We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm, modern touches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le St-James to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Atlantic Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old world charm, modern touches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent a weekend at the St James as a mini holiday. This boutique hotel is in an old bank building on St James St. The building is from an era when this part of Montreal was the centre of commerce in Canada.

The feel of the hotel is very european. You leave your key at the front desk when you go out. The key is on a big weight, but the key itself is a high tech digital design, All of the small touches were done well. A spray bottle of Molton Brown scent for the pillows was a nice touch I had not seen elsewhere.

The bed was comfortable, the shower was great with lots of hot water under high pressure. The room was filled with current copies of an assortment of magazines. Very relaxing place to hide away for a few days. The staff quickly learns your name and addresses by it as you come and go. Nice touch. Makes the hotel feel like home.

The spa was small and private. Meals and drinks in the adjoining XO restaurant were premium priced for food that was good and service that was a bit off. At $40 per person for breakfast they really should offer you a second cup of coffee or to refill your glass of orange juice.

The connection to the Montreal underground city and Metro was convenient during rainy weather.

A new favourite hide away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    49
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
171
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We recently stayed in the Hotel Le St James for 2 nights and found it to be a most comfortable and welcoming experience. Supremely comfortable beds and a decent bathroom. Our only quibble was with poor lighting in the bedroom and slightly aggressive and noisy air conditioning. Staff were very pleasant and obliging in the main. Breakfast in the XO restaurant was plentiful and extensive, here again service was excellent. Dinner in that restaurant was more a case of style over substance and whilst pleasant enough, was an average experiece, but maybe we were simply too tired.
Apart from that, the hotel was a very good place to stay, and one which we would most certainly choose on any future visits to Montreal

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Enjoyed this hotel very much! Great rooms. Very comfortable beds/linen.
XO Restaurant is great! Had breakfast every morning and dinner one night. The food was well prepared and very tasty. Would stay here again! Great for business or pleasure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I travel a lot, and my taste is at the high end of the spectrum. The hotel's decor is exquisite, as others have stated. Very rich and European in design, and as bright and fresh as though a renovation had just been completed. It is the staff and their service that raises the hotel to a stratospheric level. The attentiveness I have experienced at the St. James is truly unparalleled. Sooo glad the Ritz didn't have availability! I can't wait to come back to the St. James.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was excellent. It seems that the entire hotel is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a jewel. So gorgeous........elegant.....tasteful.........amazing service. Everything about this hotel made it my favorite hotel ever!

We loved Montreal.........such a fabulous city with so much culture and beauty. The Hotel St. James was a perfect example of this.

Room Tip: Both rooms that we stayed in were wonderful. The entire hotel is the epitome of understated eleganc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with this trip, and this hotel definitely contributed to make me fall in love with him even more. it is an elegant romantic hotel...
i have to mention that their super clean and fancy towels and linens were amazing..., as well as the great amenities... (Gentlemen, girls like these details! lol.)
If you are looking for a very special romantic vacation in Montreal, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: upon arrival, we were informed that they had upgraded our room. who knows, maybe they say to all cus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a business event over a period of three days. It was terrific. The hotel staff was polite and accomodating. I kept them busy with faxes, scans and emails. The food was great in the dining room and the rooms were very clean with every detail looked after. Room Service was really great. It was a boutique hotel that provided 5 star service. At minimum on the same level as a four seasons hotel or St. Regis. But more intimate as it was smaller. I would never stay at a large chain hotel in Montreal again. Outstanding. M. Phillips, Houston Texas

Room Tip: You can ask for a suite which provides more room. The front desk is very accomodating to any need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#15 Family Hotel in Montreal
#30 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LHW, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le St-James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.