We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal to your Saves list
Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   445 rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Montreal, Quebec H2Y2Z7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #44 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Right in the middle of Old Montreal just steps from many of the major sites of that part of the city. The lobby was attractive but not overwhelming. The hotel room was pleasant, clean and adequately sized. Most importantly to me there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

We chose Springhill Suites because of location and because of the consistency of Marriott properties. To put this review in context the Springhill Suites was exactly the level of hotel that I look for when on a sightseeing trip. Clean, comfortable and convenient, Springhill Suites is all three.

Three criticisms. The coffee was awful. Breakfast was mediocre. And a request made by my daughter for a birthday greeting for me was not honored.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    295
    67
    17
    11
See reviews for
200
217
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a weekend away here. Very nice lobby and very friendly staff. Location is great for taking in old Montreal, you're just a stroll away from fine restaurants and the waterfront. Room was a little small, but we sober little time there. Breakfast was included and was superior quality! Parking pricey, but to be expected.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Booked via PL for 90$ and was quite pleased with the results. Check in was courteous and friendly, room was ready upon arrival. The suite was large with a living room area, and the other area with two queen beds, 2 TV, good sized bathroom with shower, kitchen nook with microwave and small fridge. Free Wi-Fi for gold members.

Parking is valet only and is a bit pricey at 21$. However, this is made up by the excellent breakfast offered on the mezzanine : eggs, bacon and sausage, cereals, porridge, fruits, yogurts. The gym was well appointed with cross trainers and treadmills but the pool was rather small. Location is excellent for tourists wishing to be in romantic old Montréal. Overall, à great choice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the location and it paid off. Walking distance to everything in Old Montreal and a short walk to downtown, the metro, and shopping centers. We loved the ability to walk only a block to Rue St-Paul and all of the great restaurants. The hotel is tucked into a side street so there was very little traffic noise which was unexpected. The staff provided good recommendations for restaurants and were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife, our 15 year old son, and I spent last Saturday evening for a brief exploration of Old Montreal. This place is ideally located just south of Notre-Dame St and just north of St.Paul St and just west of Jacques Cartier Square. So a minute walk in any direction from the hotel will find restaurants, shops, and historic sites. Our upgraded suite was clean, quiet, and comfortable, though the 3 of us would have sat more comfortably in the living area had their been a chair. There is just the sofa(bed). We rolled over the desk chair from the kitchen area so we could all sit and watch TV. Also note that the bedroom has no door, just walk-thrus. This wasn't an issue for us, but may be for some. The included breakfast was good, though as others have said, the breakfast area can be small and crowded during a rush period. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort South Carolin
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our check-in could not have been better. We arrived very early (around 10:30AM) and our room was not ready, but front desk staffer Vlad made sure our luggage was safely tagged and secured until we returned from a walk. He even offered us an umbrella since it was threatening rain. The room was promised for 3PM but when we got back around 1PM it was ready ... best of all, Vlad remembered us, and when he saw us said "Mr and Mrs X, your room is ready". Can't ask for more than that.

And the front desk staff was completely bilingual.

The room (two queens) was spacious and clean with a full kitchenette, nice desk layout with wifi, and a separate bedroom area. The view wasn't all that great (we looked RIGHT into a man's office across the street) but was better than our friends' view from across the hall ... they looked upon a rusty roof. But since we were there for just one night, it was no problem.

Breakfast buffet was complimentary and was certainly sufficient for our needs, although the breakfast room was understandably crowded.

Next morning, the front desk staffers called for taxis for us and our friends and even stepped outside to make sure all was well.

Location of this hotel was superb: walking distance to the Notre Dame Basilica, Place Jacques Cartier, and oodles of stores and restaurants of all types.

Would we stay here again? A definite YES.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The fastest check in I ever experienced. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Felt welcomed and free to roam. I believe when staff are friendly and accommodating all the small things stay as small things. When the opposite happens, small things become festering issues. It is easy to find problems but when service is good you ignore them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal

Address: 445 rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Montreal, Quebec H2Y2Z7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#40 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal. Warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you.Offering state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars, the Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.