We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imitation Indian Food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Allo Indi

Allo Indi
1184, rue Bishop, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
(514) 288-7878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,874 of 4,562 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Imitation Indian Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Indian Restaurant run by Bangladeshis who have no clue about Indian food. Extremely poor quality, flavor and quantity of foWod served and very expensive. We paid US$ 5 for each Naan. All the food was extremely sweet and the maitre D blamed it on the taste buds of the people of Montreal. Garlic Naan was sweet. The Tandoori Chicken tikka was grilled Chicken sliced and served on a sizzler platter. the pickle was Sweet and awful tasting.When we requested spicy food they just added raw red chilli powder and served it to us.

All in all an awful experience and we paid a very huge tab for it.

Go to Le Taj instead close by. That is a much better place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    4
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Mixed - just like the veg”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Downstairs from the street, so window seats include looking at peoples feet as they walk by. Service was ok, but no more than that. Good range of vegetarian meals, decent Indian draft beer and very nice poppadum. Had a vegetable balti, which came served in a strange pot - not like the balti dishes we get in England, so you have no choice but to spoon it on to the plate. Was good to start with, but then when putting the rest on the plate I realised how much oil was in it. Some of the veg was crunchy, some soft. Most of it resembled what you might get in a bag of frozen veg.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
“Very bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

People don't understand french and hardly understand english at this restaurant. They never served us water and never smiled once while serving us. The bathrooms we're very dirty. Also, the food wasn't good at all. Do not come here.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“The worst and most expensive butter chicken ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

probably, three times that price that they should charge, with a terrible quality. the butter chicken tasted like sweetened milk which was colored orange (god knows where the orange color came from).

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Every time we visit Montreal (approx...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010 via mobile

Every time we visit Montreal (approx. 6x/yr) we visit this restaurant. The dishes always taste fresh,but the service can be spotty. Small price to pay for a reliably good meal. Plus it is fun to sit in one of the window booths and look up at the pedestrians as they wall by.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allo Indi also viewed

 

Been to Allo Indi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allo Indi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.