We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bremner

Le Bremner
361 St. Paul East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1H2, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))
(514) 544-0446
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 4,419 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: Bonsecours
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This restaurant was great! The ambience is really lovely, it has really beautiful decor and then it has air conditioning units with really funny skater stickers on it that add character. All the syrups for the drinks are handmade and they have a special drink everyday - definitely worth a try. The oysters were fantastic. The sauces they brought with the oysters were some of the best I'd ever had. The food is very good - very seafood oriented. The dessert pancakes were so delicious and a definite necessity if you go to this restaurant. The service was impeccable, when we left we actually talked about how great the service was. The food is quite expensive - so be prepared for that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    41
    21
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

@Ryewit, Le Bremner is NOT a chain restaurant. It is owned privately by celebrity chef Chuck Hughes, who only owns one other restaurant, Garde Manger, in old Montreal.

Although you did not enjoy the ambiance of Le Bremner, it's unfortunate that the bulk of your review was not written in an objective manner. The loud music, for instance, is part of the mood of the restaurant. During my first visit to Garde Manger, our server told us the music is an electic mix because the staff chooses the playlists, and Chuck's desire is for his restaurants to project a "homey", "celebration", "house party" feel; as if the diner is part of their family, their crowd. This is also why there are no numbers on the exteriors of the buildings. It is unfortunate that your server did not inform you of this. I do realize that these elements combined for what was not an enjoyable experience for you, however this is the exact culture that this restaurant was designed to project - one that I personally love. Also, it is completely unrealistic to assume that an entire restaurant of people who are enjoying loud music would lower the volume to suit one patron.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I went to Le Bremner with several friends to celebrate a birthday. We sat upstairs in the terrasse. Initially, I thought it would be too cold to sit in a three season terrasse, but this was not the case. There were heaters and the temperature was perfect, in spite of the cold outside.

The ambiance.was great: eclectic music, live oyster bar and service were all excellent. We started with one of the signature drinks: a must have. Their drinks are awesome. The vodka and lemonade was incredible as was the signature drink (a combination of vodka, black tea and flavours which I cannot recall.)

We started with a platter of oysters of the day. There were two different types, each one quite distinct and FRESH. We also had the snowcrab kimchee and the scallop crudo chamoy aioli. Each appetizer was amazing: an inspired mixture of flavours and textures.

For the main course, I ordered the hot lobster sandwich with 63 degree egg. Yes, it sounds odd, but wow! It was the best sandwich I've ever had. We also ordered the spicy tomato salad. This was a hit with everyone.

Our waitress, Maude was great. She was very knowledgeable about the menu, was friendly and accommodating. Chef Danny greeted us when we walked in. He came by the table to flambe the baked Alaska - a really thoughtful touch. Kudos to him for creating such an inspired menu.

Yes, it's expensive. But, it is truly a wonderful experience to dine at Le Bremner. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't go if you're a picky eater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great restaurant, great staff, very interesting food however if lamb's neck, lambs heart or horse tartar are not your cup of tea you will still have to be willing to experiment. Even with picky eaters we were able to find good things to eat. Desserts were a bit disappointing but apps made up for it. One comment---when a guest says "can I have some butter" the waiter should NOT say "we don't have any butter". Thats a little too precious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a reservation made weeks earlier from out-of-town. The cab driver dropped us on the street near the restaurant and then the search began. There is no signage, the street number (361) is the same colour as the stone, and the location is a semi-basement! We finally found it and were rewarded with an outstanding dinner experience. Next time we will know where we are going!
The server (Maude) greeted us, took the drink order and then moved to a discussion of the menu. We were pleased that we could split a number of the dishes thereby trying about eight items.
Memories from the oysters, scallops ceviche, halibut gravlax, cornbread and shrimp, clams and hake, and fried quails that will convince you to never eat KFC again!
I have considered recommending to the restaurant that at a minimum they put up brass numbers to make it easier to find.
However they must have thought that the anonymity was a plus. If you find it you will never forget it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bremner also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Le Bremner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bremner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.