We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Old Montreal Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Saint-Sulpice to your Saves list
Le Saint-Sulpice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Rue Saint Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Old Montreal Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our suite was comfortable, nicely decorated, and immaculately clean. We called the hotel staff to correct a couple of small things, and they were extremely responsive. The front desk staff was pleasant and efficient. We were in Montreal to see the old city and learn about its history, and the hotel was perfectly located for this. We parked our car on arrival and did not have to use it until we left two days later. We certainly would be inclined to stay at the Hotel Le Saint-Sulpice on a future visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    321
    47
    36
    10
See reviews for
251
503
48
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Mr. An: My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in St. Sulpice during Sep. 27-28. It is a perfect stay. Everything about the hotel is perfect. The location is probably the best in town, right behind the Notre-Dame and in the center of old town. Hotel staff is friendly and handsome (pretty)! Room is amazingly big and clean. And the hotel is within walking distance to all major sites. We love it and it is one of the best hotels I have stayed in North Amercica.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. My team will be happy to hear your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

As an actor it is often imprudent to write about hotels for reasons of privacy. The St. Sulpice is so truly delightful, however, I am throwing caution to the wind. In today's world of cookie cutter corporate hospitality, this charming gem hits the sweet spot of personal interaction at every turn. After being here for two months filming a movie, I am at home more than I have ever felt in decades of filmlocation travel. Service beyond anything you could want, utterly charming rooms and suites that feel like Paris' Latin Quarter, the best location and atmosphere. If you like your morning breakfast on the terrace, followed by a second coffee in front of the fireplace to start your day, this is for you. I usually follow that with a morning bike ride out the front door right onto the Lachine Canal bike path. The place is a unique little dream. Don't miss it. If I'm still here, please say hi if you bump into me in the cozy little lobby. Watch your step on the cobblestones. Charm can be tricky!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Mr. Woods,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you are enjoying your stay and on behalf of my entire team we want to tell you that it is a great pleasure to have you stay with us. You always have a home & family in Montreal at Le Saint-Sulpice.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Sulpice was a fantastic find! The hotel was modern and clean. The rooms were comfortable and on the larger size - there were 3 of us in a single room and we never felt like we were stepping on top of each other. The staff was wonderful - friendly, helpful and attentive. The concierge especially went out of his way to help book side trips to Quebec City, direct us to and make reservations at fantastic local restaurants and provide clear directions on how to get where we wanted to go. The bar service was slow. But the hotel is located in the most ideal location in Old Montreal to stop in another local pub for a pre or post dinner glass of wine/cocktail. I will highly recommend Sulpice to anyone I know heading to Montreal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice room. The bed was super comfy and the sheet/comforter crisp and soft at the same time. Liked the separate bedroom for the upgraded suite, but it was in the middle of the room, so you kind of had to go around it to get to the bathroom or the kitchenette.
Staff was very friendly and nice. Restaurant downstairs made really yummy breakfast off the menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you Loved your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Sulpice was great. Very clean and the staff was attentive and quick when help was needed. The only negative was that the blow dryer had no power and blew a fuse each and every time used. The bar servie was also a little slow and now staffed at all times. But, those were two minor things and didn't get in the way of an excellent hotel choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I want to apologize for the blow-dryer issue you encountered. We hope to see you back soon on your next visit to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great hotel in Old Montreal. Right off of Rue St Paul with the best restaraunts all within walking distance. Suites are fantastic. Water is block away. Staff is vary freindly and knowledable, very willing to help. Lobby is very cool with a fireplace.
I have stayed here many time and will always stay here when in the Old Port area.

Room Tip: Get a suite overlooking the street. Not the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Rue Saint Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint-Sulpice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.