We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay there again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Save Saved
You added Hotel St-Denis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 164 hotels in Montreal
ceresco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“would stay there again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

it was great- the hotel staff took care of all my concerns-very nice room for the money - would stay there again- i felt very safe- good walking distance to to desired attractions-glad to not see Mc Donalds on every corner

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    211
    60
    13
    3
See reviews for
51
145
55
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Like so many hotels of this type around the world, the St.Denis pulls off hotel keeping exceptionally well.
As others have said, it's small; located in an 'edgy' part of town; staffed by, seeming, amateurs (they all seem like they're pulling a shift between lectures @ UQAM, judging by the textbooks they read!).
By this I mean not the identikit types at the main stream hotels. They all knew what was what. The sum total is – it all works and works well.
One feature that seems to be overlooked is the enormous cellar (think Liverpool Cavern) which is a great place to chill.
The only problem we encountered was the night-time carousing from the alley below our window (109). This was, in order – a road crew dismantling a stage set for a band that had been playing in the venue next door; drunks/panhandlers screaming abuse at each other and lastly, a very noisy and enthusiastic amorous encounter.
Otherwise, a really great place to get a feel for the city.

Room Tip: Not 109!! Try for one as high as possible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night and really enjoyed it. The location was excellent in the Latin Quarter and a short walk to Old Montreal. There were plenty of restaurants nearby. We felt very safe and comfortable here and will definitely return. It was pretty easy to drive to coming off the Jacques-Cartier Bridge.

We splurged and got the jacuzzi suite which was well worth it. The view out of our window wasn't great, but the room was exceptionally clean and modern. We booked in advance directly through the hotel website, got a discount and the total bill came to $179 cdn, which included parking ($16) and all taxes.

The hotel does not have a lot of amenities, but the rooms come with a refrigerator, coffee pot, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and free high speed internet.

The service was very good and employees helpful with any questions about restaurants, shopping or anything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is centrally located at Berri UQAM. The Metro station is only 1 block away, and there are many restaurants in the vicinity. It is within walkable distance to Old Town, Chinatown, Sainte Catherine, and even Mont Royal.

Rooms are well-sized and clean. There were a few small problems such as sinks that don't drain properly etc, but nothing major. TV was a huge 40" LCD, very nice touch.

Staff were polite and efficient. They were also ready to answer any questions or entertain any requests. The staff made a mistake with one request that I made; I was given free breakfast for it. A hotel that tries to right things.

Room facing street was not that noisy, as some have indicated. I didn't hear anything as the sound of the air conditioning masked everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The room was what I expected. Parking was easy and just around the corner. You are able to park in front of hotel for 15 min to unload your luggage. Very central and rooms were clean. Chain on the blinds fell off when I tried to use it so I had to roll the blinds up and down manually. We did not have a fridge but we were provided one when we asked. No go view from the room.

Room Tip: Room at the upper back of the hotel was quiet. No breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on this website and the proximity to Old Montreal and I have to say that we were not disappointed. The service was good. Checking in was a breeze. The room was nice and clean. The area surrounding the hotel was quite dodgy though and smelly. Parking was $16 for 24 hours so get ready to walk if you want to maximize the parking fee. Good thing it was pretty close to Metro stations and Old Montreal. Close walk to restaurants and night life too. Overall a very nice time and I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: rooms away from the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#31 Business Hotel in Montreal
#45 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St-Denis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.