We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Paris to your Saves list
Hotel de Paris
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 rue Sherbrooke East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1L3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Shocked at the positive reviews for Hotel De Paris. Was incredibly excited to stay here. When we arrived, they told us our room was across the street (warning sign #1). We went into the building and there was a random door on the staircase that went off the side of the second story (warning sign #2) and then we went into our room and it wasn't what was advertised online (warning sign #3)!!!!!!!!

The place was a total sham. On top of it all, the manager smirked and said he could do nothing when I said the room wasn't what was advertised. We left (without a refund) and had to scramble for another room that night!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello Schuylerlofberg,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. There are two buildings that make up the hotel - the main building where the reception is located and the annex which is located directly across he street. the annex houses our executive category of rooms as well as the new rooms in our 3rd floor addition. Both buildings are converted heritage homes so due to the age of the buildings, there are laws in place to maintain the look of theses properties. This explains the door of the second floor next to the staircase that is fixed shut.

The rooms we believe you are referring to is room 12, one of the rooms in our executive category of rooms. As this is a small boutique hotel, no two rooms are exactly alike. Our website also goes further to explain that especially in our executive category of rooms, the architectural features and amenities vary from room to room. The room featured in the photo was already occupied that night by another guest but another room in the same category was offered to you.

Once again, I apologize for your dis-satisfaction and would like to invite you back this winter to give us another try at no cost. Please contact me directly to make arrangements.

Best regards,

Dino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    44
    23
    8
    15
See reviews for
9
55
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hotel is located near st Denis street where there is plenty of nightlife and cute restaurants.

The staff were very nice, we got an upgrade from double bed for couple to queen bed for free, I called before hand.

The room was small and pretty :)

Included Breakfast in the morning was great!!

Negatives
- The bathroom, which had tile that were done very poorly esp in the shower. One day there was no hot water :(
- there were no shelves or surfaces in the washroom to put your stuff.
- the bed was squeaky :((((((( lol (but comfortable)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello NurseSurfer!

Thank you for your review. I appreciate all your feedback. We will look into the tile situation and rectify it as soon as possible. The hot water issue has been resolved as we have serviced our gas boiler and added an additional reservoir.

We have already planned to install glass shelves in all the smaller bathrooms in order to add more convenient storage. We hope to have all the bathrooms completed by the Spring.

Once again, thank you for your comments and am happy you had an overall pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great stay in this charming hotel!
Patrick at the reception was extremely helpful with lots of good suggestions for things to do and places to eat.
If you are looking for a nice place in Montréal, this is the place (and the price was very reasonable).

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the small restaurant at the bottom of the stairs to the hotel (I think the name was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello Christophe L.

I am happy you had a positive interaction with our staff. Hotel de Paris strives to offer solid service and great accommodations at a very low price. I am happy to read you enjoyed our new on-site restaurant, Pamika. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

You get what you pay for and even more. The stuff was very nice and helpful with parking and attractions. Although the room and bathroom were very small, our stay in there was very comfortable. The room was very clean and neat. The bed was very comfortable. We stayed for 3 nights, didn't use cleaning service for the environment's sake :)
Location is great. We will definitely stay again if we visit Montreal. I loved it!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello Anna_Prontenkio,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to read you had such a positive experience at our hotel. Next time, I would recommend trying one of our superior or executive rooms if you feel more space would be of added value to you.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A nice hotel in the heart of Montreal, definitely a 2 star hotel with 4 star service.
Patrick the concierge was super helpful and friendly, and recommended some nice places to eat and visit.
The room was clean, had a nice view and had nice finishings.
I also enjoyed the authentic Thai food in the restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Lauren_v_332013,

Thank you kindly for your positive comments. As an operator of a small hotel, I emphasize the importance of great service among the staff and am always pleased to hear from guests when they acknowledge that service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here while in Montreal for a wedding. This was a good place to stay. It is both a hotel and a hostel -- we stayed in the hotel. Old, cool building. Clean. Friendly staff. No real amenities, but if you just want a nice room in a good neighborhood, this is a very good option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello Brian K,

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel de Paris. I hope you had a great time at the wedding while you were here. The hotel and hostel are in fact two separate operations. Every year we are adding more and more amenities but as a small hotel, you will not find a pool or gym on site. Despite these omissions, our location does allow to benefit from plenty of other enjoyable local attractions to occupy your time such as Lafontaine Park, trendy restaurants, shopping and museums.

I am glad you found our rooms and staff to be to your satisfaction and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent clean!. Comfortable bed and room with enough space to storage. Very nice and kindly people. Excellent location. Excellent restaurant.
No elevator!!! It´s important notice that in the web page. Too much stairs!
Beautiful building and restaurant.
In some days very noise at night. Have to improve that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Mrs. Martha S.,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I appreciate all your positive feedback. Yes, we would all love to have an elevator in this property but unfortunately it is not feasible.

I have updated the website to note this fact as well as updated our profile on booking.com.

For guests that are sensitive to noise, we recommend requesting a room away from the street.

Thank you again for your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Address: 901 rue Sherbrooke East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1L3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.