We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on a smaller scale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau St-Marc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau St-Marc to your Saves list
Chateau St-Marc
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1189 - 1193 St-Marc, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2E4, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Luxury on a smaller scale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel had everything. Loved the European decor/style. The owner Abraham was terrific in that he doesn't rest until you are happy and have everything you need for a most pleasant stay.He was always accessible too! He certainly pays attention to the smaller, yet important details. (i.e., there was chilled wine and glasses with a note for my bday when we returned home). There were plenty of lush towels and the bed was amazingly comfortable, the best hotel bed ever; didn't want to get out of it. The rooms were nicely decorated, a good size with plenty of room and spacious armoires. Bathrooms were gorgeous, spacious and the hot tub was a plus after walking around the city for 5 hrs.
The breakfast floor/area was nice. Continental breakfast was sufficient and coffee delicious.

It was very quiet too; never heard our neighbors. Also,the hotel alarm system was very safe.

A plus for us was Abraham's dog who we fell in love with! We got to visit with him at breakfast every morning.

All staff were friendly and most accommodating.
It was amazing how spacious the accommodations were configured in a smaller building.

We will definitely be back!

Frank and Michelle

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
9
29
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was exactly what we were looking for ! Really good service, super clean,great value, there was an audio system all over our cute mini-suite, perfect to pre-drink before going out ! 10/10 Would go back anytime !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed two nights at this quaint little gem.
Staff very friendly and always making sure that everything is ok. Rooms are nice and quiet, and breakfast is ok.
Every time we came down the stairs, someone was there to see if we needed something.
Room was very clean, bed extremely comfortable, bathroom very nice also. After spending a day of walking around downtown in a snowstorm, the wonderful bathtub was just what the doctor ordered.
Location is perfect, close to malls, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3F, it was great, quiet, cozy, comfortable, nicely decorated and close to the brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I called the hotel to book a reservation and the gentleman who answered the phone was rude and asked me to call back in a couple of hours as they were "very busy" I explained I was calling long distance and would prefer to make my reservation now but he was unwilling. I am appalled that your reservations department would refuse to even take a reservation or inquire as to the dates of my reservation. You call this a 5 star hotel and this is how you treat people trying to book?! This is ridiculous.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booked this hotel as a luxury family treat culminating a fall foliage viewing trip to Quebec. I did not consider the cost as too high when booked as many reviews ranked this hotel as 5 star. They must be family member rankings. First, this is more B&B than hotel. The staff,who live upstairs, were exceptionally nice and helpful. This made saying something negative about this hotel difficult. The hotel presents artist renditions as photos of the property. These rendentions are beautiful but not even close to accurate. The decor here was extremely tacky and renovations were strange and appear to have been done in a "do it yourself" fashion. The bathrooms were very nice but strange with showers only. The plumbing in the showers was intended for a tub & shower combination. There was a tub spout about 10 inches from the shower floor. Good for rinsing feet I guess or the wrong type of fixture was purchased & installed! On the wall, near the floor next to the toilet was an electrical plug outlet? It did not appear to be a GFI plug. Not sure this could pass code. The room furniture was large and appeared expensive but there was too much of it. This made it difficult to move around the rooms. There were tripping hazards everywhere. Ideal for a lawsuit in the U.S. The floors of each room were on slightly different levels and we all tripped several times without falling. There were throw rugs everywhere we all tripped on them too. My wife tripped & fell on one of these rugs striking her head on one of the too many pieces of furniture. The beds were comfortable but over one bed and in the living room there were large, gaudy, cheap, chandeliers. Attached to the ceilings throughout there were some kind of decorations made of wire and rhinestones that glowed in the dark. Extremely Tacky! The bed in the other bedroom was actually a "Murphy Bed". It was comfortable and surrounded by large wooden drawer filled cabinets.The light switch for this room was located behind one of these cabinets. We had to move the cabinet from the wall to access the light switch. This switch controlled six (yes 6) mini chandeliers located above the bed. (more Tacky). After an unfavorable review (2011) the manager claimed the hotel was under renovations that were not completed. On our Oct.2012 visit still not completed.The claimed amenities were there including an esspresso machine but wires were hanging all over in the kitchen. There was a picture hung on the wall hiding a large hole.The thing I disliked the most was being decieved by non photo illustrations and false high mark reviews. I was duped and overpaid in advance for this Motel 6 level accomodations. I will say the staff was very friendly and accomodating but this place is being falsley presented. BEWARE OF FALSE REVIEWS! Travelerbrit review was right on accurate.

