We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LHotel

Save Saved
You added LHotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LHotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

When we travelled to Montreal we first chose this hotel before our trip to Quebec city. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room had a very high ceiling and was cold and the heating system did not work as efficiently. The mattress were not that comfortable. We did not like the bathroom. It was very small and old styled and did not have a place to place your toiletries. The service was not bad and the hotel is situated in the old town walking distance to all sightseeing places in old Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    407
    183
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
114
309
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AUSTIN
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed one night at LHotel in Montreal. It is in an excellent location in Old Montreal, just park in front and valet will take the car. The staff was EXTREMELY helpful and pleasant. We wanted tea in the late evening and the staff went out of the way to send it up to our room with no extra charge. The valet/assistant was very personable and apologized for keeping us waiting an extra minute. We did not opt to have breakfast (it was not an option when we booked) but free coffee was available in the lobby area which was very attractive. We would definitely stay again and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor--very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel in heart of old Montreal. Owned by a gentleman who is generous enough to share his unbelievable contemporary and pop art collection with us. The room we stayed in was large and beautiful. The staff is young and helpful. We were more than pleased with everything and the price was extremely reasonable for what we got. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What sets this hotel apart is the huge collection of modern art adorning the lobby, hallways and hotel rooms.

My room was just a single room, not a suite but it was spacious and beautifully decorated - very warm and inviting.

The location in the old Montreal neighborhood was great. Many restaurants nearby, a short walk from the waterfront.

I thought the room rate was a great value; $16 for the breakfast buffet was a bit steep but I have to admit I still did that rather than venturing out to find breakfast somewhere else. The croissants were yummy :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc mountains
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

What does one expect in a city hotel? Large room? Perfect location? Cheerful and extremely helpful staff? Beauty and comfort of lobby? Great value for a big city hotel? Well, if this is what you want, you will find it here at LHotel! We were there on a Sunday and Monday nights. We did not have breakfast in the hotel because we thought $15 each was a bit steep, and our rate did not include it. (Just around the corner is a little restaurant, Notre Dame Restaurant, with delicious breakfast at a great price!) LHotel is just a couple of blocks from Notre Dame Cathedral, four or five blocks from the cruise port, four blocks from Rue St. paul, heart of restaurants and galleries and shops. This is your place to stay in Montreal!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Great boutique hotel with amazing customer service....only drawback is no HD channels..but who's watching tv! central location..artsy and great restaurants all around you...breakfast is optional..impressive art displays

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I selected this hotel for a girly weekend with a friend. We needed a place with valet parking and huge twin rooms! The room was quiet and nice to relax in after long walks around the Old Montreal. My bed was wide and comfy. The hotel was in a perfect location, so close to key attractions and many good restaurants. The reception staff were friendly and helped us book a great bus tour around the city. I loved the decor and the unique atmosphere. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LHotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 59 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montréal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.