We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Hotel, not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le St-James to your Saves list
Hotel Le St-James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good Hotel, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Hotel Le St. James is a very good hotel in Montreal. It is not an excellent hotel. There were some very nice touches, some not so nice, and some where they just missed a bit. When I booked the hotel I mentioned more than once that it was our 30th Wedding anniversary. I have been away during other not so major anniversaries and ALWAYS received something from the staff. It would have been nice to get a bottle of champagne, some chocolates, flowers something that made it a personal experience for the guest. It is not that they had to, but in this class of hotel it should have been done. We had the package which included a continental breakfast in their upscale restaurant. We ordered coissants, taost and danish. After a 40 minute wait, the waiter came back embarrassed that we did not receive our breakfast and then reported sorry they just ran out of coissant!!! It was an awful breakfast of cold dry toast and coffee! This is from an upscale hotel!!! I have been fortunate enough to have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world and believe me the st. james was a dissapointment. When I told the front desk about the breakfast they were concerned, but that is it. I guess I have been spoiled, but if they did anything to make me feel better any little gesture I would have rated this hotel better. The rooms are nice, so is the bathroom, but the attitude has to be fixed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear claudia525,

It was a great pleasure hosting you at Le St-James during your recent trip to Montréal in celebration of your 30th wedding anniversary.

We were saddened and profoundly disappointed to hear that no amenity was provided upon your arrival to celebrate this special occasion. It is not in our practice or culture at Le St-James to disregard such momentous events, and we do apologize that the Hotel did not highlight your anniversary.

We hope to see you again soon! When you are ready to make your reservation please contact me directly, and we will indeed make sure your next trip is memorable.

We wish you an enjoyable Fall and hope to see you back in Montreal very soon.


Sincerely yours,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
Vice President Sales and Marketing
Hotel Le St-James
514-841-3111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    55
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
186
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Hotel Le St-James is such a pretty boutique hotel in a great area of Montreal--the old town. This was my first visit to Montreal (with a friend). The lobby area is lovely--with a gorgeous library-sitting room and a stylish bar in the restaurant. And there are some old-school touches at the Le Saint James, such as chocolates on the pillow at night and old-fashioned keys that you leave at the front desk when you go out.

But.

I do have two big complaints. First of all, the bloody sheet incident. I crawled into bed one night exhausted and didn't really look carefully at the bed. Until I noticed a blood drop on one side of the pillowcase and then on the other. And then saw there was fresh blood on the blanket (duvet cover) as well. In fact, there was a lot of blood on the bed! It must have been the housekeeper who had an accident during turn-down service? All I know is that I called the front desk to come change the sheets, and as housekeeping was not available at 2am, they sent the front desk clerk and another guy--neither of whom had ever made a hotel bed (they said). This was fine and got me through the night. Though I was VERY suprised that the hotel neither apologized nor gave me the night free when I spoke to them the next morning.

My second complaint is small--I think I got the handicapped room because there was no bathtub, just a shower with a long rail and a wooden bench in it (it definitely looked designed as a handicapped room). Water in the shower sprayed ALL over the bathroom, no matter what I did...quite a mess and not relaxing.

In the end, it was a fine hotel but they did not live up to their end of the bargain. For upwards of $400/night, there should not be bloody sheets!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a bathtub (non-handicapped room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeStJames, Director of Sales at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Ale3940,

On behalf of all the staff at Hotel Le St-James, please allow me to acknowledge your disappointment in the service you received during your recent stay with us.

We try very hard to make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We have taken into consideration all the comments you provided regarding the incident with the bed sheets, and wish to thank you for taking the time to share these comments with the Hotel. It is through guest feedback that we improve the St-James experience. We are currently examining this case in detail with our Housekeeping Manager and Staff.

Our Superior Room category indeed offers a marble walk-in shower, with no bathtub. Most of the Hotel’s Junior Suites do however provide both a glass walk-in shower and a separate deep-soaking bathtub.

We hope this will not reflect upon your next stay in Montréal and we would love to invite you back to stay with us. When you are ready to make your reservation please contact me directly, and we will indeed make sure your next trip is seamless.

