We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ice cream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muki

Muki
187 Place d'Youville, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2B2, Canada
+1 514-419-6799
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: Canadian
Description: MUKI is located at 187 Place d'Youville corner St-Francois Xavier across from the Pointe-a-Cailliere archeological museum.
Restaurant details
Description: MUKI is located at 187 Place d'Youville corner St-Francois Xavier across from the Pointe-a-Cailliere archeological museum.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The best ice cream/gelato in all of Montreal! The small shop has a great friendly owner who loves to chat. My wife loved the coconut, I was torn between espresso, chocolate, and hazelnut. All great choices. Visit this place!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    6
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stumbled upon this charming shop on a weekend visit. The ice cream was delicious and the owner was a delight. The cones were wonderful as well, very light and crispy. The ice cream is a bit pricey so would not make this a regular stop if I lived here, but was a very special treat. The triple cream and pistachio was heavenly. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummiest icecream and nicest owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The owner is extremely nice and very proud of his creations rightly so :-) I love the mango flavor during the summer which is fresh and absolutely real. In autumn he brought out another amazing flavor (wild strawberry) which is white in colour but when you put it in your mouth its like strawberry in your mouth (definitely no colouring added there). I would highly reccommend visiting this place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Ice cream, super chill owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went to this cute little ice cream/waffle shop with my girlfriend and best friend recently and I was pleasantly surprised by both the quality of the waffles, the freshness of the ice cream and the cordial attitude of the owner. For the location and the food you get, this place is actually quite cheap! The price listed include tax and since it's a self-serve shop, you don't really have to tip, which brings down the overall cost significantly. Personally, I find it way better than the over-hyped Cacao 70 in downtown Sainte-Catherine. Give it a shot, you won't regret it! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good enough, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent a warm day walking around the city and, by the time we got down near the Old Port, we were on the lookout for ice cream...not gelato, not soft-serve, but hand-scooped ice cream. When we saw Muki's advertisement for ice cream made on-site, we decided to give it a try. My husband chose espresso flavor, and I had vanilla and lemon. It was good, but we couldn't tell whether we were having ice cream or gelato. It lacked the rich, creaminess we were looking for. The taste was good (and the waffle cones were a nice treat), but it wasn't what we were looking for. In addition, it was considerably more than we are accustomed to spending. $10 for three very meager scoops of ice cream (and they were SMALL) is awfully steep.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muki also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Muki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.