in the old Montreal neighborhood was great. Many restaurants nearby, a short walk from the waterfront.

I thought the room rate was a great value; $16 for the breakfast buffet was a bit steep but I have to admit I still did that rather than venturing out to find breakfast somewhere else. The croissants were yummy :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc mountains
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

What does one expect in a city hotel? Large room? Perfect location? Cheerful and extremely helpful staff? Beauty and comfort of lobby? Great value for a big city hotel? Well, if this is what you want, you will find it here at LHotel! We were there on a Sunday and Monday nights. We did not have breakfast in the hotel because we thought $15 each was a bit steep, and our rate did not include it. (Just around the corner is a little restaurant, Notre Dame Restaurant, with delicious breakfast at a great price!) LHotel is just a couple of blocks from Notre Dame Cathedral, four or five blocks from the cruise port, four blocks from Rue St. paul, heart of restaurants and galleries and shops. This is your place to stay in Montreal!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Great boutique hotel with amazing customer service....only drawback is no HD channels..but who's watching tv! central location..artsy and great restaurants all around you...breakfast is optional..impressive art displays

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I selected this hotel for a girly weekend with a friend. We needed a place with valet parking and huge twin rooms! The room was quiet and nice to relax in after long walks around the Old Montreal. My bed was wide and comfy. The hotel was in a perfect location, so close to key attractions and many good restaurants. The reception staff were friendly and helped us book a great bus tour around the city. I loved the decor and the unique atmosphere. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#15 Family Hotel in Montreal
#27 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LHotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.