We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was told to go to Starbucks” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Plume

Cafe Plume
123 ave du Mont-Royal Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2T 2S9, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #621 of 4,562 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Healthy
Restaurant details
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I was told to go to Starbucks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I’m a writer and like to linger in coffee shops with my laptop, taking in the aroma of espresso while trying to find my inspiration. When I found Café Plume, I thought I had found a gem – great food and ambiance. Unfortunately I was tactlessly told today that if I wanted to linger, I would need to do that over more than a coffee and croissant (my purchase last week). It was also suggested that if I wanted to go somewhere to “work” I ought to go to Starbucks. Today I made a point to buy more food to “validate” my stay but I felt watched, so I made a point to display my empty salad bowl and pastry bag. Hardly an atmosphere for inspiration so I think I will just take the suggestion I was given and go to Starbucks from now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Neighbourhood Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Café Plume is another of the new crop of places which have bloomed in Montréal in the last 18 months or so. It was recommended to me by Marie-Ève of the Pikolo Espresso Bar and is best described as a neighbour café. Located on the eastern edge of the plateau area of Montréal, opposite Parc Jeanne-Mance, it’s a laid-back, relaxed and friendly place with coffee that’s every bit as good as its setting. Throw in a generous provision of power outlets and free wifi and you have the sort of place that makes you want to move in next door (or, in the case of Café Plume, move into one of the flats above the shop). Or maybe just move into Plume itself!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvi, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice coffe, nice place, and great music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

On a rainy day, I went into La Plume : very nice coffees, Kusmi teas, comfy seats and great music (which is very important I think). I started with a Cortadito, really tasty. So enjoyable to seat there, with your coffee, your book... And moreover, on Mont Royal Street, near the park ! Excellent !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

perfect place to stop in for coffee after a run up Mt-Royal. Friendly staff, delicious coffee, and great sandwiches. Finally, good coffee in the neighbourhood!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I'm calling: best coffee in Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I'm posting this from the cafe now (which has since shortened its name to the more comprehensible Cafe Plume).

IMO their Verve coffee really is the best in Montreal. It's the Santa Cruz, and comes in variety of tastes. Other "progessive" coffees are too uniformly acidic and lemony, imo. Verve is just right, and as far as I know, no other places serves it here.

Their baked goods and such are also the best. Great location, wifi. Nice atmopshere. Bright and sunny, facing Jeanne Mance Park.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Plume also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Plume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Plume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.