We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very large rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Saint-Sulpice to your Saves list
Le Saint-Sulpice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Rue Saint Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location and very large rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 and got the one bed suite which also has a sofa bed in the living area. We were two adults, a 3 year old and a 1 year old.
I booked over the phone which was very efficient and smooth. No special offers or discounts but the room rate was reasonable for the size of room and hotel.
We arrived before check in time but they told us that our room was ready and we went up (which is great when traveling with kids!). The hotel lobby is very nice and smells so good, I think they have special candles.

Room:
Really great size, a winner for families. Even with the sofa bed 'made up' and a pack and play in the room there was ample room for the kids to run around.
Kitchenette is fairly well stocked - microwave, fridge, toaster etc. Also the nespresso coffee machine that everyone else mentions. You get 3 nespresso capsules a day btw or they charge you for more.
Bathroom was large and had a huge bath and separate shower which was nice. Double sink.
The only *small* negative with the room is that the actual bedroom is an internal room which is why the have partial glass doors so that some natural light comes through. However, our point for having a one bed suite was so that we could put the kids to bed and then stay up in our room with lights on/tv etc but the light obviously travels through the glass door. Minor point. Our kids slept so it wasn't really a huge issue.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and far from the elevators, was practically silent. Maybe it is different in summer time but I didn't think the location was noisy overall and the street side was even quiet in my opinion.

Location:
Great location for the old town and tourist type things. We also were able to walk to the downtown area within 10 minutes. If we wanted to go further the hotel would call a cab, e.g. we visited the biodome (well worth it with children) which was about 15 mins cab ride and $20.

Hotel Service:
Very good, not special, but good. Concierge was well informed and helpful. We needed to visit a Dr's while staying and he directed us to several clinics within walking distance.
The chamber maid service/room cleaning was actually very good to the point that I commented on it - they really cleaned the room properly every day and also provided 'turn down' with bottled water which is a nice touch.
Free wifi which I was happy about.

Other:
My husband and daughter used the swimming pool at the Intercontinental (I think!) which has a deal with the St Sulpice. You have to pay to use the facilities though so not really worth it unless you are going to spend a couple of hours there. Apparently the pool was ok, not huge and quite cold. Also a good 10-15 minutes walk so not exactly convenient.

There are loads of places to eat in the local area around the hotel and we found plenty of places that would do carry out. Very few places seem to deliver in Montreal.

I would recommend the hotel again based on the good old town location, on a very pretty street and the comfortable and clean, very large rooms. Good hotel and worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property in regards to your November stay with us. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    345
    58
    37
    11
See reviews for
289
551
50
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Once again we returned to our Montreal ‘Home’, Saint-Sulpice. It’s still a gem and still a comfort. In our last review we mentioned our Golden Retriever and rated the hotel ‘2 paws up’. This year we added a Golden Doodle puppy to our family. We have to change the rating to ‘4 paws up’.
We arrived just following a snow storm and found Vieux-Port de Montréal all the more charming.
Once again we had occasion to ask for assistance from the concierge. Maxime was very helpful, knowledgeable and a great asset. Not sure when, but we will be returning to Saint-Sulpice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on you recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that once again you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your loyalty. Congratulations on your new puppy! We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It can be loud if you have a street facing room, even on the 5th floor. We would definitely stay here again but next time get a courtyard room.
Service is excellent. A very attentive concierge.
Rooms are large, clean, and very nice.

Room Tip: It can be loud if you have a street facing room, even on the 5th floor. We would definitely stay he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford City, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We love Montreal and part of that admiration is due to the Hotel Saint-Sulpice being our hotel of choice. Some 'old school' formality and graciousness with no hauteur or rudeness. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, room service is very well done, the staff is genuinely eager to be helpful. We have been guests a half dozen times and hope to have many more enjoyable stays in our favorite Montreal hotel. (By the way, there are few sights as joyful as white-light angels on blue-light background on the face of the basilica at the top of St.-Urbain on the approach to the hotel during holiday season. Magnifique!)
The price is fully justified by the service provided. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. We are happy to hear that once again you enjoyed your stay with us. My entire team thanks you for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed there for the first time over Christmas 2012 for 2 days. The hotel is nice, well located near bustling St-Paul street and all the restaurants. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Ours was a suite with an enclosed bedroom and a kitchenette.

I would not return and I would probably go to the Nelligan because of three issues:

This hotel is a pet-friendly hotel. We did not know this when we booked. Has a person with pet dander allergies, I found myself sneezing for the entire stay. They charge 50$ more for cleaning if you bring a pet, but I'm sure they can't clean it all completely.

When you come in the lobby, there is a strong scent wich can be very offensive. My guess is that this is used to cover pet smells.

At checkout, the front desk refused to apply the rebate advertized on their web site (book two nights get the second half price) because I had booked so long in advance. If I had cancelled and rebooked two days prior, I would have got the rebate... Pretty stupid...

In short, nice hotel, well located with nice spacious rooms but with some issues, the biggest one, for someone with pet allergies, is that this hotel is pet friendly.

Next time, we are going back to the Nelligan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Although we are pet friendly, we make a point to limit pets to the same floor and we sanitize the rooms after check-out thus the pet-charge. The scent in our lobby may not please everyone and is in no way used to mask any pet ecents and due to the overwhelming demand from our guests to purchase the scent, we bottled it and have it available for purchase at the front desk. We apologize that these issues did not make your stay 100% satisfactory. We hope you will reconsided staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the St Sulpice hotel on New Year's Eve. We had a deluxe suite with a fireplace, one separate bedroom with a queen bed and a large living room. There was a lot of room for us. Near the hotel there was a park in front that was very convenient to walk the dogs. When we checked in they gave a present to both dogs.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, The Sinclair. It was delicious. The beef filet was unbelievable.

The service was very courteous from the receptionnist to the barmaid to the valet service gentleman.

I strongly recommend the St Sulpice. The HOTEL to discover the beautiful Old Montreal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay & your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Close to everything...Simple, yet refined. We have stayed at one of the other high end hotels and Le Sainte-Sulpice excels. If you want to experience a European vacation in North America, you have found the place

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have found your hotel of choice in Montreal. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,504 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Rue Saint Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint-Sulpice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.