We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Establishment!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Save Saved
You added Hotel St-Denis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Establishment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have stayed here for three annual consecutive Osheaga weekends... and a few "getaway" weekends, too. This hotel fills up quick... so you need to book early, too!

The rooms are clean, spacious, and all-around good! The front desk staff has been always helpfull, and outgoing (it has been the same guy... and he is great).
It's in an older, yet renovated, building and you have to deal with the "quirks" of building. If your room is facing St. Denis... you WILL hear all of the street noise... until 2-3-4AM. Especially on weekends. Also (on every occasion)... hotel cleaning staff will start vacuming, and cleaning rooms around 8am. So... it the street party keeps you up until 4Am... and the cleaning crew wakes you up at 8AM...................... this probably isn't the place for "sleep". The hotel cleaning staff is "obnoxiously" LOUD too.... which is my biggest "pet-peeve" at this place.

There is "limited" parking. This area is, also, notorious for car break-ins. (TRUST ME... on this one! Seriously!) The hotel will charge you for parking.... but park elsewhere. The underground Grande Biblioteque, has seemed to be the safest... but add another $12 CAD to your expenses!

Anyways... It's a good hotel! It depends on what yoy are looking for... and your expectations.

Room Tip: Any rooms fronting Rue St. Denis.... are NOT quiet during the "weekend hours". Cleaning st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    207
    59
    12
    3
See reviews for
49
141
52
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I say that only in that it's not part of a chain, or a 40 story mega-hotel...

.. but other than that, it's top of the line, as far as quality, service, staff, rates and location !

I've recently had to start going back to Montreal more regularily these past few months and this hotel has become an even better deal now, than it was when I'd last went there about 5 years ago. With the recent renovations, completely (and very nicely !) redone rooms, hardwood floors and so on, the place just looks, and is, superb and is very comfortable to say the least.

The location is as central as can be, just a minute's walk from the main subway station (which can then get you anywhere in the city in a flash) and loads of very good and varied restaurants, bars, clubs, concert venues, parcs (you name it) within a stone's throw of the hotel.

But despite it being located so "centrally", worry not, it's on one of the more quiet blocks in the area.

All the staff is very curteous and helpfull, notably, from my experience, Nancy and Oriana on housekeeping, Sebastien at the front desk and the manager, Catherine.

The only bad point ? My not being able to go there more often !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as I wanted us to have a different experience from staying at Vieux-Montreal for our last 3 nights. This hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and it is centrally located. Albeit the Plateau and Quartier Latin aren't for us, it was nice to have lots of restaurants and shops located just steps from the hotel.

My only complaint is the noise from the Rue St. Denis. We like to sleep with the windows open to let the cool air in, and, as clubs let out at 3am, it sounded as though there was some kind of riot outside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights whilst at a conference at the Palais de Congres, which is about 20 minutes walk away. Nice hotel, I had a good room with coffee maker, complimentary coffee and free wifi. No breakfast available, but there are cafes very close by. Good location for Montreal sightseeing. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 days there. Great deal, good price, near good restaurants, walkable to lots of things to see and do.
We had a car and went to the Olympic park, up the tower, walked old town, took loads of pictures. A real good time.
Would recommend to all. Weather was changeable so either wore or carried layers. No problems with the French language, all knew English or we could make ourselves understood. Very friendly people, felt respected.



Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Ideally located in the middle of the various neighbourhoods you want to visit (old town, blvd st laurent, downtown, mont). Friendly staff and nice rooms. Would recommend for anyone wanting to explore the city and the night life.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights when in Montreal for the NASCAR races at beginning of August.

As it was an event weekend hotel prices were high. I found a great deal online for this hotel online. It was a lot cheaper than any other decent 3 star hotels in Montreal.

The room was large, basic but very clean. Perfect for our needs.

Hotel in a great location for main train station, bars and restaurants.

If you want a clean hotel in a great location for downtown Montreal at a reasonable price then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St-Denis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.