We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not worth the money unless there's an exhibit going on” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montreal Botanical Gardens

Montreal Botanical Gardens
4101 Sherbrooke St. E | (Near Viau), Montreal, Quebec H1X 2B2, Canada (Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie)
+1 514-872-1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 239 attractions in Montreal
Type: Gardens
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located near Olympic Park, Montreal's huge botanical garden contains over 20,000 different plant species in 31 specialized gardens, including the largest Chinese Garden outside Asia and a Japanese Garden with a tearoom and fabulous bonsai collection. The Insectarium hosts an "Insect Tasting" in November and December.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ok but not worth the money unless there's an exhibit going on”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 NEW

This garden is beautiful. Wonderful rose garden. The Chinese garden and fish pond is nice as well but it is not worth the $19 per person charge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,385
    470
    91
    21
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

We aren't "plant people" but really enjoyed our time here. I worried at the beginning- the rose garden didn't really do it for me but once we wandered into the Chinese and Japanese gardens- WOW! Lots of very pretty pictures. Lots of little trails to meander on. Be sure to give yourself plenty if time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Lush Green Paradise In Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

My husband and I visited the Botanical Gardens intending to stay for a couple of hours, but ended up staying almost the entire day. The gardens are absolutely lovely. We are avid organic vegetable and fruit gardeners so we were particularly impressed with the extensive vegetable gardens. All of the grounds are beautiful with lots of benches and chairs throughout where you can sit and contemplate the wonder of all the greenery. One of my highlights is the group of wild boars that had been built out of (I think) twigs and mud! From a distance they look quite real and someone put alot of time and skill into making these! Another highlight was the insectarium. We were there on the 4th of July weekend so the insectarium building was very crowded and noisy with lots of kids. But aside from that, the collections of insects are amazing and the live displays of stick bugs left us marvelling at how clever nature is. There is a cafeteria style restaurant on the grounds where we got a nice, quick, reasonably priced lunch. I will happily return to the gardens for another visit next time I am in Montreal.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Japanese and the Chinese gardens were just beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

This is a must place for every visitor to Montreal. The Botanical Garden does a great job in keeping all its gardens in good condition. The Japanese and Chinese gardens was beautiful, we could not stop taking pictures. If you can go early, you would like to stay longer. A little expensive but worth the entrance fee.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Natural Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

I absolutely enjoyed my visit to the Botanical Gardens. There's so many beautiful plants, trees, flowers and wildlife to explore. Be prepared to walk a lot or take a quick tour via shuttle. The Botanical Gardens also has a small boutique/gift shop, a restaurant and a place to get ice cream or sorbet. I was able to watch a live performance by singer Marjorie Fiset who sung so beautifully. If you are ever in Montreal and the weather is really nice or need a place to relax and find peace of mind, you should visit!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montreal Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Montreal Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montreal Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Montreal Botanical Gardens to your Saves list