We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location and the staff was excellent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal to your Saves list
Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   445 rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Montreal, Quebec H2Y2Z7, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #48 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved the location and the staff was excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights after a cruise. This was our first visit to the city and the location was perfect. We visited several restaurants within a short walking distance. We found the accommodations clean, spacious and quiet. We were not bothered by the garbage truck in the early morning, perhaps the schedule has changed.

The Front Desk staff helped us find a local tour to give us an overview of the city. This was quite enjoyable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TNTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here three nights in August 2013 before joining a cruise. Hotel located a block and a half from the port. Clean. Quiet. On a small narrow street. Walk out the door, turn left, and walk a block to the pedestrian street, another block to the port's promenade. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast included, crowded each morning. There's an extra room for eating, which many people failed to notice. Staff replenished food constantly. We walked to the metro, easy to get tickets. Never drove in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wanted a hotel in the heart of Old Montreal and couldn't be more pleased with the location. Only a couple of minutes walk from the old Port, close to everything Old Montreal has to offer. The staff were extremely helpful. We valet parked our car and walked everywhere. Hotel was very nice and the staff found us a room away from the elevators which actually was a large suite, lots of room. The price included breakfast which was adequate. Found it very busy and the kitchen staff had a hard time keeping up with the food. They ran out of coffee twice while we were eating. Only bad thing I can say about this hotel. Two urns of coffee just isn't enough to wake up all those people! Overall, every pleased with our stay, would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Springhill Suites has a great location on a quiet street right in old town Montreal. We stayed three nights. There was no street noise, even though we were half a block from all the action. The room was clean and comfortable and nice to have a kitchenette/office area. The only negative was a big one -- one female reception attendant who checked us out at the end of our stay was very rude. The others were courteous and helpful. Hopefully the management has done something about her, because the hotel is otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcmtcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona A, General Manager at Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear tcmtcm,

Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites, and for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, but are very sorry to hear one of our Front Desk attendants was not courteous with you. We pride ourselves on our customer service, and want to ensure this type of situation does not reoccur. If you are comfortable doing so, would you be able to email me directly at ilona.andrassy@marriott.com with more details, so we are able to address the issue with the associate in question.

Many thanks for helping us to improve our hotel, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location in the Old City of Montreal and we were not disappointed. It is so centrally located that you can easily walk to all the sights of interest in the Old City. We gave our car to the valet and didn't see it until we left. It's also near a metro stop if you want to go beyond the Old City. There are also many very nice restaurants within in an easy walk.
The small suite was very modern, comfortable and clean with a microwave and a refrigerator. The staff at the front desk were particularly friendly and helpful. They made dinner reservations for us, arranged tours and in general provided us with many suggestions of places to visit. All staff members were fluent in both French and English. We would definitely stay here again on another visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POGO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

if you like to look around the old section of the city, it is good. Room is big enough for 5 and free bk. A little kitchen area is good but no convenient stores around the area to get anything. You need to get stuff ready before you get to the hotel.The pool is so small and almost a bath tub so don't expect much. The parking is attached to the hotel and $25 a day.it's inconvenient to metro (15 mins. walking at least)and downtown, you have to drive or take a cab.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruriko w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a really nice stay here. The room was clean and comfortable. Be warned that the lighter sleepers in our family were woken up each morning by a garbage truck emptying the garbage dumpster – loud banging at 5 am. If you think that would bother you, I’d suggest trying to get a room on the back side of the hotel.

I know this is purely subjective, but the best aspect of this hotel was its location. It was so close to Rue St. Paul, and a short walk to the attractions in the Old Town, that it was perfect for us.

The pool was kind of small but my kids loved it. The fitness center was adequate, although it was quite warm in there as others here have commented on.

My biggest complaint, similar to other reviews posted here, is the breakfast. It was pretty good, it had a decent amount of variety. But it was not well stocked - something was always in need of a refill, whether it was a food item, or a beverage, or dishes/utensils. Also, there was usually a wait for seating which was aggravating, especially as some people would just sit and relax after they finished eating.

Our experience with the hotel staff wasn’t quite as good as that of other reviewers here. On one occasion we asked where the Underground City was and how to enter it. We were directed to the furthest corner of the Underground City from our hotel, and were told it extended for just a few blocks near St. Catherine and University Streets, so we had a rather lengthy walk to get there. It was very aggravating to realize after we spent time walking around the Underground City that there were entrances much closer to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel to avoid being woken up a garbage truck emptying the garbage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LooseEnds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona A, General Manager at Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear LooseEnds,

Thank you for staying at the SpringHill Suites Old Montreal and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit with us overall. We do apologize for the noise of the garbage truck in the early mornings. We have contacted the company about early morning pickups and are working with them to establish a schedule that is less disruptive to our guests. However, as you mention, there are rooms on the back side of the hotel which are much quieter as there is no street noise.

With regards to the breakfast, all kitchen attendants work extremely hard to ensure all items are replenished on a regular basis. As well, to avoid lineups, we have Front Desk associates mention the "rush hour" times to avoid upon chekcin, and we open an additional meeting room to handle overflow. However, this being said, if we are full house and all guests choose to eat at the same time, it is unfortunately inevitable that there will be some congestion.

We also apologize if you were misdirected when asking about the Underground City, and we have done additional coaching at the Front Desk to ensure all associates are aware and comfortable with the most expedient ways of accessing typical landmarks.

Many thanks again for helping us to improve our hotel,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#8 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,639 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal

Address: 445 rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Montreal, Quebec H2Y2Z7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal. Warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you.Offering state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars, the Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing