We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury & Superb Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le St-James to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Berwyn, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Luxury & Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've stayed at Le. St. James once before and this time was just as amazing! The whole experience from check in, to the bar service, to continental breakfast was top notch. The staff is responsive and professional but still friendly. My spouse has a deep tissue massage in the spa and he said it was great. Location is perfect on the border of Old Montreal and downtown is just a short walk or Square Victoria metro is close by. The hotel furnishings are old world luxurious and the hotel is spotless. Our only complaint was our room 808 had no bathtub but otherwise it has every amenity we wanted with classical music playing in your room when you arrive. We loved the library off the lobby where they will serve you drinks by the fire. Yannis the concierge booked our dinner at a local place and made everything so easy. We booked our room through Trip Advisor/Expedia and got a great deal with a spa certificate, welcome drink and continental breakfast included. Sign of a classy hotel - when we went to the bar to buy our welcome drink it wasn't limited but we could order anything we wanted. So, we had our welcome drink and stayed for another! Highly recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a bathtub if this is important to you as our room 808 did not have one. 808 al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear TesBerwyn.PA,

Greetings from Montreal!

Thank you for your kind review. We made sure to thank Yannis our concierge as well as our massage therapists at the Spa on your behalf.

Sincere regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP Sales and Marketins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    52
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
178
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great place. Great location. Great service. Went there for the weekend with very high expectations, and they met every single one of them. The XO restaurant at ithe hotel, and the spa also spectacular. Would not try lany oter place in Montreal.

Room Tip: There is only 1 elevator, so you may want to choose a lower floor in case you need to use the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Jorge P.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We sincerely hope we will get the opportunity to host you again soon!

Cordially,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a 3 night stay a few rainy weekends ago, but it was still lovely, and near shopping and restaurants. Just had to use the hotel umbrellas or taxis. Room was great; we had an executive suite, with a separate living room. Decor is warm and interesting; a nice change from slick and sleek. A modern look wouldn't suit the building. Bright white bathroom with heated floor had both tub and rainhead shower (with a glass door, not curtain like some have commented). It was nice to have a huge stack of towels, and plentiful hooks and bars to hang them on (often strangely lacking in hotels). Opening the heavy drapes in the room lets the heat circulate better, but there are still blackout blinds on the windows to allow a nice long sleep in the morning.
If you book through a Virtuoso travel agent you get a lot of perks: free full breakfast each morning, $50 dinner credit at XO (very good, and you can bring your bottle of wine back to your room), 2 welcome cocktails at bar (also yummy) and a spa credit. We made use of them all.
Couples massage was great, in a very nice stone walled room, with extremely comfy massage tables and warm cozy blankets. Still got appointment although we booked only the day before for a weekend afternoon. Gym was small but functional.
Staff was friendly, helpful and prompt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Digger 123,

We are very proud of your fantastic review and would like to sincerely thank you for choosing Hotel Le St-James during your last stay in Montreal. We made sure to share your kind words with our entire team.

We are looking forward to host you again!

Sincerely yours,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break at the Hotel St James to celebrate my birthday. I chose this hotel due to its rating on Trip Advisor and for its proximity to the historic area of the city. The hotel is aesthetically prettier and more historic than the other hotels. The other major chain hotels are all ugly, concrete towers thrown up in a less discerning era.
I was prepared to pay a little more for this as I like to treat myself from time to time. The ambience in the hotel was classic and made me feel special. I loved the library and enjoyed sitting by the fire after being outside in the chilly November weather.
Our room was rather disappointing, although I suppose it was one of the cheaper rooms. It was dark, small and cold, we fiddled with the thermostat but it didnt change the heat. Turns out the room temperatures are managed by a computer in the office and it showed the room as being within their acceptable level, so we were lumbered. The windows of the hotel were dirty and even opening the blinds didn't help light the room.
The bed was small and low and the decor was not to my taste, I mean, leopard print carpet .... really ?
Luckily the bathroom, in comparison was luxurious, with lovely heated marble floors. although only one small vanity basin and no bath. The shower was nice and large but with a cheap shower curtain which allowed water to escape onto the marble floor if you didn't arrange the shower. Nice Molton Brown products and lots of lovely towels.
For any woman of a certain age a little tip here, after having had my hair cut and styled for the trip I stepped into the shower and pulled the wrong shower dial. It was the rain shower instead of the body shower and I was drenched from far above and hair ruined !!! Totally my fault .... but should have had a video camera there to record my reaction !!
Room service was very expensive, so we went out for breakfast and I missed having my tea to start the day. Nice hotel staff and the room was well looked after by the chambermaids. The bar staff were a little more haughty and we were left sitting for a little too long for our night cap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Ms. Birthday Girl,

We were honoured that you chose the St-James to celebrate your Birthday. We are pleased that you appreciated the historical heritage of our building and that the aesthetical part of the hotel was to your liking. The exterior windows are cleaned religiously twice a month. We are in the center of Montreal where dust does accumulate at a quick pace. The interior of our windows are cleaned daily.
There are indeed a few rooms that have showers only. We do our best to provide bathtubs when available.
We hope we will have another opportunity to host you at Hotel Le St-James. Please feel free to contact me personnally and we will do our very best to make your next stay a memorable one.

Warm regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A truly sensuous pleasure. Outstanding friendly and well-groomed staff. Courteous. Loved the cool phone in room where you can control the lights Small gym. Wonderful massage treatments. Deep tissue massage was just that. Beautiful appointed rooms. Shower only in room but what a delight. XO restaurant is romantic and great wine selections. Love the warmth of this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room only had a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Pedro and Dixie,

On behalf of the entire team of Hotel Le St-James, thank you for your kind words! The pleasure was mutual. We certainly hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
VP Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very disappointing! The room was very small and dark. Light bulbs were out making it even darker. Reading was impossible. The thermostat was broken and our stay was unbearably HOT! Management was not responsive. We were not offered assistance with our luggage by the staff as we struggled with the steep, entrance steps. The Concierge was disinterested and gave us misinformation on more than one occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest,

We were saddened by your comments and they were well noted. Since, we have improved the lighting and intensified the voltage in the few rooms that were a bit darker.

We hope you will stay with us on another occasion and we will make sure your room is bright and airy.

With kind regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki,
VP Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was only here for a night but it was very good during that one evening. The whole hotel was nice and clean. Service was very friendly and helpful. I always like to use my computer and use the internet when I travel and wanted to make sure I could get wi fi set up. The lady at the front desk was very hepful in asisting me in these matters.I would recommend to a friend and come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear TrojanSoccer14,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Le St-James as your home away from home during your trip to Montreal!

We are very proud of our Housekeeping department. It warms our hearts you noticed their hard work! Please rest assured we have shared your kind compliments with them.

Thank you for your kind words about our front desk agent, we made sure to share your review with them as well.

We would be delighted to host you on your next business trip. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any reservation needs.

With sincere regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
Vice President Sales and Marketing
(514) 841-3111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#23 Family Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le St-James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.