We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St-Denis to your Saves list
Hotel St-Denis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just got back from Montreal and needed 2 rooms for 3 nights. For the first time travelling with our three teenage sons, we got a room large enough that they weren't tripping over each other, and 3 real beds- no cot! What a pleasure! Our room was spacious with a large king bed. The hotel is on the last block of a very cool student-filled area with loads of little restaurants- its just at the edge of the 'hood but no problem. 2 blocks from a great Metro with connections everywhere. Front desk was pleasant. When you are in Montreal there is too much to do to stay inside a hotel- but this one is clean and reasonable. Will definitely stay there again.

Hint: We booked through Venere.com and were able to make last-minute changes of dates with no penalty. Yay!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    242
    67
    14
    5
See reviews for
61
164
64
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanjing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

very convenience to connect YUL by taking 747 and getting-off at Berri Terminal.
Room clear and comfortable, especially for 1-2 visitors.
Metro (Berry-UQAM) nearby (20 meters), very fast connection to the whole city underground.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a basic, clean hotel (like noted in many postings). There is someone at the front desk at all times - nice and attentive people. Very helpful as well. The room we had was a bit strange (old building) and for a family of four yet ample space. We were towards the middle of the building so we did not experience street noise issues. The shower and the sink/commode were in separate rooms/odd locations - seems like a retrofit to an old room. The sink/commode was small - just enough room for one person. TV/cable box were old and cumbersome to operate. This is just a description - not that we care to watch TV while traveling. If you care for clean, affordable, well located place, this is it. Metro station is just around the corner, walking to Vieux Montreal area is very doable - 20-25 minutes (can be a challenge with people with impediments). Via train station is close by - taxi ride was below 20USD. Pack light and compact.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was a great hotel. The price was fantastic for a weekend getaway. The room was very clean and spacious. The floors were a laminate hardwood which was much preferred to carpet. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone.
The locations was central for site seeing and shopping, metro, etc. the weekend staff were very pleasant and helpful!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have stayed here for three annual consecutive Osheaga weekends... and a few "getaway" weekends, too. This hotel fills up quick... so you need to book early, too!

The rooms are clean, spacious, and all-around good! The front desk staff has been always helpfull, and outgoing (it has been the same guy... and he is great).
It's in an older, yet renovated, building and you have to deal with the "quirks" of building. If your room is facing St. Denis... you WILL hear all of the street noise... until 2-3-4AM. Especially on weekends. Also (on every occasion)... hotel cleaning staff will start vacuming, and cleaning rooms around 8am. So... it the street party keeps you up until 4Am... and the cleaning crew wakes you up at 8AM...................... this probably isn't the place for "sleep". The hotel cleaning staff is "obnoxiously" LOUD too.... which is my biggest "pet-peeve" at this place.

There is "limited" parking. This area is, also, notorious for car break-ins. (TRUST ME... on this one! Seriously!) The hotel will charge you for parking.... but park elsewhere. The underground Grande Biblioteque, has seemed to be the safest... but add another $12 CAD to your expenses!

Anyways... It's a good hotel! It depends on what yoy are looking for... and your expectations.

Room Tip: Any rooms fronting Rue St. Denis.... are NOT quiet during the "weekend hours". Cleaning st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I say that only in that it's not part of a chain, or a 40 story mega-hotel...

.. but other than that, it's top of the line, as far as quality, service, staff, rates and location !

I've recently had to start going back to Montreal more regularily these past few months and this hotel has become an even better deal now, than it was when I'd last went there about 5 years ago. With the recent renovations, completely (and very nicely !) redone rooms, hardwood floors and so on, the place just looks, and is, superb and is very comfortable to say the least.

The location is as central as can be, just a minute's walk from the main subway station (which can then get you anywhere in the city in a flash) and loads of very good and varied restaurants, bars, clubs, concert venues, parcs (you name it) within a stone's throw of the hotel.

But despite it being located so "centrally", worry not, it's on one of the more quiet blocks in the area.

All the staff is very curteous and helpfull, notably, from my experience, Nancy and Oriana on housekeeping, Sebastien at the front desk and the manager, Catherine.

The only bad point ? My not being able to go there more often !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as I wanted us to have a different experience from staying at Vieux-Montreal for our last 3 nights. This hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and it is centrally located. Albeit the Plateau and Quartier Latin aren't for us, it was nice to have lots of restaurants and shops located just steps from the hotel.

My only complaint is the noise from the Rue St. Denis. We like to sleep with the windows open to let the cool air in, and, as clubs let out at 3am, it sounded as though there was some kind of riot outside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#39 Family Hotel in Montreal
#48 Business Hotel in Montreal
#50 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St-Denis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.