We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class and comfort at Hotel Le St James” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le St-James to your Saves list
Hotel Le St-James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Class and comfort at Hotel Le St James”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

A classic feel. Fantastic staff! This is an wonderful place to say. The restaurant at the hotel is very nice. The concierge was very helpful in organizing a tour of the city, hair salon appointments, and club admission. In short not in expensive but well worth the money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    52
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
180
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived right in the middle of a huge snowstorm and were immediately taken with the warm and professional welcome we received. Never been so happy to have valet parking! The concierge, bellmen and front desk staff were all great - the concierge were so helpful in finding us great restaurant choices and reservations, the bellmen were extremely quick and professional, and the front desk staff made sure we were happily and well settled into our room. The room was fantastic - the bathroom perfect, the bed great. We didn't eat at XO but had drinks there each night and the bar staff were great as well. There is a small fitness center in the spa which worked out very well for us. We only had a couple of days but could easily have stayed here a week. We love the location - walking around Old Montreal and easy cab access to the rest of the City - and will certainly stay here again on our next trip. For us the staff of any hotel can make or break the experience and at Le St-James it's the main reason to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, General Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mr. j9289,

Thank you for sharing your appreciation of our accommodating and welcoming staff. Le St-James truly prides itself on the quality of its staff and the level of service provided.

It was a pleasure to host you in Montreal and we are thankful that you shared your experience with us after your stay. We would love that you consider staying with us again soon, and if so please feel free to contact me directly to make your reservation.

Sincerely yours,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
Vice President Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

What a treat to stay in such a beautiful and classy establishment. Everything was great. We arrived to valet parking, were checked in seamlessly and shown to our room. It was my birthday and they had upgraded us which was a lovely surprise. Our room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and big enough. Lovely big shower and a sizeable bath tub.

I had a massage while we were there in their spa. Oh my...what a stunning spa! So very special. I've been in a lot of hotel spas and this was one of the most impressive. Not big, but the level of detail and comfort and the quality of the facilities is quite something. It's not cheap, but then it shouldn't be...this level of comfort and pampering is worth it.

We had cocktails in the bar which was lovely. It was very quiet while we were there...time of the year I suspect, but can imagine it full and the atmosphere would be wonderful. We also had a fabulous breakfast the next morning. I highly recommend the eggs Benedict.

All in all, we had a fabulous stay and would definitely return for a special occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The architectural design of this hotel is 10 on 10! Food at the Hotel XO restaurant is absolutely amazing! I recommend to ask for the tasting menu. Great service at the St-James hotel!

The restaurant Chef is really good and service is awesome!

Room Tip: Take a package with the massage and spa option, the Hotel St-James spa is a must when staying at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've stayed at Le. St. James once before and this time was just as amazing! The whole experience from check in, to the bar service, to continental breakfast was top notch. The staff is responsive and professional but still friendly. My spouse has a deep tissue massage in the spa and he said it was great. Location is perfect on the border of Old Montreal and downtown is just a short walk or Square Victoria metro is close by. The hotel furnishings are old world luxurious and the hotel is spotless. Our only complaint was our room 808 had no bathtub but otherwise it has every amenity we wanted with classical music playing in your room when you arrive. We loved the library off the lobby where they will serve you drinks by the fire. Yannis the concierge booked our dinner at a local place and made everything so easy. We booked our room through Trip Advisor/Expedia and got a great deal with a spa certificate, welcome drink and continental breakfast included. Sign of a classy hotel - when we went to the bar to buy our welcome drink it wasn't limited but we could order anything we wanted. So, we had our welcome drink and stayed for another! Highly recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a bathtub if this is important to you as our room 808 did not have one. 808 al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear TesBerwyn.PA,

Greetings from Montreal!

Thank you for your kind review. We made sure to thank Yannis our concierge as well as our massage therapists at the Spa on your behalf.

Sincere regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP Sales and Marketins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great place. Great location. Great service. Went there for the weekend with very high expectations, and they met every single one of them. The XO restaurant at ithe hotel, and the spa also spectacular. Would not try lany oter place in Montreal.

Room Tip: There is only 1 elevator, so you may want to choose a lower floor in case you need to use the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Jorge P.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We sincerely hope we will get the opportunity to host you again soon!

Cordially,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a 3 night stay a few rainy weekends ago, but it was still lovely, and near shopping and restaurants. Just had to use the hotel umbrellas or taxis. Room was great; we had an executive suite, with a separate living room. Decor is warm and interesting; a nice change from slick and sleek. A modern look wouldn't suit the building. Bright white bathroom with heated floor had both tub and rainhead shower (with a glass door, not curtain like some have commented). It was nice to have a huge stack of towels, and plentiful hooks and bars to hang them on (often strangely lacking in hotels). Opening the heavy drapes in the room lets the heat circulate better, but there are still blackout blinds on the windows to allow a nice long sleep in the morning.
If you book through a Virtuoso travel agent you get a lot of perks: free full breakfast each morning, $50 dinner credit at XO (very good, and you can bring your bottle of wine back to your room), 2 welcome cocktails at bar (also yummy) and a spa credit. We made use of them all.
Couples massage was great, in a very nice stone walled room, with extremely comfy massage tables and warm cozy blankets. Still got appointment although we booked only the day before for a weekend afternoon. Gym was small but functional.
Staff was friendly, helpful and prompt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Digger 123,

We are very proud of your fantastic review and would like to sincerely thank you for choosing Hotel Le St-James during your last stay in Montreal. We made sure to share your kind words with our entire team.

We are looking forward to host you again!

Sincerely yours,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#25 Family Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le St-James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.