We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for the quality of rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le St-James to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Hollywood, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the quality of rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I loved the location, I liked the restaurant downstairs, however when Montreal gets really humid, this place has a week air conditioner. The rooms are not worth what they cost. The rooms are a real downer. I don't mind spending, when the room is worth it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    46
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
164
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent location. Near many resturants, the old port, shops, etc. If you enjoy historical hotels that have been restored with class ..... this is the place to stay. The attention to detail was evident in the care of the exterior of the building, the doorway, the lobby, the dining room, the guest rooms, spa and even the elevator. The staff was A+ all the way. MaryLou from the front desk promised we would be happy with our experience and we were indeed. Although the price may be a concern for some, our stay was excellent in every way. We were made to feel welcome the minute we arrived. We will be back!

Room Tip: Cleaning staff were outstanding. Room was always clean and organized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

From our initial greeting to our late checkout, this was a superb experience. Every staff member we encountered went above and beyond, often greeting us by name. The rooms were spacious
and elegant, the restaurant top shelf. We were visiting the area for a long weekend wanting to explore Old Montreal and this hotel was the perfect location. We were able to walk to the excellent restaurants and attractions the city is known for, without being too close to the crowds and congestion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at the St. James; the first was seven years prior, and it has retained its luster and continues to set the bar for service. The hotel is also one of the best examples of adaptive reuse to be found; the charm of the original bank building structure remains with modern thoroughly modern touches (the LED Do Not Disturb\Cleaning Requested lights) mixed in with carefully selected design details (a Double Slipper Claw foot Tub with lion paw feet in addition to a spa shower in striking dark marble). The hotel is boutique-sized, and each room is individually decorated; perfect for those of us who are not wild about corporate chain hotels, high end or no. It was truly a pleasure to return to the St. James to relax after a day spent sightseeing or with our family and friends.

Our suite contained an electronic fireplace, which was not functioning when we flipped the switch, so the staff went to work immediately to solve the problem, and was successful after 20 minutes of tinkering. (Although Montreal was warm during the day, we were able to use the fireplace at night to warm the room.) The staff was also able to obtain a rental car for us during a time when almost no cars were available--we had forgotten to make a reservation before our arrival and were taking a trip to the countryside the following day. The staff booked the car and had it delivered to the hotel the morning following our arrival.

One notable change was in the restaurant, XO; the sommeliers that made our first stay and dining experience so outstanding and were ranked #1 and #2 in the country are no longer there. We had the only faltering note in our stay at the restaurant with the tasting menu; the second and dessert courses were strong, but the rest seemed as if they needed more time in the lab. I also ordered room service at the end of our stay, and the food and service was back up to its previous high standard.

All in all we felt very well taken care of, and we’re looking forward to our next trip to Montreal—can’t imagine staying anywhere else but in the elegant comfort of Le St. James.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you want a hotel in a great location, with very nice rooms and helpful staff, and you don't mind paying, then this is the hotel to choose.
The hotel delivers on what is promises - a luxury experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family stayed at the St James last Fall and the visit was amazing. This was the first time we had traveled with our newborn and arrived by car with her and our sweet pup. As a traveler, who myself would have been surprised and a little skeptical to see a family pile out all together, I felt we were greeted with the warmest of welcomes and all of our "gear" was quickly whisked away to our room. What a relief! No only were the staff exceptionally welcoming on arrival, when we arrived to our (beautiful) jr suite there was a crib, dog bowl, dog bed and even doggie treats all set-up. The suite was spacious, exceptionally clean, comfortable, with a large marble bathroom with shower and tub. There was a sitting area with raised ceiling and all the furnishings were perfect.

We used all of the services from the gym, to in-room dining, to the spa. While the gym was very small, I was the only one using it and it had all of the main pieces of equipment I use (treadmill, and light free-weights, and mat). The spa experience was fantastic. It is located right next to the gym in an old vault. It too is small, very boutique feeling and personal. Instead of larger changing rooms that males or females share, they had a personal changing rooms with shower, etc. The massage was unbelievable. I recommend trying out the spa services if you are interested.

In room dining was fantastic. Prompt, courteous, and delicious.

If looking for: boutique, personal (but not overbearing) attention, luxurious comfort, superb service, and central location in Montreal THIS is the ONLY place to stay.

If looking for: large hotel/resort, anonymity, big lobby, hustle and bustle, scheduled activities and pool-- look elsewhere.

We have stayed at many of the other luxury hotel chains in Canada, such as the Fairmont, but felt that the experience at the St. James was far superior for the intimate feel, boutique environment, and personalized service. We can not wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: we stayed in the jr suite and loved it, but can not compare to other rooms in the hotel as this was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The desk staff was superb in all respects. The room was lovely and everything worked except the air-conditioning (on the hottest day of 2013, I think). The staff at first claimed it was just off for too long and needed some time ( 1 degree per hour which would have meant about 10 hours to fix), which we knew was just wrong. They finally agreed (the front desk pushed the engineers) and it did get fixed. The only other problem was that on our last morning (we needed to get to the airport, of course), the dining room waiter forgot we were there (a different waiter from the prior two mornings) and didn't notice that we had been waiting a half hour for breakfast that had been ordered while others were served (there were three other tables that had guests and two waiters, so the problem was just inattentiveness). When we finally got his attention, he found that the kitchen had forgotten the order. All kinds of apologies from the woman in charge of the dining room (who should have been walking the floor looking for problems). This kind of thing sometimes happens when dining rooms are less busy; the staff takes a mental holiday. The breakfast was, when it came, excellent--and we made our plane with plenty of time. Just an annoyance.

All that said, this was a very, very good hotel that just had a momentary lapse.

The old construction is great. Absolute quiet in the rooms, heavy doors and no sound of people walking overhead.

The exercise room is tiny, but okay for the basic good equipment (no free weights) if only one or two other people are in it. The spa rating is really for the exercise room. We only looked at the spa which is small, but well appointed. Make reservations well in advance, because it is not staffed full time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Luxury, Free in...
Show More
Ville-Marie
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#2 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
Ville-Marie
Ritz-Carlton Montreal
Ritz-Carlton Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Ville-Marie
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Roman...
Show More
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Ville-Marie
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Luxury, Free in...
Show More
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#14 Family Hotel in Montreal
#19 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the WorldRenowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. Le St-James was crowned the 2nd Luxury Hotel in Canada by TripAdvisor for 2012.Named the “most striking dining room in Canada” by the Travel Editor of The Toronto Star in February 2012, XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine created by celebrated chef Michele Mercuri. In the prestigious Hotel Le St-James, you will find the exclusive Le Spa where intimacy and privacy are respected. In the late 1800’s, Le Spa served as the Merchants Bank vault. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le St-James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.