We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sejour ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Save Saved
You added Le Saint-Sulpice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Rue Saint Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Nice sejour ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had in mind a short escape from our busy lifes and we picked that nice place in the old Montreal. The location is perfect and the ambiance is "very" Montreal. Staff is great, the ambiance is warm and it is very quiet.
We will go back !

Room Tip: top floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that your expectations were met and that your stay was memorable. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    678
    276
    45
    32
    9
See reviews for
211
420
40
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Le Saint-Sulpice is a great small hotel that is big on style and service. It is located in a grey limestone building near Place Jacques Cartier in Vieux Montreal, near the old Sulpician Seminary (one of the oldest in North America). The building exterior's restoration contrasts with the interior's tastefully modern makeover. There is a curios shop on the main floor that faces Rue St-Paul, the old city's pedestrian only street that is a great place for people watching with the neighborhood's many sidewalk cafe's.
The restaurants on the Jacques Cartier Square tend to be overpriced and mediocre in quality. It is better to stop for an aperitif and then go onto one of Montreal's myriad of fine restaurants in downtown or its residential neighborhoods (Plateau Mont Royale is a cute yuppie area).
A riverside promenade is another block away on the commercial harbour, and is a better place for bicycles (cobblestones dominate in Vieux Montreal's streets.
We found this hotel charming and affordable and a great alternative to the large international convention hotels around Place Bonaventure and the Cathedral.

Room Tip: Rooms are somewhat distinctive since it is a heritage building. The management will probably honor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Le St-Sulpice. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am a big fan of boutique hotels and this one is a good one. I traveled with my two adult daughters and we had a room with a queen and pull out couch. This allowed for plenty of room for "stuff", but it was a bit odd that the shower had a semi-visible glass into the room. Would be awkward if traveling with people that you needed to be modest with. Don't know if all the rooms are light that. That said, the staff was wonderfully helpful and it is in THE BEST location in old Montreal. We walked to dinner every night and the one lunch we had on their terrace was wonderful as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend in November 2012, despite the weather being quite glum we really enjoyed ourselves! We stayed n a suite and thought it was really beautiful!

I would highly recommend people to stay here for a weekend break! It was steps to the main street of restaurants etc in Old Montreal but about 10 minutes in a taxi from Montreal City Centre shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in regards to your November 2012 stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived close to midnight, after a nightmare wait at the border (don't cross from the U.S. to Canada on a Sunday evening). We were warmly greeted and provided with menus for a delivery service (room service ends at 11). Anything we asked for was immediately provided. The suites, with a bedroom separated from the living room/kitchenette (hooray for a working kitchen), are great when people have different sleeping habits -- or want to watch different TV programs. I loved the Nespresso machine as well. When I come back (we only had 36 hours), I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: I asked for rooms facing away from street, but did not get them. Even on Monday and Tuesday morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Used to be a very nice hotel.. Bathroom needs a good refurbishment. Breakfast is not great either. Service is good though. Staff is helpful and location is good. Terasse at the back is not bad or a drink.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We have been renovating the hotel for the past 3 years and should be completed by the spring of 2014. We apologize if your room did not meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you back to experience the changes.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My significant other and I looked at several Montreal hotels before landing on Le Saint-Sulpice. We arrived to the hotel around noon and the hotel had no issue with us checking in early. They even upgraded us to a Deluxe Suite free of charge! Some highlights below:

1) Good room size for the price. Rooms are clean; comfortable beds. Quality toiletries provided (L'Occitane).
2) Great location for walking to all the Old Montreal attractions. Close to many great restaurants.
3) Helpful concierge service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us including location, room, and services. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Rue Saint Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, Le Saint Sulpice Hôtel Montréal offers a great and unique experience in the heart of the Old Montreal.This 4 star-4 diamond boutique hotel, features 108 suites with authentic charm and cachet.With minimum 550 sq. ft., our suites present much more like chic condo apartments than mere hotel rooms. The warm, enveloping design, all the details and thoughtful touches coax you to stay just a bit longer, before the start to the day’s excursions. Many Suites have a balcony or fireplace, respectively gorgeous in summer and cozy in winter.High standard quality services, warm and attentive staff of the Saint Sulpice Hotel.. for a memorable stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint-Sulpice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.