Room Tip: If after this review if someone decideds to stay here DO NOT INCLUDE THE $17.50 per person breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abef_11, General Manager at Chateau St-Marc, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello Sir
We are sincerely sorry about your negative experiences. Here some of the answers to your concerns:
1) All plugs in all bathrooms are GFI maybe you were not able to see the turn on/off button in the middle. We respect all security standards. For more information on GFI plugs please google them on the net.
2) The plumbing is all done by certified plumbers the shower spout comes all in the same box with the faucet and shower head, like you saw the building was originally constructed in 1870 and space does not allow to put a tub in some of the bathrooms. Some people of different religion find spout useful.
3) All photos are all real time photos and no artist tampered with it to make them more attractive. We dont run a fashion/decoration magazine.
4) The cheap chandeliers you mentioned are all imported from Italy’s best Murano Chandelier plant called Alessandro&Alessandro in Murano Italy which in many people's opinion are equivalent to Armani in the clothing business. If you like more information please contact us and we will be happy to email you brochure about the company.
5) We are sorry for your experience with the carpets. This the first a guest complains to us about carpets.
6) The syrup you had is organic available in most grocery stores we have another type of syrup and all you had to do is ask for another one if you don’t like this one and by the way all the hot items on the breakfast menu are prepared by GFS Inc. a highly reputable company that respects all food safety standards other great hotels and famous restaurants rely on their quality and safety.
7) All reviews are posted by Hotel visitors without absolutely having any kind of ties whatsoever with any one of us and most of the guests expressed their honest opinion. We don’t deceive our guests that would be suicidal for any organization.
8) The Hotel staff don’t live upstairs in fact we don’t have any space for them on any of the upper floors.
9) The 5 stars is not of our making but done by reputable organizations.
10) To compare us to motel 6 is unfair and I am not trying to undermine Motel 6 it is a very good chain with a great value some people do not want or not interested in luxury then Motel 6 or equivalent is made for them. Other people may want to experience or appreciate complete kitchens with very luxurious kitchen appliances and amenities, marble bathrooms , very fine furniture and art pieces.
We are sorry again and we hope to see you again as we do with all guests.
Regards
Abe Farah
Manager/Director
Chateau St Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Enjoyed everything about this small boutique hotel. Room was gorgeous, very tastefully done, breakfast exceptional, staff extremely helpful and friendly. Walking distance to downtown, and old Montreal. So perfectly fitting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My mother always said "if you can't say anything nice don't say anything at all"........and so I have stewed over writing this review for the past week. I resisted reading other reviews when I returned from four nights here with my boyfriend because I know he had read GREAT Reviews which is why he booked it! But today I took a peek......and I am flabbergasted at some of these reviews! Who on earth wrote them??? He booked a Boutique Hotel....we got the "Presidential Suite" no less.....it said it on the door!!!! Which President ever stayed here??? The President of the Montreal Hoarders Club? From the moment the front door was opened we were exposed to cheap junk everywhere. There were Homegoods bits of metal stuck to all the ceilings. Our room was stuffed with cheap bits. The patio hidden by layers of cheap curtains was totally unfinished. Other than this door there was no other outside light. I will post photographs to prove! It was dreadful. The only positives were the bed was large and comfy, bathroom nice and clean (but again stuffed with bits everywhere....) and the lady who greeted us pleasant. Apart from that? It wasn't cheap and so I feel compelled to write this. I don't like "knocking" anyone who is making a living.....but this was just a total disaster. It certainly was the low point in a fantastic weekend in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abef_11, General Manager at Chateau St-Marc, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your stay at our hotel property. We are sorry if you were not satisfied with your stay. We are currently building new rooms and suites in the back of the property to create bigger room sizes for a more enjoyable experience, as you witnessed when you were here. In our plans we are also building a new solarium on the roof. The construction is ahead of schedule and we expect to finish very soon and can’t wait for our guests to enjoy the new rooms and suites!
Sincerely,
Abe Farah
Manager
Chateau St Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau St-Marc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St-Marc

Address: 1189 - 1193 St-Marc, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2E4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau St-Marc 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau St-Marc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau St-Marc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.