We wish you an enjoyable Fall and hope to see you back in Montreal very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
Vice President Sales and Marketing
Hotel Le St-James
514-841-3111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We just stayed at the hotel for the second time and I am already booking a week-end in October.Aside from the fact that the hotel as well as the suites are beautiful,the service is unbelievable!!! Everyone from the front desk to the spa is incredibly nice. My experience at the spa was amazing( i definetly recommend the caviar facial),I felt like a princess.The staff at the restaurant(x0)are soooooooooo nice,service was amazing,very attentive!!! If you go you must ask for Samuel,he is extremely knowledgable and friendly.This definitely should be on your bucket list. We cannot wait to go back!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

What a wonderful, beautiful, small, extravagant hotel located in the heart of “Old Montreal”. A converted bank, turned into an exceptional property with all of the perfect finishing touches. The staff was well trained and helpful. Desk and Concierge services were excellent and attentive.
Suites were substantial, spacious, and well thought out. Sitting room was used throughout our stay, which is usually an overlooked space for us. Bedroom, bedding and extras, including European style turn down was well appreciated and enjoyed. The bath was exceptional with shower, full tub and “excessive” towels that my wife truly enjoys!!. My only complaint was their surcharge for wireless room internet which seemed unnecessary as you could access their wifi downstairs in the small reception room with their special code .. but which I found, also worked up in our room!
The XO Restaurant in the hotel was a wonderful, complete meal. Poached salmon and Orange Beef with wine were tremendous! We completely enjoyed the service and quality here.
In all, this is an excellent, complete hotel that caters to their guests with elegance and a style that many good hotels overlook or ignore on a regular basis. Definitely on my “return list”!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Impeccable, quiet, good service, excellent restaurant

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal area
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My wife and I celibrated our 35th wedding aniversary at Hotel Le St-James this Septemeber.

We have travelled extensively so it was a joy to stay at a Hotel so close to our home as we live in a suburb of Montreal. The Hotel has an "Amore Package" which includes a night in a beautifull room, a cocktail upon arrival, breakfast in the excellent restaurant XO, and a massage in their phenominal spa.

Check out their website, and if you have chance try Hotel Le St-James. By the way, the Hotel is located in Beautiful Old Montreal and was it was fun to re-connect and be tourists in our ownwith fabulous city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Okay, it's the most expensive hotel in Montreal but the service, the charm and the suites are just spectacular.

We booked using our Platinum AmEx card (you have to book online to get the benefits) and the benefits were great. 4pm check out. Check. $100 food/bev credit. Check. The best part was the upgrade to a suite. What an incredible room with 20 plus foot ceilings, a massive four post bed and a bathroom with 24 towels..gorgeous big seemingly brand new towels.

Suite 301 (the Maxwell Suite) is on the third floor and is ultra private. Only two rooms on the floor, both are suites. The room was very Paris feeling and the bathroom was enormous with everything again just perfect.

Downside...it's a super luxe five star hotel and the prices reflect that across the board. Our late night room service was very very good (veal steak, salmon, shrimp cocktail, massive onion soup, berries w/ cream) but it was half as much as our room for one night...again pricey but well worth it.

We had drinks in the bar - very charming servers and the bartender took our "requirements" for drinks and created two top notch cocktails. Savoy worthy even.

We had breakfast in XO - the service was good but not perfect. The food was good but again not perfect. Note to the kitchen...toast the muffin used in the Eggs Benedict or the muffin just turns into a soggy muffin.

The decor in XO, well, you'll either love it or hate it. It's eclectic without a doubt but does have a feel of 1989 just a bit. The changing colored lights are interesting but too prominent. The large screen TV's, that's just a big azz mistake if you ask me. They do not belong anywhere in the public's view when you're in such a fine hotel and restaurant. Dare I say...they just look tacky hanging on the wall. If an event requires them, bring them up from storage.

Overall - the people make the place and the room was delightful in a big grand way. You will know that it's something special the moment you walk in the front door.

Room Tip: Platinum American Express - Fine Hotels and Resorts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le St-James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.