We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal to your Saves list
Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   445 rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Montreal, Quebec H2Y2Z7, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #44 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
orillia ontario canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“perfect for short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great hotel, in an excellent location, perfect for the hop on hop off bus, the basilica, olde town,
Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast had many choices, perfect for the beginning of a long day.

Room Tip: there were three of us and we had a suite on the third floor which suited us to a Tee . The sink wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    308
    70
    17
    13
See reviews for
213
223
20
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a stay in old Montreal. Park your car at the hotel ( they do charge) and just walk everywhere. It is right in the midst of old Montreal. Rooms are very nice with a fridge and microwave and a fabulous breakfast included with scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit etc. Couldn't ask for anything better. Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Montreal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A good basic suite with breakfast and parking on the premises, and a first rate staff that goes way out of their way to be helpful. The location is within one minutes of dozens of fine art galleries and the water front and restaurants. However there are a few drawbacks: Forget asking for a view, they really don't exist here. And forget thinking you'll get in your swimming laps here. The pool is little more than a kiddie pool. But, for kids it's great. The other draw back is it can get noisy if your room is on the street side as ours was. Get a room away from the street. Also, we were on the third floor and around 5PM we smelled smoke which was alarming.We went downstairs immediately. The staff told us that the restaurant ( a very good one) which is attached starts cooking with a wood burning stoke around that time each night, which explained the alarming smell of smoke. Aside from this, we enjoyed this place, which has a mixed young and older clientele, and again a stellar staff, especially the red haired young man who handled lots of problem with intelligence, wit and charm the night we were there.

Room Tip: Get one away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent location in the center of Old Montreal, adjacent to shops and restaurants. Convenient valet parking on site. Very nice and comfortable room with refrigerator. Helpful and polite staff. Highly recommended for a central Old Montreal location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I am currently staying at the Marriott Spring Hill Suites in Old Montreal.
The hotel is superb - kitchen area, living area, and bedroom.
The staff are very friendly, courteous, and helpful.
The location couldn't be better.. steps away from Old Montreal, the port,
and wonderful restaurants.
If you are a cyclist like me, this is a dream come true.
Cycling to the islands, parks, city is right out your front door.
The buffet breakfast included with the room offers a great start to each day.
As a travel company owner, I would say this hotel has all you could ask for.
Kathleen - Ease Into Italy & Beyond LLC, New York

Room Tip: I read that the odd number rooms may be a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Being located in the old town, 2 minutes from the restaurants, bars, galleries in Rue Saint Paul, and the port/St Lawrence River, is great. Also handy is the car park next door for those with cars. However, if it is important for you to be very close to the metro this is probably not the best place for you - it is a 10 minute walk with a couple of inclines / declines so not great if mobility is a challenge (instead, I would go for the Holiday Inn near China Town, which is 2 minutes from a metro station or a downtown location). Having said that, we took taxis downtown on the few days that it rained and we found the fares very cheap compared to London (UK). In most other ways, this hotel hits the spot - free wi-fi throughout; a good inclusive self-service breakfast (but be aware that the mezzanine area, where the breakfast buffet is located, can get very busy if you go over a holiday period and choose the 9.00 to 10.00am breakfasting time). There is also a free-to-use business centre on the mezzanine level with 2 computers hooked up to a printer so very useful for checking-in for your flights and printing off boarding passes. There is a small laundry with a commercial washing machine and dryer (make sure you have at five 1 dollar coins or get change from reception). The pool is small and the jacuzzi is tiny, as is the gym area (only two running machines, one cross trainer and some free weights in a very confined space) but I saw families with small kids in the pool area having a great time so it is all about "horses for courses". We are exercise orientated so we were disappointed in the hotel's leisure facilities but, luckily, the weather was great and the port area gives access to the city bike scheme and cycle/running/power-walking paths so we were catered for thanks to Montreal's policy on keeping lots of open space for people to enjoy. The hotel rooms are spacious and equipped with a sink, fridge and micro-wave but, bizarrely, no kitchen-ware - in the end we bought paper plates and plastic knives and forks so that we could enjoy a late afternoon or midnight snack (I know, serves us right for enjoying our food a bit too much!). We arrived quite late on a Saturday evening (around 11.00pm) quite famished and, as the hotel offers nothing to eat (post-breakfast) other than a small pantry shop selling snacks and the odd microwave meal, we tried the restuarant / disco linked to the hotel via an interconnected doorway - we were ignored for 5 minutes by staff standing right in front of us who preferred to chat to each other rather than acknowledge a couple of tired looking baby-boomers. Eventually, they gave us the time of day but quickly dismissed our enquiry with a look of contempt, declaring that the restaurant was now closed. The good news was that The 3 Brasseurs in Rue Saint Paul fed and watered us with good food and beer (we can also recommend the "Steak and Frites" restaurant - a nice menu including fish). If you need a room with a lovely view to feel that you are "on vacation", you won't get it here but if you want to feel history all around you and have a sense of comfort and well-being with your lodgings, this hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: Go for the 6th floor - no-one above you. Would avoid bedrooms near the laundry and the gym and acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The best part about the hotel is the location. It is right in the middle of Old Montreal, so if you are looking to spend your time there this location is perfect.

The rooms were spacious and fairly modern. We've stayed in a few different hotels in Montreal and this room was by far the largest. we had no real view to speak of, but we didn't really mind. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room had free WiFi, which, as an American, is imperative to keep down my roaming charges.

The front desk was very helpful and the valet was very fast. We left on one day to visit family and our car was up quickly and we never waited for an attendant.

One negative about the hotel is the breakfast. It wasn't the worst I'd ever had but definitely don't choose the hotel for the breakfast. I think we would have gone out for breakfast if we weren't so tight on time. Another negative would be the pool. We didn't use the pool but I did go check it out. It's tiny, so if you're a pool person this may not be your hotel.

Overall, we were really happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal

Address: 445 rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Montreal, Quebec H2Y2Z7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#45 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal. Warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you.Offering state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars, the Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.