We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and walking distance to Old Montreal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St-Denis to your Saves list
Hotel St-Denis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Lancaster, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and walking distance to Old Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night and really enjoyed it. The location was excellent in the Latin Quarter and a short walk to Old Montreal. There were plenty of restaurants nearby. We felt very safe and comfortable here and will definitely return. It was pretty easy to drive to coming off the Jacques-Cartier Bridge.

We splurged and got the jacuzzi suite which was well worth it. The view out of our window wasn't great, but the room was exceptionally clean and modern. We booked in advance directly through the hotel website, got a discount and the total bill came to $179 cdn, which included parking ($16) and all taxes.

The hotel does not have a lot of amenities, but the rooms come with a refrigerator, coffee pot, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and free high speed internet.

The service was very good and employees helpful with any questions about restaurants, shopping or anything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    236
    67
    14
    3
See reviews for
58
161
61
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is centrally located at Berri UQAM. The Metro station is only 1 block away, and there are many restaurants in the vicinity. It is within walkable distance to Old Town, Chinatown, Sainte Catherine, and even Mont Royal.

Rooms are well-sized and clean. There were a few small problems such as sinks that don't drain properly etc, but nothing major. TV was a huge 40" LCD, very nice touch.

Staff were polite and efficient. They were also ready to answer any questions or entertain any requests. The staff made a mistake with one request that I made; I was given free breakfast for it. A hotel that tries to right things.

Room facing street was not that noisy, as some have indicated. I didn't hear anything as the sound of the air conditioning masked everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The room was what I expected. Parking was easy and just around the corner. You are able to park in front of hotel for 15 min to unload your luggage. Very central and rooms were clean. Chain on the blinds fell off when I tried to use it so I had to roll the blinds up and down manually. We did not have a fridge but we were provided one when we asked. No go view from the room.

Room Tip: Room at the upper back of the hotel was quiet. No breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on this website and the proximity to Old Montreal and I have to say that we were not disappointed. The service was good. Checking in was a breeze. The room was nice and clean. The area surrounding the hotel was quite dodgy though and smelly. Parking was $16 for 24 hours so get ready to walk if you want to maximize the parking fee. Good thing it was pretty close to Metro stations and Old Montreal. Close walk to restaurants and night life too. Overall a very nice time and I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: rooms away from the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Don't expect a palace, by any stretch of the imagination. As we approached at 10.00 pm after a long journey by bus, we got rather a shock from the exterior of the hotel, wondering if we had made a mistake. However, once inside we found a very comfortable place to stay, right in the heart of the action of Montreal city. The old town was an easy walk, as was the Latin Quarter, the metro and the bus station (connecting to the airport and other destinations). It all depends what you want from your stay in Montreal. If you want very clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price with easy access to everything you would want to see, good service and information from the staff and nothing else, this is the hotel for you. Tip - the restaurant for breakfast next door is really good value, varied choice, excellent service and nice food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Basic hotel. Very clean and well maintained with a friendly helpful staff. Coffee pot in room, no fridge or microwave. Ice machine in lobby. Good location on Rue St. Denis and Rue St. Catherine, by U. of Quebec. Many restaurants of varying ethnicities on Rue St. Denis. We don't spend much time in the hotel room other than to wash and sleep, so it worked out very well. It is also close to the bus stop to the airport. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I found this hotel thru Tripadvisor.
We love staying at locations that others may feel are not like the named brands.
This hotel is located in downtown Montreal, maybe not to the liking of some, but we loved the location. You have shops and many choices of dining next door and others just a couple of blocks away. The staff was outstanding, answered our many questions, offered advice of tours and dining. This is a old building and you can feel the history when you walk thru the front door. I understand this was constructed after WW1 to house the returning troops. Also had other uses, but was turned into this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think you could make a bad choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#41 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St-Denis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.