We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Save Saved
You added Le Saint-Sulpice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Rue Saint Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“True Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I spent three perfect nights at Le Saint-Sulpice from October 22 to October 25. The small suite on the 4th floor was very comfortable. I never ever heard a peep from anyone in the halls or neighbors. I couldn't even tell if there were others nearby!! There were large windows and a glass door opening onto a balcony set with chairs. We had a fireplace in our living room which added to the atmosphere. The location in Old Montreal is perfect and truly easy to walk. We loved the turndown service. They had everything you would need in a room including a safe which was great for all our electronics. We even managed to walk to "downtown" as well which is like a smaller NYC. But, cabs are plentiful and quick! The concierges on duty were all very helpful. We ate supper at Quattro for Italian - just half a block way. We ate supper at Holder - walking distance on McGill. Not to be be missed though is Olive + Gourmande for breakfast - walking distance as well. Every person in every store in every restaurant was helpful and understanding of the language barrier. If you can master bon jour and merci you'll be fine!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, location and dining in Montreal. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    289
    44
    32
    9
See reviews for
231
444
42
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, MB
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Was visiting Montreal to meet my mom and based on reviews decided to chance on staying at the Le Saint Sulpice. The experience was absolutely exceptional. I arrived on the late night flight and was actually met outside by the front reception attendant who helped me inside to the reception and then upgraded my room even without asking! The room was awesome. The service during my entire stay was absolutely phenomenal. From the front desk, concierge to the doorman the staff was super courteous and went up to and beyond what was expected to please their guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so happy and touched to hear that this was your best experience in Canada. We are so happy to have met your expectations and we look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel was absolutely beautiful. The staff were ultra friendly. The hotel is in a perfect location in Old Montreal. Easy walking distance to many shops, restaurants and bars.
We would definitely stay there again. Normally, I like to try different hotels, but not here. We plan on another trip next spring and Le Saint-Sulpice is our choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. My entire team will be so happy to hear your kind words and hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back this spring.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My best friend and I took a girls vacation in late September 2013. Her husband found this hotel for us as we were having difficulty finding one that we liked. He knew we needed a break and needed to get out of town....out of the country yet!

We wanted the favor of Europe but not have to fly very far. Within 95 minutes or so we were in Montreal.
We arrived at midnight and were quickly registered and in our suite within minutes. The staff at this hotel were great. Our suite was wonderful: desk/table&chairs/microwave/refrig/sink/sep. bedroom/flat screen tvs and foyer. The sleep sofa was great.....did not feel a bar in the middle of your back all week!! The suite arrangement worked out well as we both have sleep issues...one could be watching tv in the living room in the middle of the night while the other reading a book or watching tv in the bedroom. The large bathroom had double sinks, soaking tub and a nice size stand alone shower.

I can't recommend the restaurant because we never saw one and choose to eat in local restaurants.

The location of this hotel in Old Montreal is right behind the Notre-Dame Basilica. Please do not miss visiting this Basilica. There is a $5.00 fee but well worth it. They do have tours in English every half hour or so.

Room Tip: Choose a suite...the space is large and sunny. The large windows open up to check out the weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your weekend getaway. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel from oct17-20 for a conference in Montreal. I will start by saying that this hotel is absolutely stunning a real gem in the heart of Old Montreal .
The room that I stayed in had a bedroom and large sitting area with a pull out sofa . We were two in the room so I took the sofa bed and to my surprise it was quite comfortable , all of the rooms I believe have this setup.

Also in the room was anespresso machine what a treat that was every morning , turn down service every night and fresh water left beside our beds .

Bathroom was very roomy and had all the amenities you would require. The large windows opened up wide and in ,y room we overlooked St Paul, it was wonderful to open the windows and listen to the busy sounds below.

Everything was very clean, my only criticism of the room was that the only mirror was in the bathroom which made it a bit challenging for two ladies getting ready , but everything was truly wonderful.

The downstairs staff was always friendly and helpful and the concierge Alain was extremely helpful with dinner suggestions and reservations and general questions. We had one drink in the downstairs bar which was ver nice but a bit pricey .

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a getaway

Room Tip: They do have some rooms with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rectortown, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My college-age daughter and I stayed at the St. Sulpice for a weekend on our first trip to Montreal. It was very nice and in a great location, right next to the cathedral. The very nice concierge set us up with dinner reservations both nights on short notice and gave us other lunch/brunch ideas that were great, too. Duo D for dinner and Carte for brunch were outstanding. The room was very nice with a large bathroom and partitioned living/sleeping space on the top floor. Only two complaints: the TV movie sound skipped and when I noted it at check out the next day, the check-out person refused to make an adjustment, saying we should have called the 24 hour engineer (but it was very late and we were in bed and had already had him come up to show us how to access the movies as they system is not intuitive); and, the bottled water provided the first night by our bedsides was not replaced the next day, so we just drank the tap water. In any event, the St. Sulpice was very affordable and overall excellant.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We apologize for the quality of the in-room movie and the missing water during your nightly turn-down service. This being said, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact me directly the next time you are in Montreal and it will be my pleasure to offer you a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and find it a very pleasant experience. On the one hand, the large, modern rooms with a separate bed area from the living space give are a good work and meeting set up. On the other hand, you are 5 minutes by foot from many excellent restaurants in Old Town, and the same distance from Chinatown if you are in the mood for a Peking duck or dim sum.
The personnel is young, but helpful and well trained. The bar is still trying to find its marks, but the redesign has made it more convivial. The addition of a summer terrace restaurant in the courtyard (I did not try it) seems a pleasant idea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that once again you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Rue Saint Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, Le Saint Sulpice Hôtel Montréal offers a great and unique experience in the heart of the Old Montreal.This 4 star-4 diamond boutique hotel, features 108 suites with authentic charm and cachet.With minimum 550 sq. ft., our suites present much more like chic condo apartments than mere hotel rooms. The warm, enveloping design, all the details and thoughtful touches coax you to stay just a bit longer, before the start to the day’s excursions. Many Suites have a balcony or fireplace, respectively gorgeous in summer and cozy in winter.High standard quality services, warm and attentive staff of the Saint Sulpice Hotel.. for a memorable stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint-Sulpice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.