We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but noisy+++++” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Filet

Le Filet
219 Avenue du Mont-Royal Ouest, Montreal, Quebec QC H2T 2Y6, Canada (Parc du Mont-Royal)
+1(514) 360 6060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Filet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 4,416 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Parc du Mont-Royal
Cross street: Esplanade
Transit: Bus: 80, stop corner Mt-Royal and Parc avenue. Bus: 97, stop corner Mt-Royal and Esplanade. Metro: Mt-Royal + bus 97 toward the west. BIXI station
Description: In a sparkling universe entirely dedicated, in sense and spirit, to the oceans and their treasures, we invite you to indulge with us in some moments of joy. Dans un univers chatoyant, dedie, tant par les sens que par l'esprit, a la mer et a ses condiments, nous vous convions a vivre avec nous des moments de joie.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food but noisy+++++”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Le filet offers great food, there's no doubt about it. The decoration is also outstanding. The problem is definitely the noise which is absolutely excessive. If you can get a table on the small terrace, that would limit the noise level but you end up with the heavy car traffic on Mont Royal. It's unfortunate that the owners don't realize that customers will try once, enjoy the excellent food, but may never return because of the decibel level.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    45
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Less impressed with our second visit!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were 7 for this visit, and were given an early reservation to accommodate our "group". However, restaurant was not fully booked. Waiter pushed us to order 3 plates of the same item and this did not allow us to taste many dishes. And we had to accommodate a food restriction. Felt rushed and restricted.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
“Wow!! I think I had a food orgasm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

What a great meal at Le filet. It may be the best meal I have had in years. I travel to many places around the world but the flavors in all the courses were fantastic. This is a food lovers paradise. Each course was just outstanding. It is on the expensive side but well worth the cost. The only negative was the noise level and it was a little warm inside the restaurant. Next time I would try to get a table outside but I would highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Highlight of our Montreal Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went there as part of our wedding anniversary trip and it was the best choice we made while in Montreal. From the oysters to the snapper, the octopus to the lamb and finally the chocolate torte dessert... everything was served fresh, with impeccable timing and perfect attentiveness. We would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A definite 4.5 + !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

First time in this little restaurant that has been getting rave reviews.

The good: the menu is not too long, several fish dishes (refers to the restaurant name) and many meat dishes. We found ourselves more interested to the meat dishes this time.

The portions are smaller and it is recommended you share a few. We had two appetizers: the scallops which were amazing and the wagyu tataki which was outstanding.

We then shared the octopus (not the best we've had but pretty great). Then on to the mains: the cavatelli with veal cheeks, the duck with chanterelles. All so good, we asked for the lamb.

We chose one bottle of red which was well recommended. The wine list is a lot more focused on the fish dishes, so the selection of reds is not as impressive (still good).

Desert: we shared the maple square. Again, outstanding: not too rich or sweet.

The service was attentive and discreet even though they were fully booked on a Tuesday.

The decor is what I would call: modern-loungey-bistro. Seating is very comfortable. It is a bit loud, but not as bad as most new trendy restaurants: we could actually talk without screaming.

The bad: Not cheap, but worth it. No real negative encountered on this visit.

All said: we will definitely go again !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Filet also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Le Filet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Filet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.