We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Canada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Saint-Sulpice to your Saves list
Le Saint-Sulpice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Rue Saint Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Schenectady, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Love Canada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

I've stayed here a few times now with my wife. Love it and it's location. Try the Le Keg Restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    321
    47
    36
    10
See reviews for
251
503
48
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

Spent four nights here in July. This hotel is beautiful, serene, comfortable, and relaxing. We loved the concierge staff, especially Patrick! More wonderful restaurants within a five minute walk than you can patronize in a month long stay. Metro station is 5 minutes walk towards Chinatown.

Our deluxe one bedroom suite was big, comfortable, stylish. Love having a fridge. We didn't eat at the hotel, too many awesome choices nearby.

This great hotel is 20 feet and $150 a night away from Hotel Nelligan. What a bargain for a great hotel in a terrific location.

If you stay: exit hotel lobby, turn right, walk 1/2 block and turn right. Walk another block. Across from the old customs building / current gift shop for the archeology museum is a charming little bistro/deli that has great breakfast, lunch, snacks for very modest prices. Walk another 1/2 block and you find a little downtown convenience store that sells whatever you forgot at home, plus sodas and beer to put in your room's fridge.

You don't need coffee cream, though. Each time the room is cleaned, the complimentary bowl of single-serve 2% milks and half-and-half creamers will be replenished. How great is that?

  • Liked — Location, spacious room
  • Disliked — It was all good.
  • Tips/Secrets — Room lighting is very low-key. You might want a reading light for your book.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

Everything about Le Saint Sulpice - accommodations, location, hospitality - was fantastic. We booked the "Four Seasons" package, which included breakfast and a $50 credit towards the night's stay. Breakfast was not the greatest but we very much enjoyed the cheese plate that we ordered from room service. Our deluxe suite was spacious, modern, clean and quiet - and the L'Occitane toiletries were a nice touch. We were very impressed by the service we received from the concierge/bellman.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

Great hotel, the rooms are spacious and furnished nicely. The hotel is not much for night life as for the bar, but everything is just a walk or metro ride away. Old Montreal is where it is located and it is awesome, lovely views and so many little places to walk into for coffee, dinner, or wine. The staff were helpful and eager to assist and were not looking for tips all the time. Typically we stay at Four Seasons or the Ritz Carlton. This hotel is our choice for Montreal. People said the Murphy bed was not comfortable, but we slept perfect. Bathroom is large and plently of room for things on the counter and such. Nice touch also to have great huge windows that open for fresh air.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

Loved this place!! Not sure if all rooms are suites, but ours was--two sets of windows opening onto lovely courtyard, complete with a wedding ceremony/reception to watch on our first evening with our fellow third floor residents. While not the full balcony we had hoped for, the windows opened enough so that it felt like it. One night we had a torrential downpour, and it was so romantic to open up the windows, lean on the rail, and watch the lightning and listen to the rain fall while staying dry...
Water was delivered daily, the doormen and concierge were always attentive, every amenity was available, and the accupressure massage in the spa was, put simply, the best I've ever had. If they had an open appointment, we would have gotten a pedicure as well.
You cannot beat the location--the waterfront two blocks away, all of the old city at your doorstep, the metro within 200 yards.
(Only two suggestions: higher thread count sheets would be nice, and staff need to give more precise directions to restaurants. We missed a reservation because we hunted for the place we were sent without success, even with the map.)
The price was right, and I have been raving about all the St. Sulpice since I got home. Thanks for a memorable 20th anniversary!!

  • Liked — spa, size of suite, location, service, price
  • Disliked — breakfast on courtyard too pricey
  • Tips/Secrets — take full advantage of proximity to old city sights and plan accordingly
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

A wonderful surprise--luxurious, in a superb location, attentive staff. We booked through a special on Expedia--price was much lower than similar properties and location seemed good--right in Old Montreal. We booked a Junior Suite. Couldn't believe our good fortune when we arrived. A block from the river, right in the heart of Old Montreal. The lobby was lovely--marble, stylish furniture. Our Suite was a true Suite--a large living room, separate bedroom, 3 ample closets, a large bathroom with l'Occitaine bath products, big shower, high thread count linens, a fireplace. The staff couldn't have been nicer, always there to answer questions on restaurants, tourist attractions--they even helped us find a better price on a rental car. Then when we checked out, our balance due was $0, because we had pre-paid through Expedia. (This was unlike a recent experience with Hotels[--], which charged us service fees and taxes, and then I was forced to pay additional service fees and taxes to the hotel, adding $100 to my bill.)

I would highly recommend the St. Sulpice to others and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

My wife and I have stayed at many hotels in Montreal over the years, mostly on business. This year we decided to go up for the Comedy Fest (John Cleese was phenomal) and to stay in Old Montreal. Based on Trip Advisor reviews we chose the Saint Sulpice and we couldn't be more pleased. For doing the just plain touristy things that Montreal is great for, the hotel was perfectly located - a block or two from the waterfront, bike paths to everywhere, ambience galore.
The room was large, modern and quiet. The bed was great.

Agree with other posters about the restaurant - forget it - but in all other regards this is a great hotel for a fair price. The location makes me prefer it to the other top rated Montreal hotels.

  • Liked — large room- kitchen facilities- great bed
  • Disliked — maid service could be more thorough
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Rue Saint Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint-Sulpice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.