We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than Intercontinental” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le St-James to your Saves list
Hotel Le St-James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Much better than Intercontinental”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Yesterday I moved from Intercontinental to Le St James and I like it here much more! It is smaller and the service here are so much better. The rooms are nicer, also. Hotel is next to the Intercontinental and has a good location for exploring the old Montreal on foot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    55
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
186
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located for exploring old Montreal. Lovely amenities, great food in the restaurant and excellent service. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is the hotel of Montreal where most performers that come to Bell Centre are staying. Just thinking that the last time the Rolling Stones came, they had reserved most of the hotel for them.
When you go there, you realize why. Everything is so clean, classy and luxurious that you immediatly fall in love with the hotel and the building. It's also very well located in old Montreal near downtown. Very expensive, but it's something, that if you can afford it, you need to do in a lifetime. You'll feel a bit of the life of the "rich and famous". Staff also deserve a medal for all of their attention.

Room Tip: A reservation is a must. Higher floors are also giving a better look out of Montreal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Mr. Andre F.,

Bonjour!

We are extremely flattered by all of your comments. Thank you for sharing your feeback with us and the Trip Advisor community.

The staff greatly appreciated the wonderful compliments.

Please come back to see us soon!

Warmest regards,

Hotel le St-James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i stayed her for 2 days during the jazz festival. I have been in many 5 star hotels and unfortunately very often the staff is arrogant , phony and conceded, not so here. Every staff member was friendly professional and Real. Because we liked the hotel so much we changed our dinner plans and dined at the xo. We were not disappointed. While my son and i liked the 6 course tasting menu my wife wasn't  that hungry. Normally the entire table has to have the tasting menu...not here. The waiter offered to have my wife order from the menu. Thats 5 star service.
I want to applaud the management for instilling that kind of customer focus without arrogant and i want to applaud the staff for listening. 
I wouldn't consider staying anywere else in montreal

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Peter K,

Bonjour!

Thank you for your very kind words. We were deligthed to hear that you had a wonderful experience in Montreal.

We are very proud to be a city with so many festivals. It is because of people like you that we've been able to keep the streets of Montreal lively and festive for so many years.

Please come visit us soon. We love to be your home away from home!

Sincerely yours,

Le St-James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived and throughout our stay this hotel was top notch! Old world charm at its best! The staff was wonderful! Extremely professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. We were treated as if we were both royalty and family. The room
Was spacious and white glove clean! One of my top 5 hotels I've ever stayed in. If we visit again, I will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

It was the best stay of my life! The hotel is in the heart of montreal!!! We were in the penthouse suite and the service was awesome! They think of everything! They served cookies and video games!! Everything was incredibely nice!! Thank you to all the St-James staff! :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Jean-NicoasB,

Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay with us. We will certainly share your words with our staff and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,
Le St-James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

The first thing we noticed when entering our room was how CLEAN it was. It even smelled clean. We stayed in the king bed suite, and it was very roomy. The hotel is literally less than 5 minute walk to Saint Catherinr street. the people at the service desk were friendly. They give you two water bottles and complementary coffee. The only thing is the valet parking is $30 a day. But your car is parked safely indoors an you have unlimmitted in and out privileges. The pool is small, but we didn't go to Montreal to swim, we went to shop and enjoy the night life. We will definitely stay here again. Very nice hotel and decent price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Venere, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le St-James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.