We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Save Saved
You added Le Saint-Sulpice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Saint-Sulpice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Rue Saint Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 170 hotels in Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I would not write a review until after I checkout. But. This hotel staff right from the doormen (johnny) to the manager are amazing. I went to the desk with a small concern for them guest comfort is very important. All of them specially the manager went out of her way to make sure rest of our stay would be memorable. Awesome. Rooms are totally Awesome.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and service received by our team. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    640
    255
    42
    31
    8
See reviews for
194
395
37
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Usually don't write reviews but use this one as an attempt at cathartic therapy after having just seen my credit card bill for this "luxary" hotel. Really overpriced, thin walls made it easy to hear neighbors and hall way traffic, outdated appearance in the rooms, cheaply and tackily furnished. When paying this much for a hotel room I would at least want it to be a pleasant relaxing place to be, I found myself avoiding going back there because of how unpleasant a place it was to be in. Makes me question the use of tripadvisor as i booked it based on those positive reviews. only redeeming feature would be the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It saddens us to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. It would be a pleasure to speak to you to discuss this further to have a clearer understanding. Our rooms were built condo style therefore noise is not a complaint we are used to hearing about. In our final phase of our renovations, coffee tables, side tables, chairs, and lounge chairs will be changed by November. Corridor carpets, hallway lighting, and room lighting will be changed by early 2014.
We proudly stand behind our Tripadvisor ranking and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved this hotel. It is like one of Europe's finest right here in Montreal! We stayed in a lovely quite king room #422. We paid extra for the king guarantee and the room was quiet and so large and just so worth every penny! The location is amazing right down the street from Notre Dame and perfectly located in Vieux Montreal. Will definitely stay there again! Great suggestion for Breakfast at Communion and Le Cartet from the Concierge, he was so knowledgeable! Don't miss dinner at The Shack a great Polish restaurant right down the street!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the King, room #422 is great and very quiet! The fluffy down bedding is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay & services offered by our team. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed with part of our family at the St Sulpice on route to Quebec City. The hotel certainly met my expectations and then some. The location could not have been any better; right in old Montreal surrounded by excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques. The rooms (suites) are huge and very comfortable. A separate bedroom, a murphy (which was just as comfortable as the regular bed) and a pull out couch. The staff is friendly, helpful and overall make you feel like you are staying at a friend's place; from the check-in staff to the valet service and everything in between. I am looking forward to staying at the Saint Sulpice again during my next Montreal visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and exceeded your expectations. Our team will be pleased to hear your kind words. We look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

On a recent big trip, we were running around the area and ended up there for 3 separate "mini stays". Each stay was fantastic. The rooms (different each time) and service were top notch. Car valet was very accommodating (though parking is too pricey), concierge was helpful, and lots of things to walk to nearby. On this trip, we particularly enjoyed the Harmonie bakery in China Town for fresh Chinese pastries every morning. A couple of things: restaurant terrace is beautiful and food there is very good, but service is too slow; and while the fitness center is not on-site, there are two options within a short walk (it was summer) that have arrangements with the hotel. Gymnasia is not big or fancy, but I liked it because of the view on Place d'Youville.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room on the higher floors with a view of the courtyard and a balcony if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stays with us. We are happy to hear that you consistantly enjoyed your stays and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Recently stayed at St Sulpice Hotel in Montreal. Location is great right in the heart of the old port, which a very charming area (but VERY touristy, especially the restaurants). Service at the St. Sulpice is also very good. The car valets, front desk and concierge staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. They really add a lot of charm to the visit. Lobby area, restaurant, free morning newspaper and wifi all add to the positive experience. But, its the room that disappointed. Not the size or the amenities, which were good. Its the condition that put me off. "Tired" is the best way to describe it. Furniture, carpets, bathroom fixtures were dated and noticeably worn. I did feel the carpet was not really clean either. And, this was for a "deluxe suite," so I expected better. Still, we did enjoy our stay and want to recommend the hotel but with some reservations as mentioned above.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony facing the interior courtyard if you visit during the nice weather. Fireplaces ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the carpet issue as we regularly clean our carpets. We are currently in the final phase of renovations which will include lighing, artwork & some furniture items. We will also be renovating our corridors and changing all corridor carpets. We hope to see you back and experience the changes.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I spent so much time researching this holiday to Canada, that I was driving myself mad about all the hotel choices. After 4 nights in the Saint Sulpice, I didn't want to leave! The location was perfect, the suite was exquisite and the service exemplary. If I could find fault with anuthing, it would be the waiting staff at breakfast, who could have been a little more attentive. We had to approach them for menus and for ordering.

If you are heading to Montreal and want to be at the heart of it all, then you will love it. We didn't have a car, but walked to most of the tourist places or took the Metro. Big tick in the box for my research!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal
Address: 414 Rue Saint Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, Le Saint Sulpice Hôtel Montréal offers a great and unique experience in the heart of the Old Montreal.This 4 star-4 diamond boutique hotel, features 108 suites with authentic charm and cachet.With minimum 550 sq. ft., our suites present much more like chic condo apartments than mere hotel rooms. The warm, enveloping design, all the details and thoughtful touches coax you to stay just a bit longer, before the start to the day’s excursions. Many Suites have a balcony or fireplace, respectively gorgeous in summer and cozy in winter.High standard quality services, warm and attentive staff of the Saint Sulpice Hotel.. for a memorable stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint-Sulpice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.